CSS is missing for the backend Topic is solved

General questions relating to Joomla! 4.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
Post Reply
schumi1971
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 8:56 am

CSS is missing for the backend

Post by schumi1971 » Wed Oct 06, 2021 8:56 pm

I installed Joomla 4 the latest (4.0.3) on a temporay URL: https://llryzt4btshqk1f4.prev.site/ and everything looka fine, even the backend. After the customer payed the webhost for the domain and the domain was active, the frontend looks as it should (still working on this site)
When I now try to access the backend of the active url (https://www.drobakridesenter.no), the CSS styling is missing.
no_css_warning_explorer.png
I use Google Chrome browser, but still there is a message in the that says: "Warning! Internet Explorer should not be used for proper operation of the Administrator Backend."
I have tried different browsers, but still the same issue on active url.
Frontend look great both places.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 40678
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: CSS is missing for the backend

Post by Webdongle » Wed Oct 06, 2021 10:56 pm

How did you transfer the site from the temp url to the Domains folder?

N.B.
It can take up to 48 hours for a new Domain to propagate fully. Wait a day or so before adjusting anything.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

schumi1971
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 8:56 am

Re: CSS is missing for the backend

Post by schumi1971 » Thu Oct 07, 2021 12:36 pm

My webhost took a closer look at the account and noticed that there were entries against GZIP in .htaccess.
Since GZIP is disabled in configuration.php I removed these lines and the administrator URL looks better now.

So now are things working again. Apperently temporay url manage to bypass the htaccess settings.


Post Reply

Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 4.x”