Joomla update notification with an odd domain name

General questions relating to Joomla! 4.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
michele654
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joomla update notification with an odd domain name

Post by michele654 » Wed Oct 18, 2023 3:49 pm

Hello,

There is a domain in China that resolves to my IP address. Can't stop them from doing that, I don't know why they want to do that. They just get shuffled to the real site when they end up there.

However, sometimes my Joomla update notifications come with that odd domain in the Subject Line, like this:

Joomla! Update available for [my real domain name] – httxs://homeservernetworks.com/
(x added so it doesn't make it a link)

Why does this happen? When I do a reverse lookup on my IP address, it resolves to yet another thing (Hosting company name). How is this name making it into my server notifications?

-Michele
-Michele

Dear God, I have a problem. It's me.

sohopros
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Re: Joomla update notification with an odd domain name

Post by sohopros » Fri Apr 19, 2024 10:22 am

We are seeing a similar issue on one of our domains. Getting an update notification with an odd subdomain that doesn't exist: Joomla! Update available for [website name] – https://charcoal.[website-domain].com/.
There is nothing in our database referencing "charcoal", nor is this a valid subdomain.

Does anyone have any input on this?
SOHO Prospecting
https://www.sohoprospecting.com - Joomla Website development
Southern California - USA
Phone 866.644.7646

gws
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Post by gws » Fri Apr 19, 2024 10:59 am

Both sound like the have DNS issues.
Try https://mxtoolbox.com/DNSLookup.aspx