Template breaks URLs Topic is solved

General questions relating to Joomla! 4.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
Rob Parker
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Template breaks URLs

Post by Rob Parker » Sat Apr 27, 2024 6:01 am

I'm doing final testing on a localhost copy of our website in preparation for the upgrade from J!3 to J!4. The localhost is running XAMPP, with PHP 8.2.4.

The upgrade to J!4.4.4 seems to have been successful, and the site runs with the default Cassiopeia template. However, if I change to the template we wish to use - tc_blp, a custom template built with Template Creator CK - the site fails, with a message "Invalid code 0 (probably an internal error)". It shows (in Quirks Mode) minimal content; within that, all the links from menu items are missing the sitename (blp) in the URL. For example, the Join Us page link is https://localhost/join-us; it should be https://localhost/blp/join-us. Developer tools reveals that most content has not loaded, for the same reason.

This behaviour occurs regardless of whether SEF Friendly URLs are set. SEF URLs work with the Cassiopeia template; however, they require the following entry in .htaccess:
RewriteBase /blp
That setting does not change the behaviour when the tc_blp template is active; the URLS are still broken.

Additional info: The localhost/blp site was set to use the Beez template before the J!4 upgrade, and the tc_blp template was installed after the upgrade. The tc_blp template was developed on our J4 testsite, currently running J4.4.4; it is working there with SEF URLs, and RewriteBase is not set in .htaccess. You can view that site here: https://j4.birdlifephotography.org.au/

Any suggestions gratefully received,