2FA Stopped Working

General questions relating to Joomla! 4.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
webtek
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

2FA Stopped Working

Post by webtek » Wed Nov 24, 2021 2:36 pm

Noticed this quite by accident 'Secret Key' is shown but no longer required i.e. can login without inputting anything.

2FA is enabled (Google) both in plugin and for user (configures/accepts correctly and produces one-time emergency passwords) but the 'Secret Key' is not needed and throws no error and just logs in.

Have tried without any success:

Changed username & password

Disabling/re-enabling both in plugin and user account

Disabled/re-enabled in phpmyadmin

Re-installed J3.10.3 again over itself via update.

Even upgraded to J4.0.4

However created a new user and 2FA works fine. But then all articles previously written are no longer authored correctly. I then changed user/name of the original account and then changed the 'new user' name/login to the original - then the 2FA no longer works once again with this new account. Author name changed to the modified original user any way so wouldn't have been a great success anyway. However thought it proved issue with user/name.

So after restore added new user (2FA works) and deleted original user - so no author for articles. So I changed the 'new user' ID in phpmyadmin back to the ID of previous deleted to try and retain the article author - whilst this worked and gave the author back the 2FA fails again with Secret Key no longer required this new user. Problem then not only with username but user ID also.