Advertisement
Back end issues 2 Topic is solved
Moderator: General Support Moderators
Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
-
- Joomla! Apprentice
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2022 4:13 pm
Back end issues 2
I'm having the same problem. Don't know if I'm commenting it out correctly. If I change .thaccess name backend works or leave file name the same and run site in debug mode everything works.
Last edited by toivo on Thu Mar 17, 2022 8:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: mod note: split from someone else's topic - please create your own topics in the future!
Reason: mod note: split from someone else's topic - please create your own topics in the future!
Advertisement
- ceford
- Joomla! Hero
- Posts: 2870
- Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:38 pm
- Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
- Contact:
Re: Back end issues
It will work in debug mode because that sends the human readable versions of css js files. They do not have .gz versions so there is no double gzip. The problem is clearly in your .htaccess file.
-
- I've been banned!
- Posts: 13639
- Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
- Location: Canberra, Australia
Re: Back end issues
It's not just the .htaccess file. There is another place in the Global Configuration settings where one can enable Gzip, too. This setting may also need to be turned off.
- ceford
- Joomla! Hero
- Posts: 2870
- Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:38 pm
- Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
- Contact:
Re: Back end issues
I don't think that applies to css and js files. They are handled entirely by the web server and are not compressed by Joomla.
-
- Joomla! Apprentice
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2022 4:13 pm
Re: Back end issues
Checked Global Configuration settings and the Gzip is turned off. When I rename .htaccess file site works but not everything like off-canvas menu and slider won't. That's why I think it's in the .htaccess file, not sure though.
-
- Joomla! Apprentice
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2022 4:13 pm
Re: Back end issues
That's also with debug mode turned off
-
- I've been banned!
- Posts: 13639
- Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
- Location: Canberra, Australia
Re: Back end issues
Where are these "off-canvas menus" and "sliders" in the backend? Does not sound like the "same problem" at all.
-
- Joomla! Apprentice
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2022 4:13 pm
Re: Back end issues 2
I'm sorry, should have said that I'm having same issue with backend not showing correctly. It's shows everything runs in one single column and only way I can get this corrected is to rename .htaccess file which caused issues with some parts of backend and frontend of site. I'm using joomla 4.1.0 and after doing a new install my issue seems to be related to the SSL Certificate. With no SSL installed everything is working as soon as I enable SSL on backend of Joomla (Force HTTPS) issue happens. When I install SSL on server and do not enable on backend of Joomla will still cause the issue until I rename .htaccess file but now with SSL is not enabled on backend Joomla only on server the admin area and front of site everything is working. I appreciative trying to help me.
-
- Joomla! Apprentice
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2022 4:13 pm
- Webdongle
- Joomla! Master
- Posts: 44654
- Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Re: SSL issue
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".
-
- Joomla! Apprentice
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2022 4:13 pm
Re: Back end issues 2
Thank you for the link. I did verify and seems to working correctly. Did a new install and after doing a new install my issue still seems to be related to the SSL Certificate or URL Rewriting. With SSL installed everything is working as soon I use the URL Rewriting, rename htaccess to .htaccess and SSL enabled on backend of Joomla (Force HTTPS) and issue happens. It's shows everything runs in one single column displays with no styling in backend and frontend. If I leave the htaccess file name as "htaccess" and not ".htaccess" and with URL Rewriting off site works correctly but it shows the index.php which I like to have it not showing. Tried changing PHP versions same issue.
-
- I've been banned!
- Posts: 13639
- Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
- Location: Canberra, Australia
Re: J! 4.x backend "runs in one single column" and unusable
The problem stems from the new htaccess.txt file shipped with J! 4.x. When people rename this file to .htaccess (so that they can use SEF URLs without 'index.php' in them) there are other directives in the .htaccess file that cause this display problem with the backend.
I'm trying to explain this as briefly as possible.
It doesn't happen with all J! 4.x websites but, when it happens, it's easy to fix. Delete the last 30 or so lines from the "standard" J! 4.x .htaccess file, that is, everything relating to "gzip". In other words, all of these lines—127-159—are unnecessary (for most people):These directives are enabled by default but they can cause errors if you use them.
I'm trying to explain this as briefly as possible.
It doesn't happen with all J! 4.x websites but, when it happens, it's easy to fix. Delete the last 30 or so lines from the "standard" J! 4.x .htaccess file, that is, everything relating to "gzip". In other words, all of these lines—127-159—are unnecessary (for most people):
Code: Select all
## These directives are only enabled if the Apache mod_headers module is enabled.
## This section will check if a .gz file exists and if so will stream it
## directly or fallback to gzip any asset on the fly
## If your site starts to look strange after enabling this, and you see
## ERR_CONTENT_DECODING_FAILED in your browser console network tab,
## then your server is already gzipping css and js files and you don't need this
## block enabled in your .htaccess
<IfModule mod_headers.c>
# Serve gzip compressed CSS files if they exist
# and the client accepts gzip.
RewriteCond "%{HTTP:Accept-encoding}" "gzip"
RewriteCond "%{REQUEST_FILENAME}\.gz" -s
RewriteRule "^(.*)\.css" "$1\.css\.gz" [QSA]
# Serve gzip compressed JS files if they exist
# and the client accepts gzip.
RewriteCond "%{HTTP:Accept-encoding}" "gzip"
RewriteCond "%{REQUEST_FILENAME}\.gz" -s
RewriteRule "^(.*)\.js" "$1\.js\.gz" [QSA]
# Serve correct content types, and prevent mod_deflate double gzip.
RewriteRule "\.css\.gz$" "-" [T=text/css,E=no-gzip:1]
RewriteRule "\.js\.gz$" "-" [T=text/javascript,E=no-gzip:1]
<FilesMatch "(\.js\.gz|\.css\.gz)$">
# Serve correct encoding type.
Header append Content-Encoding gzip
# Force proxies to cache gzipped &
# non-gzipped css/js files separately.
Header append Vary Accept-Encoding
</FilesMatch>
</IfModule>
-
- Joomla! Apprentice
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2022 4:13 pm
Re: Back end issues 2
Thank you very much sozzeld Saw your other post explaining this after I posted. Thank you!!!
-
- Joomla! Apprentice
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2022 4:13 pm
Re: Back end issues 2
sozzled
-
- I've been banned!
- Posts: 13639
- Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
- Location: Canberra, Australia
-
- Joomla! Apprentice
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2022 4:13 pm
Re: Back end issues 2
Yes, Thanks to you!
-
- I've been banned!
- Posts: 13639
- Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
- Location: Canberra, Australia
-
- I've been banned!
- Posts: 13639
- Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
- Location: Canberra, Australia
Joomla "double gzip" problems
Thank you again, @tireboy23, for you co-operation in resolving this issue. I have written an article based in part about this matter and on another issue that I have encountered myself.
Your help confirms that there may be a growing trend in the incidence of these "double gzip" issues as a consequence of renaming htaccess.txt to .htaccess and I hope my new article will assist people who run into these kinds of problems. The forum rules do not permit me to disclose where the article exists or how people may view it because that would be self-promotion and self-promotion is against the forum rules but people will be able to search for it when the article has been indexed by Google.
Your help confirms that there may be a growing trend in the incidence of these "double gzip" issues as a consequence of renaming htaccess.txt to .htaccess and I hope my new article will assist people who run into these kinds of problems. The forum rules do not permit me to disclose where the article exists or how people may view it because that would be self-promotion and self-promotion is against the forum rules but people will be able to search for it when the article has been indexed by Google.
- Webdongle
- Joomla! Master
- Posts: 44654
- Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm
Re: Back end issues 2
If you wish to view the official documentation https://docs.joomla.org/J4.x:Assorted_Issues
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".
-
- I've been banned!
- Posts: 13639
- Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
- Location: Canberra, Australia
Re: Re: J! 4.x backend "runs in one single column" and unusable
I have seen the official documentation and I've made reference to it before. Thanks again for the reminder.
Advertisement