Tranfer Joomla to Web Server Topic is solved

Need help installing Joomla! 4.x? For all Joomla! 4.x installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
Post Reply
jdmoet3
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 7:58 pm

Tranfer Joomla to Web Server

Post by jdmoet3 » Sun Aug 07, 2022 10:47 am

Hi,

I am thinking of developing my own web server from an old computer. I plan to create a virtual machine (VM) on the server to run the Joomla website.

Can I transfer/migrate my test website from my PC directly to the VM on the server?

Also, (not directly related to Joomla), can I use the same hardrives in my server without deleting the files, or would I need to upload them all again?

Many Thanks.

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 29303
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Romerike, Norway

Re: Tranfer Joomla to Web Server

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sun Aug 07, 2022 10:57 am

Use Akeeba Backup + Kickstart to move your site.

https://docs.joomla.org/Copying_a_websi ... emote_host

User avatar
ceford
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1201
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:38 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Tranfer Joomla to Web Server

Post by ceford » Sun Aug 07, 2022 4:01 pm

Your question is a bit confusing! You can develop a web site on your home computer - most of us do that for development and testing. Have you done that yet? You may find this tutorial helpful:

https://docs.joomla.org/J4.x:Hosting_Setup

When you have something working on localhost you can think about transferring content to a hosting service. You could choose to do it all again there just for the practice.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 41912
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Tranfer Joomla to Web Server

Post by Webdongle » Sun Aug 07, 2022 7:59 pm

https://docs.joomla.org/Copying_a_Jooml ... _method.29
Akeeba[edit]

Akeeba Backup produces a .jpa file
The .jpa file contains all the folders/files and database files.
The .jpa file also contains an installer
Kickstart.php (from Akeeba) unpacks the .jpa file
You then run the installer and install your site like a Joomla install
The installer changes the configuration for restoring to a different location and prompts for the new database details.

After you create the Database for your Joomla download and install Akeeba, it can be download from Joomla extension directory. There is a link to full instructions there as well.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

User avatar
AMurray
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 7996
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Australia

Re: Tranfer Joomla to Web Server

Post by AMurray » Sun Aug 07, 2022 10:02 pm

If you mean running your own server for live site (?) there's a lot more work involved and you would have to be quite knowledgeable about the security aspects of keeping a web server functional.

Usually, users who want full control of the hosting environment (even down to the distro of Linux or other O/S and web server software be it Apache, Ngnix, IIS etc) they would either rent stand-alone hardware from a hosting provider, or perhaps more commonly, use VPS hosting. The cost may vary, depending on the flexibility of the hosting plan and the level of support you need
Regards - A Murray

jdmoet3
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 7:58 pm

Re: Tranfer Joomla to Web Server

Post by jdmoet3 » Fri Aug 12, 2022 8:35 am

Thanks to A Murray, Webdongle, ceford and Per Yngve Berg for your responses.

I get from your responses that I cannot just use Hyper V on my current win10 pro desktop, add it to my router and then use it as a server? I especially can't do that for a website (due to a lack of security expertise).

I was hoping I could use my same HDrives (with all my files) without the needs to get the files transferred to a new HDrive (I already have them backed up on a separate 1TB external hard drive).

It appears not to as simple a job as I hoped.

Thanks for all your help and advice.
Best
JD

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 41912
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Tranfer Joomla to Web Server

Post by Webdongle » Fri Aug 12, 2022 10:48 am

If you want a site online you need a Host and transfer the files and database to their server. If you want the site on an internal network you will need to learn about networking.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 20518
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ Germany/ S'pore/Bogor/ North America
Contact:

Re: Tranfer Joomla to Web Server

Post by leolam » Fri Aug 12, 2022 3:23 pm

Webdongle wrote:
Fri Aug 12, 2022 10:48 am
If you want the site on an internal network you will need to learn about networking.
and...local server setup and management and local security and VPN and uhhh so much.... ;-)

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Services Provider:
#Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
#Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -


Post Reply

Return to “Installation Joomla! 4.x”