Site fails after copy from subdomain to domain Topic is solved

Need help installing Joomla! 4.x? For all Joomla! 4.x installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
Post Reply
SHSJoomla4
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2022 2:39 am

Site fails after copy from subdomain to domain

Post by SHSJoomla4 » Wed Nov 30, 2022 3:35 am

Former hosted site was Joomla 3.x so I installed Joomla 4.x into a subdomain. Rebuilt from scratch and everything works fine - from the subdomain. Do I need a fresh Joomla 4 install into root of public_html? I tried copying all files from subdomain up one level and now get only a blank white page (front end or back end). I’m using a redirect to the subdomain since I broke our non-profit’s domain. Our host is no help with Joomla so I’m looking for advice. I have a current Akeeba backup, if we can get Joomla’s backend to open is that the best way to restore at this point? Whatever I do, I cannot risk interfering with the sub domain. The problem isn’t Joomla, the problem is I’m a novice. Thanks for your help.
Last edited by toivo on Wed Nov 30, 2022 3:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: mod note: moved from 4.x Migrating and Upgrading

User avatar
Rondeb
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 558
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 12:14 pm
Location: Meschede - Germany
Contact:

Re: Site fails after copy from subdomain to domain

Post by Rondeb » Wed Nov 30, 2022 6:24 am

Hi,

The easiest way is to back up Joomla 4 site with akeeba.
Download the (.jpa) backup of Joomla 4 to your PC.

Then make a backup of your main domain, i.e. the Joomla 3 site, with akeeba and download (.jpa) to your PC as well.

Then clear the root of everything related to Joomla 3 and then upload the Joomla 4 .jpa file from akeeba + kickstart.php to the root.

Go then to your site www.yoursite.com/kickstart.php

The rest speaks for itself

Ron :)

SHSJoomla4
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2022 2:39 am

Re: Site fails after copy from subdomain to domain

Post by SHSJoomla4 » Wed Nov 30, 2022 3:20 pm

Sounds great. Will try this but first will read how to find kickstart.php
Thank you for this suggestion and I will report back.

User avatar
ceford
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1496
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:38 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Site fails after copy from subdomain to domain

Post by ceford » Wed Nov 30, 2022 4:19 pm


SHSJoomla4
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2022 2:39 am

Re: Site fails after copy from subdomain to domain

Post by SHSJoomla4 » Wed Nov 30, 2022 5:44 pm

Ron, what a blessing you have been to me! I was so stressed out and you made this fix a breeze. A huge thank you!

User avatar
Rondeb
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 558
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 12:14 pm
Location: Meschede - Germany
Contact:

Re: Site fails after copy from subdomain to domain

Post by Rondeb » Wed Nov 30, 2022 11:23 pm

SHSJoomla4 wrote:
Wed Nov 30, 2022 5:44 pm
Ron, what a blessing you have been to me! I was so stressed out and you made this fix a breeze. A huge thank you!
You're welcome and great that it's solved!

Continued success with the site.

Ron :D


Post Reply

Return to “Installation Joomla! 4.x”