Upgrading 3.10.9 and PreCheck Missing Topic is solved

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 4.x?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Post Reply
acedrummond
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 12:23 pm
Location: Parker CO

Upgrading 3.10.9 and PreCheck Missing

Post by acedrummond » Fri May 20, 2022 2:37 am

I took my live site on 3.9.28 backed it up and then used kickstart to restore it to my local windows 11 PC.

I then proceeded to update the restored site to 3.10.9 without incident.

It took some time, but I eventually got the precheck and managed thru those issues and finally updated to 4.1.3 and was successful.

The precheck did not appear at first, but a few hours later it did - what I did to get it to show I don't really know.

Now I go back to my web hosting site and update it to 3.10.9 without incident.

My issue is I do not get the precheck.

Yes, I am on Joomla Next channel and have cleared cache, cleared expired cache and still no precheck on this server!

I've tried going back and forth between Next and Default channel and still no precheck on this server.

It is now 24 hours later. I've logged off and on several times and the situation continues no precheck.

Any clues how I might be able to get precheck to show itself?

Hosting server is GreenGeeks if that means anything?

Thanks//

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 28954
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Romerike, Norway

Re: Upgrading 3.10.9 and PreCheck Missing

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Fri May 20, 2022 3:30 am

Does your server meet the minimum requirement for running J4?

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 41521
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Upgrading 3.10.9 and PreCheck Missing

Post by Webdongle » Fri May 20, 2022 8:19 am

http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

acedrummond
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 12:23 pm
Location: Parker CO

Re: Upgrading 3.10.9 and PreCheck Missing

Post by acedrummond » Sat May 21, 2022 1:44 am

I know my server supports Joomla 4 as I have several more instances of Joomla 4 on the same server for quite some time now and experience no problems. (These were fresh installs starting with Joomla 4 vs. an upgrade from Joomla 3)

I just did the next best thing - I took the Joomla I tested with on my local windows PC and used akeeba backup and kickstart and reinstalled in on the live server in another directory.

So I solved the problem of migrating via kickstart.

The new site is up and running without issue now.

Thanks for your help anyway.//

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 28954
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Romerike, Norway

Re: Upgrading 3.10.9 and PreCheck Missing

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sat May 21, 2022 9:07 am

You should post your FPA as suggested by Webdongle.

Do updates generally work on the server?


Post Reply

Return to “Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 4.x”