Migrating Joomla 3 to 4 using new install Topic is solved

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 4.x?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Post Reply
User avatar
nickza
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 2:36 pm
Location: South Africa

Migrating Joomla 3 to 4 using new install

Post by nickza » Fri Oct 22, 2021 10:37 am

Hi there.
We have a project with a site that has the Latest Joomla 3, as well as Kunena forum component.
We are going to install a brand new template, as well as want to clear out old files as well as upgrade to Joomla 4 (in the process, component compatibility willing).

My thinking is this.
1. Install new Joomla 4 install
2. Setup new install with the new template
3. Install Kunena forum
4. Export the user, content, and other important data from Joomla 3 site into the new Joomla 4 site.

Question: Are the tables different in Joomla? Specifically the Users, content, etc (all the stuff I would need from previous install).
And does anyone see anything going wrong with this plan? Our aim is to keep all the current data, but on a fresh install. This site is the same site installed a very long time ago.

Looking forward to your replies
Be Human!

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 23961
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Migrating Joomla 3 to 4 using new install

Post by pe7er » Fri Oct 22, 2021 11:16 am

Yes, there are small differences between Joomla 3 and 4 regarding database tables.

I often use the same approach with migrating to a higher version using a clean site/database.

What I often do:
Old J3 site
  • create a copy of the Joomla 3 website
  • install it locally (using a web environment like xampp or similar)
  • upgrade it to Joomla 4 so the database tables will have the same structure
New J4 site
  • Install a clean Joomla 4 without any content
  • use phpMyAdmin to export the categories/articles/menu items (only data not structure)
    that I need from the upgraded J3>J4 site
  • use phpMyAdmin to run those SQL export files to create the categories/articles/menu items
    in the clean J4 site
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
Company website: https://db8.nl (Renewed!) - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Netherlands
The best website: https://the-best-website.com

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 13059
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Migrating Joomla 3 to 4 using new install

Post by sozzled » Fri Oct 22, 2021 3:59 pm

You need Kunena v6 with J! 4. K 6 is not yet finished; still in beta testing. You may want to wait.
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?”
Walking the talk: https://j4xdemo.enduring.com.au
:)

User avatar
nickza
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 2:36 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: Migrating Joomla 3 to 4 using new install

Post by nickza » Sat Oct 23, 2021 7:54 am

@sozzled - yes. you are 100% correct. I will have to wait a bit longer.

@pe7er, thank you. I think that is exactly what I am going to do, but after Kunena for J4 comes out.

THank you both
Be Human!

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 23961
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Migrating Joomla 3 to 4 using new install

Post by pe7er » Sat Oct 23, 2021 8:08 am

You're welcome!
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
Company website: https://db8.nl (Renewed!) - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Netherlands
The best website: https://the-best-website.com

strudel
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 4:41 pm

Re: Migrating Joomla 3 to 4 using new install

Post by strudel » Thu Sep 29, 2022 12:48 am

I upgraded my hobby Joomla! 3 site to version 4 and somewhere, somehow along the line caused some weird breakage to the system. The site is up and serving pages, but I've got weird problems like

* nested admistrator/administrator/ and components/components/ directories

* the extensions "discover" tool is finding what appears to be old leftover crap from Joomla! 3 stuff that probably should have been autoremoved, but is still there and breaks the site if installed.

I'm thinking that I'd like to do a brand new clean install of Joomla! 4 on a new server, then see about migrating my categories, articles and menus over if that's possible. I see from the quoted text below that it should be doable, but I'm not clear on the exact procedure or what is meant by exporting only the data but not the structure. Ideally I'd also like to migrate over the settings for my Joomla! 4 template and one or two extensions where I already spent some time customizing.

I want to try fixing this on my own if I can, since it's a hobby site and I don't have a budget for professional help, but at the same time I might know just enough to be dangerous. I know how to get into phpAdmin and export/import, and that it's the "content" table that has all of my article data, but beyond that I don't know much about how Joomla works under the hood. Any tips, suggestions, etc. would be appreciated.
pe7er wrote:
Fri Oct 22, 2021 11:16 am
Yes, there are small differences between Joomla 3 and 4 regarding database tables.

I often use the same approach with migrating to a higher version using a clean site/database.

What I often do:
Old J3 site
  • create a copy of the Joomla 3 website
  • install it locally (using a web environment like xampp or similar)
  • upgrade it to Joomla 4 so the database tables will have the same structure
New J4 site
  • Install a clean Joomla 4 without any content
  • use phpMyAdmin to export the categories/articles/menu items (only data not structure)
    that I need from the upgraded J3>J4 site
  • use phpMyAdmin to run those SQL export files to create the categories/articles/menu items
    in the clean J4 site

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 23961
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Migrating Joomla 3 to 4 using new install

Post by pe7er » Thu Sep 29, 2022 7:44 am

strudel wrote:
Thu Sep 29, 2022 12:48 am
I want to try fixing this on my own if I can, since it's a hobby site and I don't have a budget for professional help, but at the same time I might know just enough to be dangerous. I know how to get into phpAdmin and export/import, and that it's the "content" table that has all of my article data, but beyond that I don't know much about how Joomla works under the hood. Any tips, suggestions, etc. would be appreciated.
I usually export/import the records from:
#__content - articles
#__categories (only the categories for the articles) - the article categories
#__menu (only the front-end menu items) - the menu items
#__users - the users
#__user_usergroup_map - and the groups assigned to the users

In Joomla 4 you also need for every article (record in the #__content table) a reference in the #__workflow_associations table, otherwise you'll see the articles being counted in the Categories overview, but they don't appear in the Articles overview.

I do this stuff locally on my Linux computer with LAMP stack. On Windows or Mac I would use Xamp, Mamp, Wamp or some other LAMP stack. Working with your website(s) on your local computer is faster / easier than doing everything on a remote server.
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
Company website: https://db8.nl (Renewed!) - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Netherlands
The best website: https://the-best-website.com

strudel
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 4:41 pm

Re: Migrating Joomla 3 to 4 using new install

Post by strudel » Sat Oct 01, 2022 6:10 pm

is it possible to also migrate the "Custom" (text) type modules via phpAdmin? I'm seeing them in the joom_modules table but not sure if it's safe to move the ones I want. I see there's also a table called joom_modules_menu and am not sure what that does. Worried about breaking something still.


Post Reply

Return to “Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 4.x”