no Joomla update option in Components menu

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 4.x?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Post Reply
Gliderflyer
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 6:41 pm

no Joomla update option in Components menu

Post by Gliderflyer » Fri Oct 07, 2022 1:17 pm

The (Administrator)-components menu on one of the sites I'm running shows no Joomla update option. This means I'm unable to run the advised pre-update check, not to mention the upgrade itself.
Is there another way to get to the pre-update check?
Or better still: to get the Joomla-update option in its proper place ?

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 13084
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: no Joomla update option in Components menu

Post by sozzled » Fri Oct 07, 2022 7:47 pm

“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?”
Walking the talk: https://j4xdemo.enduring.com.au
:)

Gliderflyer
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 6:41 pm

Re: no Joomla update option in Components menu

Post by Gliderflyer » Mon Oct 10, 2022 4:00 pm

I followed your suggestion to go for the FPA approach. Running the FPA with the proposed URL resulted in the "server not found" message. I tried several variations on the URL all in vain.
When I got down to www.mydomain.nl/fpa-en.php my virusscanner (Norton) told me that a "dangerous webpage" had been blocked and that I was strongly advised not to open this page.
The amentioned URL was exactly the proposed one.
So, what now ?


Post Reply

Return to “Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 4.x”