Akeeba Backup for Joomla!™ 9.0.5: no Backup on Update plugin Topic is solved

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! 4.x.

Moderators: pe7er, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
sozzled
I've been banned!

Akeeba Backup for Joomla!™ 9.0.5: no Backup on Update plugin

Post by sozzled » Sat Aug 28, 2021 9:27 pm

First of all, I will thank Nick Dionysopoulos and his team for all the days of my life.

Secondly, what I am about to write is not a complaint or a criticism of Akeeba Backup for Joomla!™ 9.0.5. It's just an observation.

For most of you who, like me, rely on Akeeba Backup [AB] to take the worry out of the did-I-backup-my-website-before-I-updated-the-CMS-software question, the AB package (the one developed for J! 3.x) includes a wonderful plugin called Backup on Update. This plugin (like the rest of the tools in the AB package) relies on FOF30 being installed. Without getting into too much technical detail, if you have installed the AB package designed for J! 3.x on your J! 4.0 website, you'll probably not notice any differences (apart from a "gentle" message, when you go to the AB control panel, to download and install AB v9 ;) ). AB 8.0.10 works with J! 4.0.2; so, too, does the Backup on Update plugin.

There is one singularly striking difference between AB 9 and AB 8: AB 9 does not include the Backup on Update plugin. That plugin automatically ran the AB backup process before the Joomla! Update process begins; it's just one less thing to remember when you run Joomla! Update. Did I backup my website before I updated the CMS?