Show Tags in List Layout (Joomla 4.X) Topic is solved

Everything to do with Joomla! 4.x templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
rinenweb
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Show Tags in List Layout (Joomla 4.X)

Post by rinenweb » Tue Oct 31, 2023 11:34 am

Hello, I ran across this topic which was exactly what I needed, but for Joomla 3.X.

Since it got working for Joomla 4.X with a few changes, I thought it would be useful to share these changes. :)

So, as it always starts with, create an HTML override for the default_articles.php:

Code: Select all

‎/templates/[your_template]/html/com_content/category/default_articles.php
First, put another helper around the start of the file (among other helpers):

use Joomla\CMS\Layout\LayoutHelper;
Then, around lines 130-160, where the columns are created, create an additional column for the tags. Place the following code where you need it:

<th scope="col" id="categorylist_header_tags">
                        <?php echo HTMLHelper::_('grid.sort', 'JTAG', 'tags', $listDirn, $listOrder); ?>
                    </th>
Finally, around lines 280-320, place the following code where you want to call these tags...

<td class="list-tags">
                    <?php echo LayoutHelper::render('joomla.content.tags', $article->tags->itemTags); ?>
                </td>
I would assume that by now Joomla 4.X or even 5.X would offer the possibility to automatically add a tags column in a category list via the menu item's settings. But until it does, the above-mentioned override should do the trick. ;)

thomasesman
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Re: Show Tags in List Layout (Joomla 4.X)