Advertisement

How do I fix "Duplicate without user-selected canonical"

Discuss Search Engine Optimization in relation to Joomla! 4.x. This forum will also have discussions on SEF/SEO Joomla! 4.x extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Post Reply
TheINIC
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 181
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 5:27 am
Location: Earth - but that too is temporary.
Contact:

How do I fix "Duplicate without user-selected canonical"

Post by TheINIC » Sun Jun 30, 2024 5:23 pm

Google again! I keep getting "Duplicate without user-selected canonical" every 3 or 4 months when Google drops by.

The site is small, 1 page. Page contains 1 animated script, and below that, one contact form. The site is for a local business and doesn't need to play the Google popularity game.

Ideas?
BTW - I asked at Google forums - 3 times in last year. Still waiting for answer. I know it's faster here.

Thanks for the read - IMO volunteers are very valuable in forums.
CAUTION: Anything you say can and will be taken out of context and used against you in the courts of social media

Advertisement
User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 44247
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: How do I fix "Duplicate without user-selected canonical"

Post by Webdongle » Sun Jun 30, 2024 9:28 pm

Searching for
Duplicate without user-selected canonical
I found top result

https://www.google.com/search?client=fi ... +canonical
Google has found identical or very similar content on your website but has not been able to determine which page is the original/canonical
I suggest you create a site map and submit it to Joomla. I use https://extensions.joomla.org/extension/osmap/
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 31159
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Romerike, Norway

Re: How do I fix "Duplicate without user-selected canonical"

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Mon Jul 01, 2024 6:19 am

Webdongle wrote: Sun Jun 30, 2024 9:28 pm I suggest you create a site map and submit it to Joomla. I use https://extensions.joomla.org/extension/osmap/
Submit to Google.

shumisha
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 527
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 3:15 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I fix "Duplicate without user-selected canonical"

Post by shumisha » Mon Jul 01, 2024 8:00 am

Hi

If your site has only one page (the home page, by definition), then you don't need to care about all this.
What's happening is that Google finds links to your home page, likely with additional query strings:

https://www.yoursite.com/?bla=1

As this renders the same content as your home page, they see that https://www.yoursite.com/?bla=1 is a duplicate of https://www.yoursite.com/.

Normally, you'd have some way to tell them that https://www.yoursite.com/?bla=1 is in fact the same as https://www.yoursite.com/?bla=1:

- either by adding a rel=canonical tag poiting at https://www.yoursite.com/ in your page
- or adding noindex tags, redirects, etc

But again, your site has one page: just entirely forget about all this.
4SEO, 4AI, 4Command, 4Podcast, 4Video, SEO and content extensions for Joomla 3, 4 & 5 - https://weeblr.com
I don't reply to PM anymore. Thanks for using our extensions.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 44247
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: How do I fix "Duplicate without user-selected canonical"

Post by Webdongle » Mon Jul 01, 2024 12:42 pm

Thanks @Per. I made a typo
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

Advertisement

Post Reply

Return to “Search Engine Optimization (Joomla! SEO) in Joomla! 4.x”