How to order articles by field value Topic is solved

For Joomla! 4.x Coding related discussions, you could also use: http://groups.google.com/group/joomla-dev-general

Moderators: ooffick, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
GillianBPP
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

How to order articles by field value

Post by GillianBPP » Wed Mar 08, 2023 11:07 am

I have created an event diary that only uses custom fields for each article to enable a standard display format (location, date, time, etc).

(Hopefully) I will not be adding these events myself but will have a volunteer from the site owner's organisation to do this. There is a field for date and time which will display in the format yyyy-mm-dd hh:mm and I would like to order the articles using that field. That would then ensure that the events are displayed in the order in which they will take place. At the moment, I have set up some dummy articles to demonstrate this new feature to the site owner but I have added the date and time to the article title, e.g. "yyyy mm dd hh mm event name", so that the articles are ordered by title. However, I can pretty much guarantee that the volunteer editors will probably forget to do this and just add the event name, so I'd like to automate it as much as possible.

Is this possible?
Last edited by toivo on Thu Mar 09, 2023 4:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: mod note: moved from 4.x Administration

toivo
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: How to order articles by field value

Post by toivo » Thu Mar 09, 2023 4:43 am