RewriteRule Not Working in Joomla 4.x

For Joomla! 4.x Coding related discussions, you could also use: http://groups.google.com/group/joomla-dev-general

Moderators: ooffick, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
sazbaztaz
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

RewriteRule Not Working in Joomla 4.x

Post by sazbaztaz » Fri Apr 15, 2022 10:54 am

Hi I'm trying to migrate my Joomla 3.x website to Joomla 4.x and I'm having an issue with RewriteRules in my .htaccess file.

Here's an example...

To narrow down the possible fault causes I created a simple .htaccess file with just these two lines...

Code: Select all

RewriteEngine On
RewriteRule ^test(.*)$ /index.php?option=com_mycomponent&view=listings [NC]
If I go to https://www.mywebsite.com/test I get a 404 Page Not Found error.

If i put the following in my index.php file...

echo '<pre>';
print_r($_GET);
echo '</pre>';
exit();
I get...

Array
(
[option] => com_mycomponent
[view] => listings
)

So the .htaccess is working fine and variables are passed so why is Joomla displaying 404 Page?

If I access it directly like https://www.mywebsite.com/index.php?opt ... w=listings it's working fine.

This is working fine in Joomla 3.x but not in Joomla 4.x

Any thoughts?

sazbaztaz
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Re: RewriteRule Not Working in Joomla 4.x

Post by sazbaztaz » Sun Apr 17, 2022 12:51 am

Ok so I've tested this on my localhost server and it's definitely Joomla 4.x causing this problem. I'm using Xampp, php 8.1.4, and the latest Joomla! 4.1.2 Stable [ Kuamini ] 30-March-2022

I've downloaded the latest 3.x version and installed on the same server. Everyhting works fine.
In .htaccess just after RewriteEngine On I put...