Advertisement

Setup Joomla 5.x website while keeping my Joomla 3.10.12 live

General questions relating to Joomla! 5.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
Post Reply
DiggerDawson
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 1:16 am

Setup Joomla 5.x website while keeping my Joomla 3.10.12 live

Post by DiggerDawson » Mon Jun 03, 2024 1:43 am

I have an old website using Joomla 3.10.12 that is running fine. I want to completely redesign the website and it occurred to me that it might be easier to install Joomla 5.x in a separate folder and build a new website there while keeping the old website live until I'm ready to swap over. Is that a workable scenario?

Advertisement
User avatar
toivo
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 17589
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 5:48 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Setup Joomla 5.x website while keeping my Joomla 3.10.12 live

Post by toivo » Mon Jun 03, 2024 5:47 am

It might not work because Joomla 5.1 requires later versions of PHP, MySQL and MariaDB than Joomla 3 can handle.

If you use a Windows workstation, install Wampserver and the latest PHP and database servers as extensions and build a new localhost site. Once it is ready, copy it to the remote server after PHP and the database servers have the right versions.
Toivo Talikka, Global Moderator

DiggerDawson
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 1:16 am

Re: Setup Joomla 5.x website while keeping my Joomla 3.10.12 live

Post by DiggerDawson » Mon Jun 03, 2024 9:41 am

Thanks

robinsonpj
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2024 4:44 pm

Re: Setup Joomla 5.x website while keeping my Joomla 3.10.12 live

Post by robinsonpj » Tue Jun 11, 2024 12:00 am

DiggerDawson, I am developing our website in exactly the same scenario. Our current 'live' site is 3.x and I'm upgrading to 5.1.1 (at the moment). I have a WAMP server on my Windows 11 local machine, and so am creating the new site on that. Periodically, I'm running an akeeba backup, and then copying that to our live hosting server, where I have the new v5 site as a subdomain, distinct from our main site. The purpose behind that is so that our Trustees can see what is actually growing from the new site and then comment etc., on it. It's further helped by the fact that our hosting account allows different PHP versions for different subdomains. So, there's no problem on that score.
I am also updating another site to v.5.1.1. That site is currently running v2.x so is in dire need of updating, both for the usual new functionalities, styles and templates of J.v.5 over J.v.2, but also because of added security tightening. The problem with that site, however, is that while our v.2 site is only running PHP 5.x, the latest Joomla requires PHP 8.x, and there's no way that we can have two seperate PHP versions in the same hosting package. In that case, I am using a 'spare' hosting account I personally have so that I can demonstrate the new style website and its functionalities, and we'll be able to parallel run with that site until we're happy and then I can migrate that to our main hosting package, link it to our domain name and upgrade our PHP version. So while it is fairly easy to build a new J.v.5 site on a local WAMP server 'box', it also depends on what access you have to the final hosting account, and whether they allow you to have multiple versions of PHP, multiple subdomains, etc.

DiggerDawson
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 1:16 am

Re: Setup Joomla 5.x website while keeping my Joomla 3.10.12 live

Post by DiggerDawson » Tue Jun 11, 2024 1:24 am

Thanks robinsopj,

I have gone the separate web hosting solution as my provider cannot handle 2 different PHP versions. This looks like it will pan out fine. Appreciate your feedback!

User avatar
AMurray
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 10002
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Australia

Re: Setup Joomla 5.x website while keeping my Joomla 3.10.12 live

Post by AMurray » Thu Jun 13, 2024 9:50 am

You need a host where you can set separate versions of PHP at a folder or subdomain level. Both my hosts can do that (Scala and Siteground). Then you can run separate joomla versions - although you'd need to set them to be the min required for J5 of course, I think J3.10 works in Mysql 8/MariaDB 10.4.x and PHP 8.2 or 8.3.
Regards - A Murray
General Support Moderator

Advertisement

Post Reply

Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 5.x”