First use after installing Joomla on IONOS

General questions relating to Joomla! 5.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
Post Reply
wment
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 9:17 pm

First use after installing Joomla on IONOS

Post by wment » Thu Jun 20, 2024 12:22 am

I just created an account on IONOS and installed Joomla. I chose J5 but got J4.4.5. I had worked with Joomla 3.5 about 7-8 years ago but what I am seeing now looks nothing like what I had seen before. I do not see a cPanel looking page or any sort of file structure where public.html would reside. This makes all the tutorials not helpful. I am hoping that someone has used IONOS and had the same problems. It appears not everything was installed or IONOS has their own system. I am totally at a loss.
wment

webmasterab
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 12:49 pm

Re: First use after installing Joomla on IONOS

Post by webmasterab » Sun Jun 23, 2024 11:02 am

When I look at IONOS, it seems that they have their own system.

If you want to start with Joomla 5 I would install it independently.
This can be done very easily.

Go to https://www.ionos.com/help/hosting/managing-webspace/
Here you will find an explanation of how to access your files.
Or use FTP.

Download the latest joomla from https://downloads.joomla.org/

Upload this to the root of your web space.

[...]

The installation will then be unpacked and will start.

Good luck installing and working with Joomla
Last edited by ooffick on Tue Jun 25, 2024 10:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Mod note: Removing the Kickstarter elements

wment
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 9:17 pm

Re: First use after installing Joomla on IONOS

Post by wment » Mon Jun 24, 2024 7:44 pm

Thanks,

gws
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 6102
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: South coast, UK
Contact:

Re: First use after installing Joomla on IONOS

Post by gws » Mon Jun 24, 2024 8:21 pm

That is incorrect information,there is no .jpa file from akeeba in a download from joomla.Unpack joomla in your root and install properly.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 44232
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: First use after installing Joomla on IONOS

Post by Webdongle » Mon Jun 24, 2024 8:30 pm

When ionos was 1&1 I installed their quickstart package. That limited me and I could not use any of the databases included in my package. I got rid of their quick install and installed Joomla correctly. It was some time ago and you may need to phone them to reset the server to get rid of their quick install
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

webmasterab
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 12:49 pm

Re: First use after installing Joomla on IONOS

Post by webmasterab » Mon Jun 24, 2024 8:31 pm

gws wrote: Mon Jun 24, 2024 8:21 pm That is incorrect information,there is no .jpa file from akeeba in a download from joomla.Unpack joomla in your root and install properly.
It can also be done with a zip, which will then be unpacked by kickstart.
https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/ak ... start.html
akeeba kickstart.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by webmasterab on Mon Jun 24, 2024 8:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

gws
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 6102
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: South coast, UK
Contact:

Re: First use after installing Joomla on IONOS

Post by gws » Mon Jun 24, 2024 8:35 pm

It can also be done with a zip, which will then be unpacked by kickstart.
https://www.akeeba.com/documentation/ak ... start.html
And where is the .jpa / backup file coming from?

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 44232
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: First use after installing Joomla on IONOS

Post by Webdongle » Mon Jun 24, 2024 8:36 pm

webmasterab wrote: Sun Jun 23, 2024 11:02 am...

Download the latest joomla from https://downloads.joomla.org/

Upload this to the root of your web space.
...
You need to create a folder in their \www folder e.g. joomla51
Upload the Joomla zip to your joomla51 folder
Point your Domain name to \joomla51

DO NOT UPLOAD OR INSTALL ANYTHING TO THE \www folder
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

webmasterab
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 12:49 pm

Re: First use after installing Joomla on IONOS

Post by webmasterab » Mon Jun 24, 2024 8:42 pm

Webdongle wrote: Mon Jun 24, 2024 8:36 pm
webmasterab wrote: Sun Jun 23, 2024 11:02 am...

Download the latest joomla from https://downloads.joomla.org/

Upload this to the root of your web space.
...
You need to create a folder in their \www folder e.g. joomla51
Upload the Joomla zip to your joomla51 folder
Point your Domain name to \joomla51

DO NOT UPLOAD OR INSTALL ANYTHING TO THE \www folder
Correct, my name for the root is wrong.
My apologies.

Upload the zip and kickstart.php to the folder usually www or public_html

webmasterab
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 12:49 pm

Re: First use after installing Joomla on IONOS

Post by webmasterab » Mon Jun 24, 2024 8:43 pm

Webdongle wrote: Mon Jun 24, 2024 8:36 pm
webmasterab wrote: Sun Jun 23, 2024 11:02 am...

Download the latest joomla from https://downloads.joomla.org/

Upload this to the root of your web space.
...
You need to create a folder in their \www folder e.g. joomla51
Upload the Joomla zip to your joomla51 folder
Point your Domain name to \joomla51

DO NOT UPLOAD OR INSTALL ANYTHING TO THE \www folder
Sorry, but this way the website ends up in a subfolder or am I really misunderstanding it

I already read it.
You are going to link the folder to the domain.

But this is not standard, right?

Normally this is already linked by the hoster to, for example, public_html.

Sorry if I misunderstand.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 44232
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: First use after installing Joomla on IONOS

Post by Webdongle » Mon Jun 24, 2024 9:30 pm

webmasterab wrote: Mon Jun 24, 2024 8:42 pm...

Upload the zip and kickstart.php to the folder usually www or public_html
No need to unpack with kickstart. The zip file can be unpacked from the Host's file manager




webmasterab wrote: Mon Jun 24, 2024 8:43 pm...

Sorry, but this way the website ends up in a subfolder or am I really misunderstanding it

I already read it.
You are going to link the folder to the domain.

But this is not standard, right?

Normally this is already linked by the hoster to, for example, public_html.

Sorry if I misunderstand.
On cheap Host's that only allow one Domain per package then yes put Joomla in \www
But with ionos (where you can have several Domains and point them to a folder) the folder you point them to is the site root for that Domain.

By having a sub folder of \www as site root you can set the \www as the folder for Akeeba to save the backups. There are many advantages of setting up like that. Unfortunately not all Hosts set up packages in that way.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".


Post Reply

Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 5.x”