Contact form?

General questions relating to Joomla! 5.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
SocketPup
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Contact form?

Post by SocketPup » Mon Apr 29, 2024 2:41 pm

So in my Joomla project, I'd like to have a contact form. Is there a built-in service in Joomla for this, or do I need to rely on extensions? Are there different types of contanct forms? I'm thinking email form, but maybe there are also forms that sends messages to Joomla admin? If there are several to pick from, which one(s) are the best? Would be great with something with built-in validation.

gws
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Re: Contact form?

Post by gws » Mon Apr 29, 2024 4:05 pm

What's wrong with the default one?

SocketPup
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Post by SocketPup » Mon Apr 29, 2024 5:24 pm

gws wrote:
Mon Apr 29, 2024 4:05 pm
What's wrong with the default one?
I don't know, I'm asking =)

Sulpher
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Post by Sulpher » Mon Apr 29, 2024 7:49 pm

If you will use com_contact - do not forget to enable Captcha. Maybe even HCaptcha.
Joomla! extensions & ecommerce pluginshttps://norrnext.com

Unofficial Joomla channel on Telegram - @joomlahub
Follow me on Twitter: @sulpher

AMurray
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Post by AMurray » Mon Apr 29, 2024 9:21 pm

The core contact component:
https://magazine.joomla.org/all-issues/ ... ent-part-1

If you need advanced features, then you may need to consider a third-party contact extension. https://extensions.joomla.org/instant-s ... ct%20forms

Joomla also has an inbuilt "Private Message" function as well, which could be used for messages between admins or other relevant users.