Joomla Admin Menu issue

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 5.x site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
Post Reply
jayceefan
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2024 1:27 pm

Joomla Admin Menu issue

Post by jayceefan » Tue Apr 02, 2024 1:32 pm

Hello,
in the current Joomla version 5 (5.0.3) there are errors in the menu display on the left: the menu appears 3 times below each other. I have updated the core files, no change. See attachment.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by imanickam on Tue Apr 02, 2024 4:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Per the forum rules, removed the German portion in the post. It was done so as to avoid the confusion in the topic - some users replying in Germany and others replying in English.

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 28199
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: Joomla Admin Menu issue

Post by imanickam » Tue Apr 02, 2024 4:30 pm

Welcome to the Joomla forum!

It looks like the Admin Menu module has been replicated three times.

Click on Content => Administrator Modules

In the resultant page "Modules (Administrator)" filter the modules by the type "Administrator Menu". If you see more than one module listed, Unpublish the modules keeping only one in the Published state.

Check whether this resolves the issue.

The result of my testing/simulation is as shown below:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam | இளஞாயிறு மாணிக்கம்
Joomla! - Global Moderators Team | Joomla! Core - Tamil (தமிழ்) Translation Team Coordinator
Former Joomla! Translations Coordination Team Lead
Eegan - Support the poor and underprivileged

jayceefan
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2024 1:27 pm

Re: Joomla Admin Menu issue

Post by jayceefan » Thu Apr 04, 2024 8:45 am

Thanks for advice. But there is only one admin module... not even one in the trash.

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 28199
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: Joomla Admin Menu issue

Post by imanickam » Thu Apr 04, 2024 3:54 pm

Is it a fresh install? Or, is it an upgrade from an earlier version?

It looks like somewhere the joining is not working correctly. Have you changed the access levels by any chance?

If it is a fresh install, I would suggest installing on a test environment and see what happens.
Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam | இளஞாயிறு மாணிக்கம்
Joomla! - Global Moderators Team | Joomla! Core - Tamil (தமிழ்) Translation Team Coordinator
Former Joomla! Translations Coordination Team Lead
Eegan - Support the poor and underprivileged

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 44057
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Joomla Admin Menu issue

Post by Webdongle » Thu Apr 04, 2024 4:52 pm

Could this be linked with language settings?
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

jayceefan
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2024 1:27 pm

Re: Joomla Admin Menu issue

Post by jayceefan » Fri Apr 05, 2024 8:48 am

It is a fresh installation. (And only one language in use). Only two access levels in use: Super Users and Administrators Standard settings, no changes).
Components in use: Akeeba Backup, RSFirewall, RSForms, J-Business Directory, Engage Box, Yootheme Widgetkit
Template: Yootheme
(All in actual update state)

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 44057
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Joomla Admin Menu issue

Post by Webdongle » Fri Apr 05, 2024 12:17 pm

Your menus have two languages. Is there no translation for 'System'? Link to the site would be helpful
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

jayceefan
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2024 1:27 pm

Re: Joomla Admin Menu issue

Post by jayceefan » Tue Apr 09, 2024 11:25 am


User avatar
ceford
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2644
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:38 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Joomla Admin Menu issue

Post by ceford » Tue Apr 09, 2024 3:29 pm

The Admin login form offers a choice of languages. What happens if you select English and then login?

jayceefan
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2024 1:27 pm

Re: Joomla Admin Menu issue

Post by jayceefan » Thu Apr 11, 2024 12:20 pm

When login with english language the issue is the same.

User avatar
ceford
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2644
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:38 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Joomla Admin Menu issue

Post by ceford » Thu Apr 11, 2024 2:59 pm

The only way I can reproduce your problem is with a duplicate menu module. Try this query in phpMyAdmin (with the modules table select the SQL button at the top):

Code: Select all

SELECT * FROM `xxxxx_modules` WHERE `position` = 'menu'; 
Where you replace xxxxx with your table prefix. How many results do you get?

jayceefan
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2024 1:27 pm

Re: Joomla Admin Menu issue

Post by jayceefan » Fri Apr 12, 2024 7:33 am

Here's the result:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
ceford
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2644
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:38 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Joomla Admin Menu issue

Post by ceford » Fri Apr 12, 2024 12:36 pm

The way the Admin menu item is generated is too complicated to guess what might have gone wrong - it involves loading menu items from xml files. Check: do you have any template overrides for the Atum template?

Find your Admin Menu in the list of Administrator Modules. Edit it and change the Preset to anything. Save and then change the Preset back to Joomla Main Menu. Save & Close. Any change?

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 44057
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Joomla Admin Menu issue

Post by Webdongle » Fri Apr 12, 2024 2:44 pm

http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".


Post Reply

Return to “Administration Joomla! 5.x”