Trying to get J5 to post to a GMail address Topic is solved

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 5.x site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
HowieL
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Trying to get J5 to post to a GMail address

Post by HowieL » Mon May 27, 2024 5:32 am

In Global Configuration -> Server I have set up my gmail.com email address in both the From Email and the Reply to Email fields.
I've tried all of the three options: PHP Mail, Sendmail, SMTP to send a test email to my address, but nothing arrives.
Similar problem with outlook.com
Yes, I have checked the Spam bin :D

I have an email address on my web site which Joomla appears to obfuscate quite successfully, but that also does not work - it's an outlook.com address.

Any clues?

Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Trying to get J5 to post to a GMail address

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Mon May 27, 2024 5:44 am

HowieL
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by HowieL » Tue May 28, 2024 1:34 am

Thanks for that. Do you know if a similar technique works for outlook.com? Obviously slightly different variables will apply.

HowieL
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by HowieL » Tue May 28, 2024 4:47 am

I followed this and got as far as the bit about creating Application Specific Passwords by going to the bottom of the Security screen page - Nothing - Zip, Zero, Zilch - not a mention about ASPs. It appears the Google decided that ASP are not secure enough and so no longer support them. Don't you just love Google,,,!

AMurray
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Post by AMurray » Tue May 28, 2024 8:48 am