Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

A place to discuss recent announcements made by the Joomla! Core Team. Let's hear what you have to say.
User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 21848
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby pe7er » Tue Jul 04, 2017 3:15 pm

Here you can discuss about the release of Joomla 3.7.3

See Announcement: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=952423
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
https://db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Developer of Options Manager Lite https://db8.eu/download/file/options-manager-lite

DJBenz
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 8:34 am
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby DJBenz » Tue Jul 04, 2017 3:37 pm

I accidentally tagged this onto the end of the 3.7.2 thread, but it's actually 3.7.3 I just updated to:

Just updated to 3.7.3, however I'm getting this post-installation message:

Image

Which would be all well and good, but:

Image

Is it safe enough to hide this message?
http://www.horrortalk.com - The Best Horror DVD Reviews Since 2002

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 23657
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby Per Yngve Berg » Tue Jul 04, 2017 3:56 pm

I also got that message on 3 sites with php version 5.4, 5.6 and 7.1.

I didn't get it on a site originally installed with 3.6.5

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 21848
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby pe7er » Tue Jul 04, 2017 4:09 pm

DJBenz wrote:Just updated to 3.7.3, however I'm getting this post-installation message:

Yes, that issue has just been reported: https://github.com/joomla/joomla-cms/issues/16964
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
https://db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Developer of Options Manager Lite https://db8.eu/download/file/options-manager-lite

User avatar
ribo
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3074
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby ribo » Tue Jul 04, 2017 4:10 pm

In all my sites i did n t get this message, nowhere. PHP 5.6, 7.0 and 7.1 all the latest versions and the joomla installs was from different versions(migrated from 1.5, from 2.5 and fresh 3 versions, many different versions)
chat room spontes : http://www.spontes.com

User avatar
toivo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8739
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 5:48 am
Location: Nottingham, UK
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby toivo » Tue Jul 04, 2017 6:09 pm

I updated sites from 3.7.2 on PHP 5.5, 5.6 and 7.0 and did not see the message during the update either.
Toivo Talikka, Global Moderator
my first programs were assembled and run in 16KB :)
http://archive.computerhistory.org/resources/text/GE/GE.GE-115SystemSoftware.1967.102646096.pdf#zoom=100

User avatar
JAVesey
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1390
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 1:21 pm
Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby JAVesey » Tue Jul 04, 2017 7:00 pm

Message seen on both my live and local/test sites running php5.6.30

It is an old message which I'm sure I'd previously hidden. Sites both originated at Joomla v3.0.3

Hope this helps.
John V
Cardiff, Wales, UK
Website: http://www.llanmon.org.uk (Joomla 3.8.2)

User avatar
ribo
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3074
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby ribo » Tue Jul 04, 2017 7:01 pm

DJBenz wrote:I accidentally tagged this onto the end of the 3.7.2 thread, but it's actually 3.7.3 I just updated to:

Just updated to 3.7.3, however I'm getting this post-installation message:

Image

Which would be all well and good, but:

Image

Is it safe enough to hide this message?

Sorry, you are right, i didnt see this message in some joomla sites. I saw, this message in joomla sites that the fresh install was in very older versions in joomla 3.x or migrated joomla from 1.5 or 2.5
chat room spontes : http://www.spontes.com

Mr. Wimpy
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 10:46 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby Mr. Wimpy » Tue Jul 04, 2017 7:09 pm

After updating the address info on the contact page is not displayed.

In my own template as well as protostar.

All options are set to "Display".

Edit: Now also posted in the issue tracker (by user beni71)
https://issues.joomla.org/tracker/joomla-cms/16968

Regards,
Wim

User avatar
rued
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 4750
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 10:23 pm
Location: Finland / Norway
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby rued » Tue Jul 04, 2017 9:06 pm

Rant alert! Nice with those minor releases killing extensions, and making developers give up: https://www.yireo.com/forum/language-do ... e-homepage
Rune Rasmussen - http://www.syntaxerror.no
Norske nettløsninger og integrasjoner, CONSIGNOR EDI, Mamut ordreimport og produkteksport, kortbetaling og faktura m.m.

Norsk Joomla! - Norwegian Translation Team - http://www.norskjoomla.no

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3488
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby sozzled » Wed Jul 05, 2017 12:30 am

I've updated two J! 3.7.2 websites and no problems! One of these sites I created with J! 3.7.0 and the other site pre-dated J! 3.4 (my records show that I created it with J! 3.0.3). Yes, in the latter case I get that odd post-installation message about "beginning with J! 3.3 ..." and I'm not too fazed by it.

Regarding the discussion on GitHub (where it's uncertain whether the resurfacing of the reminder about J! 3.3 needs to be corrected in a future release of J!) there's a mention of a record [somewhere] in the database that's responsible for why this post-installation message appears on sites that were created some years ago. It would be nice to get some clarification about whether this is a matter that will be addressed or not by the Joomla development team. In the meantime, of course, we can hide these kinds of things.

We need to say this often: thank you, Joomla developers and PLT, for another seamless update (touch wood that I won't have any other problems when I progress the next dozen or more updates that I'll be doing over the next day or two) :D
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
Former member of Kunena project team
If you think I’m wrong then say “I think you're wrong.” If you say “You’re wrong!”, how do you know?

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18380
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby leolam » Wed Jul 05, 2017 2:56 pm

rued wrote:Rant alert! Nice with those minor releases killing extensions, and making developers give up: https://www.yireo.com/forum/language-do ... e-homepage
First of all this is a release that addresses multiple security issues and resolves over 200 bug fixes. That is not that "minor", despite a release as such being considered formally a "minor release"in the official release cycle. It is an Important release since we cater for security and bugs.

Such a Release is not the cause for an extension not being supported any longer. If we make changes to code for security reasons and others and a developer does not wish to pursue the required changes in his/her extensions it is up to them to stop support and/or development but it is never, ever caused by Joomla. It is always a decision by the developer if they are willing to adapt (or not) their extension to the new required codebase and methods.

Joomla! provides the platforms and extension develops always have to adhere to this platform. If they do not want it is their choice...Joomla does not force them

Leo 8)
Celebrating 12-Years of Professional Joomla Support Services
- Joomla Professional Support:https://gws-desk.com -
- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions:https://gws-host.com -
- Member Joomla Bug Squad & J-CMS Release Team

colinj
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 6:49 am

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby colinj » Sat Jul 08, 2017 1:49 am

I received a white screen after upgrading from 3.7.2 to 3.7.3. Back end was fine, but the cause was 3.7.3 leaving a blank index.html file in the root directory. Once I deleted it, the browser read index.php instead, and the site was perfectly visible.

No idea where the blank index.html came from.

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18380
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby leolam » Sat Jul 08, 2017 4:30 pm

colinj wrote:I received a white screen after upgrading from 3.7.2 to 3.7.3. Back end was fine, but the cause was 3.7.3 leaving a blank index.html file in the root directory. Once I deleted it, the browser read index.php instead, and the site was perfectly visible.

No idea where the blank index.html came from.
Joomla does not distribute an index.html in the package in the rot directory so you must have either used an illegal version or installed a version from a template provider that had the index.html in it's distribution or your hosting provider placed an index.html in the root folder (public_html or httpdocs) Again Joomla does not distributes an index.html in the root

Leo 8)
Celebrating 12-Years of Professional Joomla Support Services
- Joomla Professional Support:https://gws-desk.com -
- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions:https://gws-host.com -
- Member Joomla Bug Squad & J-CMS Release Team

colinj
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 6:49 am

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby colinj » Mon Jul 10, 2017 7:58 am

Like I said, I don't know where it came from. All I did was clicked on "update" when notified, which did an automatic Akeeba backup of 3.7.2 followed by an installation/update of 3.7.3. The index.html wasn't there beforehand, and it was there immediately afterwards.

My Joomla came from the official joomla download site many 3.x versions ago, and has always been updated using the inbuilt update channel.

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18380
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby leolam » Mon Jul 10, 2017 10:40 am

Just to clarify once again. We do not pack in our distribution packages an index.html in the root. We have never done so it is not possible that it is related to the upgrade from Joomla 3.7.2 to 3.7.3 nor from the Joomla! software

Leo 8)
Celebrating 12-Years of Professional Joomla Support Services
- Joomla Professional Support:https://gws-desk.com -
- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions:https://gws-host.com -
- Member Joomla Bug Squad & J-CMS Release Team

User avatar
ribo
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3074
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby ribo » Mon Jul 10, 2017 10:48 am

If there was an index.html in joomla packages(Full packages and upgrade packages) we (all people) will have an index.html in our root folder but we have n t, so this is not relative with joomla software.
chat room spontes : http://www.spontes.com

EvanGR
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 5:30 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby EvanGR » Mon Jul 17, 2017 9:28 am

Ran into a problem...

One the sites I updated from 3.6.5 to 3.7.3, all the language strings are missing.
In the backend, all labels are in the form of:
COM_CPANEL
COM_CPANEL_MESSAGES_TITLE
MOD_POPULAR_TITLE
etc...

Similar for the frontend, when such labels are used.

Is this simple to fix?

Thanks in advance

User avatar
ribo
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3074
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby ribo » Mon Jul 17, 2017 10:16 am

EvanGR wrote:Ran into a problem...

One the sites I updated from 3.6.5 to 3.7.3, all the language strings are missing.
In the backend, all labels are in the form of:
COM_CPANEL
COM_CPANEL_MESSAGES_TITLE
MOD_POPULAR_TITLE
etc...

Similar for the frontend, when such labels are used.

Is this simple to fix?

Thanks in advance

Do you use greek language in backend?
chat room spontes : http://www.spontes.com

EvanGR
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 5:30 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby EvanGR » Mon Jul 17, 2017 10:24 am

No, the language for the backend is en-GB. Installed version 3.7.3.

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 23657
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby Per Yngve Berg » Mon Jul 17, 2017 10:45 am

Enable Language Debug in Global Configuration to see what Language Files are missing.

EvanGR
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 5:30 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby EvanGR » Mon Jul 17, 2017 11:12 am

Ok, I enabled language debug: "??COM_CONFIG_FIELD_DEBUG_LANG_LABEL??
??J" as I see it here.

I get the following info:

??PLG_DEBUG_LANGUAGE_FILES_IN_ERROR??
---> ??JNONE??

??PLG_DEBUG_LANGUAGE_FILES_LOADED??
--> A bunch of files shown in JROOT/administrator with the label "??PLG_DEBUG_LANG_NOT_LOADED??"

??PLG_DEBUG_UNTRANSLATED_STRINGS??
A bunch of strings are shown in here... along with their English translations

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18380
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby leolam » Wed Jul 26, 2017 4:49 am

Upgrade to Joomla 3.7.4

Leo 8)
Celebrating 12-Years of Professional Joomla Support Services
- Joomla Professional Support:https://gws-desk.com -
- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions:https://gws-host.com -
- Member Joomla Bug Squad & J-CMS Release Team

EvanGR
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 5:30 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby EvanGR » Wed Jul 26, 2017 12:00 pm

I did, made no improvement to this specific issue.

However I managed to narrow it down to PHP 5.6.x on my host. Switching to PHP 5.5 or PHP 7 seems to eliminate the issue.

User avatar
ribo
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3074
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby ribo » Wed Jul 26, 2017 3:06 pm

EvanGR wrote: Switching to PHP 5.5 or PHP 7 seems to eliminate the issue.

So it seems that in your php 5.6 is missing something that you have it in php 5.5 and in php 7
chat room spontes : http://www.spontes.com

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18380
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby leolam » Wed Jul 26, 2017 3:07 pm

Not relevant what you 'miss' in PHP 5.6 (EoF) Don't switch to PHP 5 since that is completely End of Life already for a long time and not supported and not working well with Joomla. Run PHP 7.1 if possible

Leo 8)
Celebrating 12-Years of Professional Joomla Support Services
- Joomla Professional Support:https://gws-desk.com -
- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions:https://gws-host.com -
- Member Joomla Bug Squad & J-CMS Release Team

EvanGR
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 5:30 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby EvanGR » Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:47 am

ribo wrote:
EvanGR wrote: Switching to PHP 5.5 or PHP 7 seems to eliminate the issue.

So it seems that in your php 5.6 is missing something that you have it in php 5.5 and in php 7


I modified the /libraries/joomla/language/language.php file... (line 833)

the following statement:

Code: Select all

if (!function_exists('parse_ini_file'))


was not evaluating as expected in PHP 5.6.

The wrong code path would run, when parse_ini_file was disabled. Probably a PHP 5.6 issue? Who knows...

User avatar
ribo
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3074
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby ribo » Fri Jul 28, 2017 10:30 am

EvanGR wrote: Probably a PHP 5.6 issue? Who knows...

It s strange to me. I was never had this issue with php 5.6(i tested too as i have multiphp) . Note that every time in my server i have the latest curent php version
chat room spontes : http://www.spontes.com

User avatar
mbabker
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2009
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 8:26 pm
Location: White Bear Lake, MN, USA
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby mbabker » Fri Jul 28, 2017 12:49 pm

leolam wrote:Not relevant what you 'miss' in PHP 5.6 (EoF) Don't switch to PHP 5 since that is completely End of Life already for a long time and not supported and not working well with Joomla. Run PHP 7.1 if possible

Leo 8)

Please don't spread misinformation. PHP 5.6 is still in its extended security support period, so while it is no longer receiving regular bug fixes, it is still receiving security patches and will do so until December 31, 2018. As for the not working well piece, all PHP releases from 5.3.10 up to the current stable 7.1.7 work fine with Joomla. Some PHP versions are more performant than others and are highly preferred (i.e. any PHP 7 release compared to any PHP 5 release), but there isn't one that doesn't work well with Joomla.
Production Department Coordinator, Release Lead, CMS Maintainer, Framework Maintainer, Security Team Member, .org System Administrator

Manually updating Joomla? See https://gist.github.com/mbabker/d7bfb4e1e2fbc6b7815a733607f89281

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18380
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Postby leolam » Fri Jul 28, 2017 5:04 pm

mbabker wrote:Please don't spread misinformation. PHP 5.6 is still in its extended security support period,
Reading is a virtue. I reflected on
EvanGR wrote:
Switching to PHP 5.5 or PHP 7 seems to eliminate the issue.
so I was referring to PHP 5.5 (EoL 21st July 2016) and not 5.6 which indeed is still in extended support (as you mention and of which I am fully aware.) Instead of going to PHP 5.5 user should use PHP 7 and therefor what is missing in PHP5.6 as written down is not releavant since PHP 7.x works for user. So conclusion I don't spread misinformation and you should read more precise since I did not mention that any of the by you quoted PHP versions do not work with Joomla. I am fully aware of our recommendations in our requirements.

Cheers

Leo 8)
Celebrating 12-Years of Professional Joomla Support Services
- Joomla Professional Support:https://gws-desk.com -
- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions:https://gws-host.com -
- Member Joomla Bug Squad & J-CMS Release Team


Return to “Announcements Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests