Discuss about : Upgrade to Joomla! 1.0.4 Security Release now!

A place to discuss recent announcements made by the Joomla! Core Team. Let's hear what you have to say.
User avatar
davidgal
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 963
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 9:19 am
Location: Israel
Contact:

Re: Discuss about : Upgrade to Joomla! 1.0.4 Security Release now!

Post by davidgal » Fri Dec 09, 2005 9:00 pm

champion6 wrote: I am wondering about a couple things:
1. I entered all the news items in one afternoon as the user, Mike. Then I logged in as Super Administrator and overrode the Created Date for each one. Maybe a bug in the code associated with using override?
2. I know nothing about mySQL. When I open phpMyAmin, I see this: Language: English (en-utf-8); MySQL charset: UTF-8 Unicode (utf8); MySQL connection collation: utf-8_general_ci. When I look at the tables in my database, I see this: Type: MyISAM; Collation: latin1_swedish_ci. Does this appear to be normal? All of these settings are the defaults set when I created the database.

Thanks in advance for any help.
Hi champion6,

I tried the navigation and found that it is partially functioning and erratic. My best guess is that during the date overrides a database index might have become corrupt and out of sync.

There is a remedy - if you have cpanel - there is a database repair button that I think recreates the indeces. Alternately you can do it table by table using phpmyadmin in the 'operations' tab for the displayed table there is a 'repair table' button. If all fails try exporting the data and import it back to empty tables.

i would also give the dates a carefull examination. Try cancelling any expire dates.

Regarding collations: The database tables created by Joomla 1.0.x should be the default latin1 with collation latin1_swedish_ci. This is perfect for English and most European languages. Your site is using iso-8859-1 encoding which is OK so there is no mixup with utf-8. phpMyAdmin (new versions) prefers to use utf-8 as the default. If it asks you which encoding to use for connecting during an import you should select latin1.
David Gal

 
User avatar
champion6
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 1:23 am

Re: Discuss about : Upgrade to Joomla! 1.0.4 Security Release now!

Post by champion6 » Fri Dec 09, 2005 10:50 pm

Well, my problem appears to be in my database. I have DirectAdmin, so I used phpMyAdmin. When I ran a check on all tables, these errors were reported:
Problems with indexes of table `jos_categories`
  More than one INDEX key was created for column `section`
Problems with indexes of table `jos_core_acl_aro`
  More than one UNIQUE key was created for column `section_value`
  More than one INDEX key was created for column `hidden`
Problems with indexes of table `jos_core_acl_aro_groups`
  More than one INDEX key was created for column `parent_id`
Problems with indexes of table `jos_core_acl_aro_sections`
  More than one UNIQUE key was created for column `value`
  More than one INDEX key was created for column `hidden`
Problems with indexes of table `jos_sb_messages`
  PRIMARY and INDEX keys should not both be set for column `id`
Problems with indexes of table `jos_sb_moderation`
  PRIMARY and INDEX keys should not both be set for column `catid`

I then ran repair all tables and optimize all tables. The errors remained.

I exported all my data as SQL. Then I emptied the db and ran repair all tables. The check reported the same errors even with the db empty.

I created a new, empty db and imported the SQL export. When I ran a check all tables, THE SAME ERRORS WERE REPORTED!

Sooooo, I have a corrupt database!

Now for an interesting new bit of information... I also created another new db and did a fresh install of v1.0.4 in another directory. Immediately after the install, I checked this db and it showed these errors!!!
Problems with indexes of table `jos_categories`
  More than one INDEX key was created for column `section`
Problems with indexes of table `jos_core_acl_aro_groups`
  More than one INDEX key was created for column `parent_id`
Problems with indexes of table `jos_core_acl_aro_sections`
  More than one UNIQUE key was created for column `value`
  More than one INDEX key was created for column `hidden`

My head hurts! Any ideas?

User avatar
davidgal
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 963
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 9:19 am
Location: Israel
Contact:

Re: Discuss about : Upgrade to Joomla! 1.0.4 Security Release now!

Post by davidgal » Fri Dec 09, 2005 11:06 pm

I placed a link to this thread in the techzone quality and testing board http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,23837.0.html

Perhaps someone has seen a similar problem.

I think you should bring it up with your host admin and try installing on another machine (even locally) and load your data.
???
David Gal

User avatar
champion6
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 1:23 am

Re: Discuss about : Upgrade to Joomla! 1.0.4 Security Release now!

Post by champion6 » Sat Dec 10, 2005 3:05 pm

In the Tech Zone, there is a thread describing the same navigation problem that I have, http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,22452.0.html

By turning off Caching in Joomla, my navigation links work correctly.

The indexing errors in the database still exist. I'll deal with those in time. In the mean time, my site is operational.

Thanks to all who provided help. It is much appreciated.

blackiej
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:00 pm

Re: Discuss about : Upgrade to Joomla! 1.0.4 Security Release now!

Post by blackiej » Wed Dec 14, 2005 11:16 am

The navigation problem noted in this thread by champion6 actually appears to be present on the main joomla.org site when viewing the News blogs. Is this so or am I the only one that has a problem looking at other pages on these blogs?

User avatar
Zorro
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 5:38 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Discuss about : Upgrade to Joomla! 1.0.4 Security Release now!

Post by Zorro » Wed Dec 14, 2005 1:01 pm

blackiej wrote: The navigation problem noted in this thread by champion6 actually appears to be present on the main joomla.org site when viewing the News blogs. Is this so or am I the only one that has a problem looking at other pages on these blogs?
This is a known and confirmed bug that will hopefully be fixed in the next release.

Kind regards,
Zorro

User avatar
rebelsgirl
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:31 pm

Re: Discuss about : Upgrade to Joomla! 1.0.4 Security Release now!

Post by rebelsgirl » Fri Dec 16, 2005 2:42 am

Thanks to all who work so hard on this project! I downloaded the upgrade and it went very smoothly! Thank you! :)

localhost
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:42 am

Joomla! 1.0.4 works on PHP 5.0.5 and MySQL 5.0.16

Post by localhost » Tue Dec 20, 2005 1:01 am

I'm not sure where exactly is the best support to post this, but I have confirmed that Joomla! (base system for sure), works successfully on the PHP 5.0.x and MySQL 5.0.x branches.  I say this because I have tested this configuration (on a Windows 2003 Server box), and because I see the following note for Joomla! 1.1, "MySQL 5 support (to be confirmed)" in the Joomla! Roadmap. I think the preparation from the development team must be ahead of schedule.  Excellent job guys!  ;D

User avatar
brad
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 13419
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 12:38 am
Location: Sydney - Australia
Contact:

Re: Discuss about : Upgrade to Joomla! 1.0.4 Security Release now!

Post by brad » Tue Dec 20, 2005 1:04 am

localhost wrote: I'm not sure where exactly is the best support to post this, but I have confirmed that Joomla! (base system for sure), works successfully on the PHP 5.0.x and MySQL 5.0.x branches.  I say this because I have tested this configuration (on a Windows 2003 Server box), and because I see the following note for Joomla! 1.1, "MySQL 5 support (to be confirmed)" in the Joomla! Roadmap. I think the preparation from the development team must be ahead of schedule.  Excellent job guys!  ;D
You might want to vist: http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/board,126.0.html The Develpoer Zone. Thanks for your comments as well. :)
Brad Baker
https://xyzulu.hosting
https://www.joomlatutorials.com <-- Joomla Help & Tutorials

User avatar
Predator
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1827
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:12 pm
Location: Germany-Bad Abbach
Contact:

Re: Joomla! 1.0.4 works on PHP 5.0.5 and MySQL 5.0.16

Post by Predator » Tue Dec 20, 2005 1:14 am

localhost wrote: I'm not sure where exactly is the best support to post this, but I have confirmed that Joomla! (base system for sure), works successfully on the PHP 5.0.x and MySQL 5.0.x branches.  I say this because I have tested this configuration (on a Windows 2003 Server box), and because I see the following note for Joomla! 1.1, "MySQL 5 support (to be confirmed)" in the Joomla! Roadmap. I think the preparation from the development team must be ahead of schedule.  Excellent job guys!  ;D
But there are some small issues with MySQL 5.0.x so check everything and you will see ;) these issues shall be fixed for 1.1
The "Humor, Fun and Games" forum has  more than 2500 Posts, so why not build a "Humor, Fun and Games Working" Group?
.....
Malicious tongues say we have this WG right from the start, they call it core team :D

localhost
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:42 am

Re: Discuss about : Upgrade to Joomla! 1.0.4 Security Release now!

Post by localhost » Tue Dec 20, 2005 1:33 am

Oh sorry, I guess I didn't notice right away.  I plugged in data from a MySQL 4.0.x database using directly PhpMyAdmin so I didn't need to use the installer.  From what I saw it was perfect for editting existing content (update) and that form of basic administration but the components and new content do seem to break things.  Is this mainly do to the changes in the INSERT statements? since UPDATE seems to work fine for existing content.  :-[

CavySpirit
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:24 am

Re: Discuss about : Upgrade to Joomla! 1.0.4 Security Release now!

Post by CavySpirit » Mon Dec 26, 2005 4:54 am

New, fresh install on brand new site:

Fatal error at bottom of a junky display of pure text:

Cannot instantiate non-existent class: cache_lite_function in
/export/home/mysite.com/public_html/includes/joomla.php on line 331

User avatar
awc
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 4:52 pm

Re: Discuss about : Upgrade to Joomla! 1.0.4 Security Release now!

Post by awc » Tue Dec 27, 2005 7:04 pm

Joomla People Rock!

Back to SEF . . .

My server, which I hope to be moving from in a few months) does not allow me to use htaccess files.  Because of that the built in sef does not work as written.  In 1.0.4 and earlier, there was a simple edit of the sef.php file which allowed the site to keep /index.php/ in the url.

With 1.0.5, I cannot find this same edit.  The urls are produced correctly, but the server doesn't like it and won't follow.  When I add index.php/ into the url the link works correctly.

Could someone point me to the code I need to edit so that /index.php/ is included in the produced url.

I have posted this issue in the components section of the forum with no response.

Thank you all and happy holidays,

AWC



***edit***
I meant to post this in the 1.0.5 discussion forum.  I will post it there, so please remove this from the 1.0.4 discussion.
Last edited by awc on Tue Dec 27, 2005 7:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

 

Locked

Return to “Announcements Discussions”