Page 1 of 2

Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 3:15 pm
by pe7er
Here you can discuss about the release of Joomla 3.7.3

See Announcement: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=952423

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 3:37 pm
by DJBenz
I accidentally tagged this onto the end of the 3.7.2 thread, but it's actually 3.7.3 I just updated to:

Just updated to 3.7.3, however I'm getting this post-installation message:

Image

Which would be all well and good, but:

Image

Is it safe enough to hide this message?

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 3:56 pm
by Per Yngve Berg
I also got that message on 3 sites with php version 5.4, 5.6 and 7.1.

I didn't get it on a site originally installed with 3.6.5

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 4:09 pm
by pe7er
DJBenz wrote:Just updated to 3.7.3, however I'm getting this post-installation message:
Yes, that issue has just been reported: https://github.com/joomla/joomla-cms/issues/16964

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 4:10 pm
by ribo
In all my sites i did n t get this message, nowhere. PHP 5.6, 7.0 and 7.1 all the latest versions and the joomla installs was from different versions(migrated from 1.5, from 2.5 and fresh 3 versions, many different versions)

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 6:09 pm
by toivo
I updated sites from 3.7.2 on PHP 5.5, 5.6 and 7.0 and did not see the message during the update either.

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 7:00 pm
by JAVesey
Message seen on both my live and local/test sites running php5.6.30

It is an old message which I'm sure I'd previously hidden. Sites both originated at Joomla v3.0.3

Hope this helps.

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 7:01 pm
by ribo
DJBenz wrote:I accidentally tagged this onto the end of the 3.7.2 thread, but it's actually 3.7.3 I just updated to:

Just updated to 3.7.3, however I'm getting this post-installation message:

Image

Which would be all well and good, but:

Image

Is it safe enough to hide this message?
Sorry, you are right, i didnt see this message in some joomla sites. I saw, this message in joomla sites that the fresh install was in very older versions in joomla 3.x or migrated joomla from 1.5 or 2.5

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 7:09 pm
by Mr. Wimpy
After updating the address info on the contact page is not displayed.

In my own template as well as protostar.

All options are set to "Display".

Edit: Now also posted in the issue tracker (by user beni71)
https://issues.joomla.org/tracker/joomla-cms/16968

Regards,
Wim

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 9:06 pm
by rued
Rant alert! Nice with those minor releases killing extensions, and making developers give up: https://www.yireo.com/forum/language-do ... e-homepage

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Wed Jul 05, 2017 12:30 am
by sozzled
I've updated two J! 3.7.2 websites and no problems! One of these sites I created with J! 3.7.0 and the other site pre-dated J! 3.4 (my records show that I created it with J! 3.0.3). Yes, in the latter case I get that odd post-installation message about "beginning with J! 3.3 ..." and I'm not too fazed by it.

Regarding the discussion on GitHub (where it's uncertain whether the resurfacing of the reminder about J! 3.3 needs to be corrected in a future release of J!) there's a mention of a record [somewhere] in the database that's responsible for why this post-installation message appears on sites that were created some years ago. It would be nice to get some clarification about whether this is a matter that will be addressed or not by the Joomla development team. In the meantime, of course, we can hide these kinds of things.

We need to say this often: thank you, Joomla developers and PLT, for another seamless update (touch wood that I won't have any other problems when I progress the next dozen or more updates that I'll be doing over the next day or two) :D

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Wed Jul 05, 2017 2:56 pm
by leolam
rued wrote:Rant alert! Nice with those minor releases killing extensions, and making developers give up: https://www.yireo.com/forum/language-do ... e-homepage
First of all this is a release that addresses multiple security issues and resolves over 200 bug fixes. That is not that "minor", despite a release as such being considered formally a "minor release"in the official release cycle. It is an Important release since we cater for security and bugs.

Such a Release is not the cause for an extension not being supported any longer. If we make changes to code for security reasons and others and a developer does not wish to pursue the required changes in his/her extensions it is up to them to stop support and/or development but it is never, ever caused by Joomla. It is always a decision by the developer if they are willing to adapt (or not) their extension to the new required codebase and methods.

Joomla! provides the platforms and extension develops always have to adhere to this platform. If they do not want it is their choice...Joomla does not force them

Leo 8)

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Sat Jul 08, 2017 1:49 am
by colinj
I received a white screen after upgrading from 3.7.2 to 3.7.3. Back end was fine, but the cause was 3.7.3 leaving a blank index.html file in the root directory. Once I deleted it, the browser read index.php instead, and the site was perfectly visible.

No idea where the blank index.html came from.

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Sat Jul 08, 2017 4:30 pm
by leolam
colinj wrote:I received a white screen after upgrading from 3.7.2 to 3.7.3. Back end was fine, but the cause was 3.7.3 leaving a blank index.html file in the root directory. Once I deleted it, the browser read index.php instead, and the site was perfectly visible.

No idea where the blank index.html came from.
Joomla does not distribute an index.html in the package in the rot directory so you must have either used an illegal version or installed a version from a template provider that had the index.html in it's distribution or your hosting provider placed an index.html in the root folder (public_html or httpdocs) Again Joomla does not distributes an index.html in the root

Leo 8)

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Mon Jul 10, 2017 7:58 am
by colinj
Like I said, I don't know where it came from. All I did was clicked on "update" when notified, which did an automatic Akeeba backup of 3.7.2 followed by an installation/update of 3.7.3. The index.html wasn't there beforehand, and it was there immediately afterwards.

My Joomla came from the official joomla download site many 3.x versions ago, and has always been updated using the inbuilt update channel.

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Mon Jul 10, 2017 10:40 am
by leolam
Just to clarify once again. We do not pack in our distribution packages an index.html in the root. We have never done so it is not possible that it is related to the upgrade from Joomla 3.7.2 to 3.7.3 nor from the Joomla! software

Leo 8)

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Mon Jul 10, 2017 10:48 am
by ribo
If there was an index.html in joomla packages(Full packages and upgrade packages) we (all people) will have an index.html in our root folder but we have n t, so this is not relative with joomla software.

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 9:28 am
by EvanGR
Ran into a problem...

One the sites I updated from 3.6.5 to 3.7.3, all the language strings are missing.
In the backend, all labels are in the form of:
COM_CPANEL
COM_CPANEL_MESSAGES_TITLE
MOD_POPULAR_TITLE
etc...

Similar for the frontend, when such labels are used.

Is this simple to fix?

Thanks in advance

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 10:16 am
by ribo
EvanGR wrote:Ran into a problem...

One the sites I updated from 3.6.5 to 3.7.3, all the language strings are missing.
In the backend, all labels are in the form of:
COM_CPANEL
COM_CPANEL_MESSAGES_TITLE
MOD_POPULAR_TITLE
etc...

Similar for the frontend, when such labels are used.

Is this simple to fix?

Thanks in advance
Do you use greek language in backend?

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 10:24 am
by EvanGR
No, the language for the backend is en-GB. Installed version 3.7.3.

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 10:45 am
by Per Yngve Berg
Enable Language Debug in Global Configuration to see what Language Files are missing.

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 11:12 am
by EvanGR
Ok, I enabled language debug: "??COM_CONFIG_FIELD_DEBUG_LANG_LABEL??
??J" as I see it here.

I get the following info:

??PLG_DEBUG_LANGUAGE_FILES_IN_ERROR??
---> ??JNONE??

??PLG_DEBUG_LANGUAGE_FILES_LOADED??
--> A bunch of files shown in JROOT/administrator with the label "??PLG_DEBUG_LANG_NOT_LOADED??"

??PLG_DEBUG_UNTRANSLATED_STRINGS??
A bunch of strings are shown in here... along with their English translations

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 4:49 am
by leolam
Upgrade to Joomla 3.7.4

Leo 8)

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 12:00 pm
by EvanGR
I did, made no improvement to this specific issue.

However I managed to narrow it down to PHP 5.6.x on my host. Switching to PHP 5.5 or PHP 7 seems to eliminate the issue.

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 3:06 pm
by ribo
EvanGR wrote: Switching to PHP 5.5 or PHP 7 seems to eliminate the issue.
So it seems that in your php 5.6 is missing something that you have it in php 5.5 and in php 7

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 3:07 pm
by leolam
Not relevant what you 'miss' in PHP 5.6 (EoF) Don't switch to PHP 5 since that is completely End of Life already for a long time and not supported and not working well with Joomla. Run PHP 7.1 if possible

Leo 8)

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:47 am
by EvanGR
ribo wrote:
EvanGR wrote: Switching to PHP 5.5 or PHP 7 seems to eliminate the issue.
So it seems that in your php 5.6 is missing something that you have it in php 5.5 and in php 7
I modified the /libraries/joomla/language/language.php file... (line 833)

the following statement:

Code: Select all

if (!function_exists('parse_ini_file'))
was not evaluating as expected in PHP 5.6.

The wrong code path would run, when parse_ini_file was disabled. Probably a PHP 5.6 issue? Who knows...

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2017 10:30 am
by ribo
EvanGR wrote: Probably a PHP 5.6 issue? Who knows...
It s strange to me. I was never had this issue with php 5.6(i tested too as i have multiphp) . Note that every time in my server i have the latest curent php version

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2017 12:49 pm
by mbabker
leolam wrote:Not relevant what you 'miss' in PHP 5.6 (EoF) Don't switch to PHP 5 since that is completely End of Life already for a long time and not supported and not working well with Joomla. Run PHP 7.1 if possible

Leo 8)
Please don't spread misinformation. PHP 5.6 is still in its extended security support period, so while it is no longer receiving regular bug fixes, it is still receiving security patches and will do so until December 31, 2018. As for the not working well piece, all PHP releases from 5.3.10 up to the current stable 7.1.7 work fine with Joomla. Some PHP versions are more performant than others and are highly preferred (i.e. any PHP 7 release compared to any PHP 5 release), but there isn't one that doesn't work well with Joomla.

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.7.3

Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2017 5:04 pm
by leolam
mbabker wrote:Please don't spread misinformation. PHP 5.6 is still in its extended security support period,
Reading is a virtue. I reflected on
EvanGR wrote:
Switching to PHP 5.5 or PHP 7 seems to eliminate the issue.
so I was referring to PHP 5.5 (EoL 21st July 2016) and not 5.6 which indeed is still in extended support (as you mention and of which I am fully aware.) Instead of going to PHP 5.5 user should use PHP 7 and therefor what is missing in PHP5.6 as written down is not releavant since PHP 7.x works for user. So conclusion I don't spread misinformation and you should read more precise since I did not mention that any of the by you quoted PHP versions do not work with Joomla. I am fully aware of our recommendations in our requirements.

Cheers

Leo 8)