Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

A place to discuss recent announcements made by the Joomla! Core Team. Let's hear what you have to say.
User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 21948
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by pe7er » Tue Sep 19, 2017 2:11 pm

Here you can discuss about the release of Joomla 3.8.0

See Announcement: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=954794
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
https://db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Co-founder of data2.eu GDPR Tool https://data2.eu/en/gdpr-tool

User avatar
Hackwar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3762
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 8:41 pm
Location: NRW - Germany
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by Hackwar » Tue Sep 19, 2017 2:54 pm

Thank you! I will open a bottle of champagne this evening. :-)
god doesn't play dice with the universe. not after that drunken night with the devil where he lost classical mechanics in a game of craps.

Since the creation of the Internet, the Earth's rotation has been fueled, primarily, by the collective spinning of English teachers in their graves.

User avatar
darb
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1286
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:57 pm
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by darb » Tue Sep 19, 2017 3:23 pm

Dont be to quick until reports coming in how the updates going! kudos hackwar!
Success in the long run Its not about the code its about the people and community that's make it!
Its not what you say its what you do that matters!

Darb - aka ssnobben

User avatar
ribo
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3229
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by ribo » Tue Sep 19, 2017 3:36 pm

The progress of update goes well without any errors. Great work guys ;)
chat room spontes : http://www.spontes.com

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18918
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by leolam » Tue Sep 19, 2017 3:56 pm

Hackwar wrote:Thank you! I will open a bottle of champagne this evening. :-)
Nice job and many thanks Hackwar for all the work you have put in this for so long. It is working like a charm!

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Support Provider:
-> Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
-> Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
Member Joomla Bug Squad & Joomla CMS Release Team

itoctopus
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 4027
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 4:35 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by itoctopus » Tue Sep 19, 2017 4:01 pm

Just a heads up: according to YOOTheme, there is a bug in Joomla 3.8 which breaks all resized images for people using YOOTheme Pro. Link to tweet: https://twitter.com/yootheme/status/910171092131643398
http://www.itoctopus.com - Joomla consulting at its finest
https://twitter.com/itoctopus - Follow us on Twitter

ernienet
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 5:32 am

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by ernienet » Tue Sep 19, 2017 4:05 pm

I was excited to see the new features in Joomla 3.8! In particular:

Featured Articles: Schedule when to start and stop featuring an article #13596.

I updated one of my sites to test this, but I can't see how to activate it. I scanned the GitHub issue and the documentation, and can't see what it is I need to do to make the new Featured Article Start/End options available.

Was this feature added to 3.8?

Thank you,
Ernie

wetken
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 11:20 am

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by wetken » Tue Sep 19, 2017 4:29 pm

I've recently moved from a self-managed Centos 5 platform, where all my web sites were in /var/www/html, to a hosted platform administered through cPanel, which puts all the sites under /home.
The update from 3.7.x to 3.8 initially failed because the Joomla update process could not create /var/www/html/<mysitename>
I created this directory manually (and chown'd it to the user my site now runs under) and the update was successful, leaving only the update log in /var/www/html/<mysitename>/administrator/logs/joomla_update.php and an empty directory /var/www/html/<mysitename>/tmp.
I suspect that this was because the $log_path and $tmp_path variables in my configuration.php file still pointed there, despite the site working apparently fine.
I'm posting this here just in case that isn't the true reason and something is lurking in the update.
Excellent work, btw.
Thanks,
Ken

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18918
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by leolam » Tue Sep 19, 2017 4:43 pm

wetken wrote:I've recently moved from a self-managed Centos 5 platform, where all my web sites were in /var/www/html, to a hosted platform administered through cPanel, which puts all the sites under /home.
The update from 3.7.x to 3.8 initially failed because the Joomla update process could not create /var/www/html/<mysitename>
The update process nor the Joomla installer never creates the /home/username directory. This directory in cPanel is created by setting up a new account in cPanel/WHM. cPanel never uses
/var/www/html/<mysitename>
since that is a Plesk or other CTRL panel path. You are mistaken here

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Support Provider:
-> Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
-> Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
Member Joomla Bug Squad & Joomla CMS Release Team

itoctopus
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 4027
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 4:35 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by itoctopus » Tue Sep 19, 2017 5:21 pm

@wetken Yes - that is correct. You should update your $tmp_path and your $log_path to reflect the physical directory of your Joomla installation.
http://www.itoctopus.com - Joomla consulting at its finest
https://twitter.com/itoctopus - Follow us on Twitter

SaschaLan
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:08 pm

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by SaschaLan » Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:12 pm

musakhalid wrote:Please describe the problem or your issue.

I upgraded my Joomla to v3.8.0 after its completed 100% the backend started showing a blank page, but the front is showing normal.

the bankend will only show blank after you might have login.

what might be the issue, kindly assist.

Code: Select all

https://www.firstbulksmsng.com
Thank you
I've got the same problem. The frontend is still working, backend only shows a blank page.

User avatar
ribo
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3229
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by ribo » Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:18 pm

SaschaLan wrote:
musakhalid wrote:Please describe the problem or your issue.

I upgraded my Joomla to v3.8.0 after its completed 100% the backend started showing a blank page, but the front is showing normal.

the bankend will only show blank after you might have login.

what might be the issue, kindly assist.

Code: Select all

https://www.firstbulksmsng.com
Thank you
I've got the same problem. The frontend is still working, backend only shows a blank page.
Put from configuration.php error reporting from default to maximum. It seems to have uncompatible extension
chat room spontes : http://www.spontes.com

Delfinov
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:22 pm

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by Delfinov » Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:25 pm

I renewed. The site is working. But in the admin panel, only the top header. And the title of the page says:

"Error: 0 Call to undefined method JAdminCssMenu::addChild()"
What to do? I'm in shock.

User avatar
ribo
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3229
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by ribo » Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:31 pm

Delfinov wrote:I renewed. The site is working. But in the admin panel, only the top header. And the title of the page says:

"Error: 0 Call to undefined method JAdminCssMenu::addChild()"
What to do? I'm in shock.
viewtopic.php?f=710&t=954799#p3492889
chat room spontes : http://www.spontes.com

SaschaLan
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:08 pm

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by SaschaLan » Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:39 pm

ribo wrote:
SaschaLan wrote:
musakhalid wrote:Please describe the problem or your issue.

I upgraded my Joomla to v3.8.0 after its completed 100% the backend started showing a blank page, but the front is showing normal.

the bankend will only show blank after you might have login.

what might be the issue, kindly assist.

Code: Select all

https://www.firstbulksmsng.com
Thank you
I've got the same problem. The frontend is still working, backend only shows a blank page.
Put from configuration.php error reporting from default to maximum. It seems to have uncompatible extension
I set reporting to maximum but I've got still a blank page. After a few minutes I see the login page again and after logging in the page is blank.

By the way a few hours ago I updated some installations without any problem.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 34772
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by Webdongle » Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:45 pm

Create a new thread and paste the results of http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=621&t=582860 in it. And post a link here to your thread please
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

User avatar
ribo
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3229
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by ribo » Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:46 pm

If you set error reporting maximum and you still see blank page then ask from your host to enable "display errors". Also try to clear browser cache
chat room spontes : http://www.spontes.com

User avatar
ribo
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3229
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by ribo » Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:47 pm

Webdongle wrote:Create a new thread and paste the results of http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=621&t=582860 in it. And post a link here to your thread please
Webdongle is right. @SaschaLan Better to do that.
chat room spontes : http://www.spontes.com

User avatar
Chris
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 800
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 3:58 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by Chris » Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:57 pm

The backend is blank. Front pages shows OK.
What now. :-[
http://www.stamboomplus.com/
There is no failure until you give up.

Chris

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 5371
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by sozzled » Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:12 pm

The update from J! 3.7.5 to J! 3.8.0 went smoothly. No problems (that I've been able to find) after the update. 8)

A word of caution to gumby-noobs who will be eager to play with the new [experimental] routing system (found under Content » Options » Integration » URL Routing = Experimental and the corresponding setting Remove IDs from URLs = Yes), if you choose to implement this feature then you will probably find some/all existing links to content that relied upon the previous "ID-based" URLs will result in 404 issues to contend with.

This will be even more apparent if you have existing references within your current content that explicitly refer to "ID-based" URLs as well for those external references that may exist "out there" in the wild (e.g. pages already indexed by the search engines or links to your site that you've used on other sites). I guess we'll probably be hearing a few complaints from long-time members of the community who'll write that they "can't use the new routing system" because it messes around with their SERPs or that they'll need to doctor their existing content to remove hard-coded URLs in their websites.

With regards to matter of what to do with the search engine SERPs, that's out of our control; one will just have to be patient and wait for the search engines to re-crawl the websites to detect and replace the indexing information. In respect of using hard-coded, "ID-based" SEF URL references within your site's content, that's something that people will have to remedy themselves. Strategically-speaking, if you're writing an article and you want to insert links to other articles on your site, you shouldn't be "hard-coding" those links with SEF URLs. I guess we'll have to wait and see how the community reacts to the new approach.

For new websites, however, the new SEF URL routing mechanism will probably be a welcome improvement. For those of us who've had our sites running for years using the older "ID-based" SEF URLs, well ... we may have a bit of "maintenance" work to do. ;)
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
Former member of Kunena project team
If you think I’m wrong then say “I think you're wrong.” If you say “You’re wrong!”, how do you know?

User avatar
AMurray
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3770
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Australia

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by AMurray » Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:33 pm

Thanks all for the hard work; two sites updated without a hitch.
Regards,
--------------------------------------------------------------
A Murray
Millennium Falcon - it's the ship that made the Kessel run in less than 12 parsecs! The fastest hunk of junk in the galaxy.

User avatar
Chris
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 800
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 3:58 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by Chris » Tue Sep 19, 2017 11:03 pm

Solved "my" blank back page.
Used my "good old" backup and now I see my 3.8.0 front and back pages.
What went wrong? I haven't got a clue!
Now I can update the other 20 setups with confidence.
http://www.stamboomplus.com/
There is no failure until you give up.

Chris

SaschaLan
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:08 pm

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by SaschaLan » Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:27 am

I solved the issue with my pages. The problem was the SP Page Builder. The Joomla Updater didn't find the update of the SPPG and so the older version was not compatible. After renaming via FTP the Page Builder menu folder in administrator/modules the backend worked again. Then installing the SPPB update and everything works.

xiphias
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:19 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by xiphias » Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:57 am

Update went smooth on 9/10 sites. 1 site now down >:(

Front-end shows: 500 Application Instantiation Error
Back-end: BSOD like screen
Error log: PHP Notice: Constant _QQ_ already defined in path-to-site\libraries\src\Language\Language.php on line 18

Since all went vind on the previous 9 no BU of this site. Grrrr.

Please advise.

User avatar
darb
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1286
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:57 pm
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by darb » Wed Sep 20, 2017 7:10 am

SaschaLan wrote:I solved the issue with my pages. The problem was the SP Page Builder. The Joomla Updater didn't find the update of the SPPG and so the older version was not compatible. After renaming via FTP the Page Builder menu folder in administrator/modules the backend worked again. Then installing the SPPB update and everything works.
Yes you should have updated SP Pagebuilder and other extensions first and check with the 3pds i f he have tested his extension for Joomla 3.8 that he/she could have done long time ago and that everythings works.

So if you had update SP Pagebuilder this have been no problem. Its also told long time ago in their forum and support.
Success in the long run Its not about the code its about the people and community that's make it!
Its not what you say its what you do that matters!

Darb - aka ssnobben

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 34772
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by Webdongle » Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:40 am

Anyone having problems could try this method to update
On localhost
  1. Install Joomla 3.7.5 (or the same version of Joomla as your site) without sample data
  2. In a different folder (to an empty database) install the backup
  3. Edit the configuration.php (of the fresh install) to connect to the database of the backup and update
    Your backup database has now been updated without 3rd party files interfering.
  4. Install Joomla 3.8.0 in another folder to another empty database
  5. Download and install your 3rd party extensions to the 3.8.0 install
    You now have your 3rd party extension files with Joomla 3.8.0 files. Edit the configuration.php of those files to connect to your updated backup database.
Using that method will rule out 3rd party extensions from interfering with the update. And it also has the added advantage of ruling out a hack.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

stevec4
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 11:46 am

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by stevec4 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:59 am

sozzled wrote:The update from J! 3.7.5 to J! 3.8.0 went smoothly. No problems (that I've been able to find) after the update. 8)

A word of caution to gumby-noobs who will be eager to play with the new [experimental] routing system (found under Content » Options » Integration » URL Routing = Experimental and the corresponding setting Remove IDs from URLs = Yes), if you choose to implement this feature then you will probably find some/all existing links to content that relied upon the previous "ID-based" URLs will result in 404 issues to contend with.

This will be even more apparent if you have existing references within your current content that explicitly refer to "ID-based" URLs as well for those external references that may exist "out there" in the wild (e.g. pages already indexed by the search engines or links to your site that you've used on other sites). I guess we'll probably be hearing a few complaints from long-time members of the community who'll write that they "can't use the new routing system" because it messes around with their SERPs or that they'll need to doctor their existing content to remove hard-coded URLs in their websites.

With regards to matter of what to do with the search engine SERPs, that's out of our control; one will just have to be patient and wait for the search engines to re-crawl the websites to detect and replace the indexing information. In respect of using hard-coded, "ID-based" SEF URL references within your site's content, that's something that people will have to remedy themselves. Strategically-speaking, if you're writing an article and you want to insert links to other articles on your site, you shouldn't be "hard-coding" those links with SEF URLs. I guess we'll have to wait and see how the community reacts to the new approach.

For new websites, however, the new SEF URL routing mechanism will probably be a welcome improvement. For those of us who've had our sites running for years using the older "ID-based" SEF URLs, well ... we may have a bit of "maintenance" work to do. ;)

I tried the new router today. Seems to very work well but I noticed when it was enabled that all the links in articles are stripped from the article when I try to edit them using JCE. Even viewing the source all the links are missing. Does not happen with JCE unpublished

jkrokar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 2:17 pm

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by jkrokar » Wed Sep 20, 2017 2:27 pm

Hi,

My template has been broken, after update..
http://www.kastela.org/portal381/

Br,
Josip

preceptm
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 2:27 pm

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by preceptm » Wed Sep 20, 2017 2:30 pm

The upgrade process isn't working properly when upgrading outdated sites. For example download a fresh 3.5.1 install from here directly from Joomla:

https://downloads.joomla.org/us/cms/joomla3/3-5-1

Install it and then upgrade to 3.8.0 through the Joomla Update component and then your entire backend won't load because you get this error:

Error displaying the error page: Unknown column 'a.client_id' in 'where clause': Unknown column 'a.client_id' in 'where clause'

Those are fields that were added to menu_type at some point, but the upgrade process isn't adding them and it's supposed to.

You can run the following command to get the error to go away in phpmyadmin, but then you have run the "fix" command in the extensions area of the admin. But even after that there are no components shown under the Component menu item.

ALTER TABLE `#__menu_types` ADD COLUMN `client_id` int(11) NOT NULL DEFAULT 0;
UPDATE `#__menu` SET `published` = 1 WHERE `menutype` = 'main' OR `menutype` = 'menu';

Again this is all from fresh installs directly from Joomla's downloads. We need an official fix for this ASAP as it's going to effect a lot of websites. I have not tested all versions but I think anything 3.6.0 and less is effected by this.

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18918
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Discuss Joomla! 3.8.0

Post by leolam » Wed Sep 20, 2017 2:33 pm

Your template is not compatible with Joomla 3.x. Connect with the developer

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Support Provider:
-> Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
-> Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
Member Joomla Bug Squad & Joomla CMS Release Team


Post Reply

Return to “Announcements Discussions”