eXtplorer

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! version 1.5.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
User avatar
codechimp
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 2:15 am

eXtplorer

Post by codechimp » Mon Aug 18, 2008 4:16 pm

I just installed eXtplorer on my 1.5 installation and after the install screen i am getting the following message.

"Error! Unable to read archive"

 
oky_
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:16 pm

Re: eXtplorer

Post by oky_ » Wed Aug 20, 2008 3:41 pm

I have the same problem, after the install screen i am getting the following message: "Error! Unable to read archive". And when I try to use the component I can see just the heading of the component and not the files.

lightningbit
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 5:23 pm

Re: (quickfix) eXtplorer

Post by lightningbit » Thu Aug 21, 2008 9:43 pm

Hi

I got the same issue
(and actually, that issue has been present in version 2.0.0 RC2, RC4 and now in the final release....)

I've tried to fix the installfiles, but no luck there (then I get other errors)
but the manual fix is easy :

Step 1 :
install the component through the normal way in joomla

Step 2 :
- unzip the component install file com_eXtplorer_2.0.0.zip in a directory on your PC
- if you then go into that directory, you'll find all files of the component extracted, and you'll also see a file "scripts.tar.gz"

Step 3 :
- unzip that file "scripts.tar.gz"
- depending on how you unzipped/untarred it, you'll find the extracted files in de subfolder /scripts/*.* or /scripts/scripts/*.*

Step 4 : use FTP to copy the files and subfolders in the directory "scripts"
(this means :

Code: Select all

application.js.php
editarea
extjs
functions.js.php
index.html
)
to this folder on your joomla installation :

Code: Select all

administrator/components/com_extplorer/scripts
Now try to use the component... it should work

these 4 steps worked for me anyway


L.

Yaheed
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:06 am

Re: eXtplorer

Post by Yaheed » Wed Sep 17, 2008 8:41 am

This works great, thanks for that.

Also if you are having memory problems when installing eXtplorer, add this to your .htaccess file at the bottom:

Code: Select all

php_value memory_limit 24M
You can try a lower value of memory, but that works for me. If you don't have access to your .htaccess file, there are other ways such as adding a modified version to your configuration.php file. I can't remember what it is exactly, so Google would be your best option :).

joomajoom
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 376
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:09 am

Re: eXtplorer

Post by joomajoom » Thu Dec 11, 2008 11:16 pm

When I did this, I noticed that there was not even a 'scripts' folder. it's like the folder did not decompress. Anyway, I just uploaded the entire 'scripts' folder. Should I delete the one that is zipped up from the directory that is on the site?

Thanks!

joomajoom
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 376
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:09 am

Re: eXtplorer

Post by joomajoom » Sat Dec 13, 2008 7:17 pm

Hello! I had this issue and the solution works to fix that. However, when i go to upload a file using eXtplorer I can not upload the file. I have tried uploading to several directories using file mode and the message i get is
anbrider.jpg : File upload failed.

I emailed my hoster thinking it may be a permissions issue (NOBODY). They told me all was fine and to try again... but still nothing will upload.

I've tried to upload PDFs, JPEGs.... they don't upload.

Directories are set at 755, so I am not sure why this would not work.

I can upload from Joomla media manager, but I really need eXtplorer as I have to upload multiple files at once.

Thanks for any help you can give!

joomajoom
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 376
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:09 am

Re: eXtplorer

Post by joomajoom » Sat Dec 13, 2008 8:09 pm

Ok just an update. I tried to upload images using FTP mode and that works. So why doesn't file mode work?

I also notice I can not delete an image or a file from this mode. That function is grayed out.

Thanks!

rajkovic
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 5:27 pm

Re: eXtplorer

Post by rajkovic » Tue Jan 27, 2009 8:04 pm

I have one problem!
i've install extplorer on my 1.5.9 joomla base.
but when i go to extplorer, on the left side of interface in Directory tree i only see root :
-manual folder
-suspended page file

there is no joomla core and no public_html....


PLEASE HELP

User avatar
QBParis
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 1:08 pm

Re: eXtplorer

Post by QBParis » Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:34 am

Hi,

I had the same problem BUT, if I had eXplorer installed prior to installing eXTplorer... no problems.
Go figure....

User avatar
lancert
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 8:18 pm
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Contact:

Re: eXtplorer

Post by lancert » Fri Mar 20, 2009 6:22 pm

I too can only see the directories

-manual folder
-suspended page file

But when I switch to FTP mode, I see them. Does anyone have a fix for this?

Thanks!
Lance Thompson
Business Growth Strategist
Idea Rocket Labs Marketing
http://www.IdeaRocketLabs.com

User avatar
urwie
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 6:43 pm

Re: eXtplorer

Post by urwie » Mon Apr 13, 2009 9:06 am

Yes!!!

Thank you soooooo much, lightningbit!
( :'( Sometimes I get sad of error messages :'( )

This was the solution I needed and thanks to you, whilst you shared your solution on the net, I did not have to figure this one out myself. :geek:
Now I have time to go to a movie with my girlfriend! :pop

You are great! 8)

Keep on posting as I will too.
Test everything. Hold on to the good. (1Th 5:21)

rtenkroode
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 6:08 pm

Re: eXtplorer

Post by rtenkroode » Tue Apr 21, 2009 6:24 pm

J 1.5.10 and Extplorer 2.0.1. Same problem.
I have had this for ages, but Lightningbit: you made my day!
The entire scripts directory was missing. Now it is there and it works like a charm!

Thanks!
Rob

User avatar
cooch
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 1:56 am
Location: Lake Wallenpaupack PA
Contact:

Re: eXtplorer

Post by cooch » Sat Jun 27, 2009 12:16 pm

Hello

I uploaded the entire scripts folder and still get an empty page for FIle & FTP mode. All I see is 'Back to Joomla", "the logo" & Switch dialogue"

Any ideas?
Cooch
Joomla - 2.5.9
PHP - 5.3.21

Bigjohn
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 238
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 5:41 pm

Re: eXtplorer

Post by Bigjohn » Fri Jul 03, 2009 3:24 pm

Three other users report this problem...
I too can only see the directories

-manual folder
-suspended page file

But when I switch to FTP mode, I see them. Does anyone have a fix for this?

Thanks!
Anyone? Really? anyone?

Ok - Found the answer here:
http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f ... r#p1703495

the problem is with some shared / virtual servers not setting the SERVER document root value.

set it manually as per the post in that thread from MIKE.

vdst
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 8:05 pm

Re: eXtplorer

Post by vdst » Fri Dec 11, 2009 6:28 pm

Was running into the same issue:
1) I configured the ftp settings.
2) turned on legacy.

Reinstalled and it works fine!


4 point solution mentioned above perhaps necessary for running in non-legacy mode? (which would be preferred). If I had more time, I would investigate.


Vdst.

grayceworks
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:58 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: eXtplorer

Post by grayceworks » Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:54 am

Is there any way to make this obey the "root" ftp folder specified in Joomla? Currently it displays all the folders on the webhost, rather than just the ones in the Joomla root.

dicky priyatna
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 8:04 am

Re: eXtplorer

Post by dicky priyatna » Thu Apr 01, 2010 8:10 am

I have a question about extplorer components, I've installed the component in Joomla 1.5.15 and running successfully, and I can access from my Joomla website, but could only explore the directory and download files, but I can not upload files into it . if anyone has an answer for this problem? Thanks

achatterjee
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2010 10:40 am

Re: eXtplorer

Post by achatterjee » Fri Aug 13, 2010 10:46 am

Hello Everyone!

I have followed the steps that this entire discussion has - yet my situation is thus:

- When I open the eXtplorer from the Components Menu - it works fine.
- However, in the site that I have created, when I open the Menu Item created using eXtplorer, I get a blank page with "_NOT_EXIST" on the top left corner.

Could some one help in devising a page that can be used by select users (I have already kept his page in a restricted/registered section) to upload certain files.

Thanks in advance.

P.S. Require the solution urgently please!
Thanks & regards,
Anupam Chatterjee

drb06
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 2:54 am

Re: eXtplorer

Post by drb06 » Mon Aug 16, 2010 10:43 pm

Users cannot see the directory/folder.

This is what I did - uploaded all extplorer to a files folder. set appropriate permissions. Then created a user who directory was to a folder outside above files folder.

When the user logged in, he just sees root. and no directory or folder.

please help.

grayceworks
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:58 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: eXtplorer

Post by grayceworks » Tue Aug 17, 2010 12:53 am

I ended up using ninjaXplorer instead. very similar, however more features and works flawlessly. also displays only folders within joomla root instead of webroot in case you have more than one install on a single server. chmod/upload/download/zip/unzip, edit with appropriate syntax highlighting, prevents editing of specific files to prevent damage to the joomla installation.

zoomlanski
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:59 am

Re: eXtplorer

Post by zoomlanski » Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:11 am

I was always a big fan, but wondered where things were going with this project. The older b4 versions are still the download link from the joomla extensions site, and you have to track down the b6 from the authours website.


I get some continuous errors and wondered how to eliminate them.

Notice: Constant SERVICES_JSON_SLICE already defined in /home1/localtw2/public_html/smyite/administrator/components/com_extplorer/libraries/JSON.php on line 64

Notice: Constant SERVICES_JSON_IN_STR already defined in /home1/localtw2/public_html/mysite/administrator/components/com_extplorer/libraries/JSON.php on line 69

Notice: Constant SERVICES_JSON_IN_ARR already defined in /home1/localtw2/public_html/mysite/administrator/components/com_extplorer/libraries/JSON.php on line 74

Notice: Constant SERVICES_JSON_IN_OBJ already defined in /home1/localtw2/public_html/mysite/administrator/components/com_extplorer/libraries/JSON.php on line 79

Notice: Constant SERVICES_JSON_IN_CMT already defined in /home1/localtw2/public_html/mysite/administrator/components/com_extplorer/libraries/JSON.php on line 84

Notice: Constant SERVICES_JSON_LOOSE_TYPE already defined in /home1/localtw2/public_html/mysite/administrator/components/com_extplorer/libraries/JSON.php on line 89

Notice: Constant SERVICES_JSON_SUPPRESS_ERRORS already defined in /home1/localtw2/public_html/mysite/administrator/components/com_extplorer/libraries/JSON.php on line 94

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare class Services_JSON_Error in /home1/localtw2/public_html/mysite/administrator/components/com_extplorer/libraries/JSON.php on line 855

David Huynh
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 2:27 am

Re: eXtplorer

Post by David Huynh » Tue Jan 04, 2011 2:34 am

I don't know how to remove some of these buttons in the toolbar: New, Edit, Cpoy, Move ...

Please help me!

User avatar
SOAMJENA
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1274
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 12:36 pm
Location: QubeSys Technologies Pvt. Ltd ,INDIA
Contact:

Re: eXtplorer

Post by SOAMJENA » Tue Jan 04, 2011 6:57 am

The new version of eXtplorer works perfectly on Joomla 1.5.22
Web Design, eCommerce and Software Development
Joomla Premium Extensions,Templates and Support Packages

zoomlanski
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:59 am

Re: eXtplorer

Post by zoomlanski » Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:12 pm

Thank you for letting us know.
I have encountered some difficulities even though I use it on 1.5.22.

The link to the extension
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomlaxplorer/frs/

User avatar
SOAMJENA
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1274
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 12:36 pm
Location: QubeSys Technologies Pvt. Ltd ,INDIA
Contact:

Re: eXtplorer

Post by SOAMJENA » Wed Jan 05, 2011 8:39 am

is your legacy plugin on ?
Switch that off and try.
Web Design, eCommerce and Software Development
Joomla Premium Extensions,Templates and Support Packages

marstal
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 10:22 am

Re: eXtplorer

Post by marstal » Thu Apr 12, 2012 10:34 am

after installation of Extplorer 2.1.0RC5 through normal via zip. backend in joomla version 1.5.23 Stable, and I try to enter extplorer, the screan is only white and the url is: website/administrator/index.php?option=com_extplorer?

Have any of you information and better yet solutions regarding that problem?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

thivan
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 2:23 am

Re: eXtplorer

Post by thivan » Sun Aug 10, 2014 8:44 am

Great solution lightningbit

kardinol
I've been banned!
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:23 am

Re: eXtplorer

Post by kardinol » Sun Aug 10, 2014 7:58 pm

If you want to manage your website files, this component does exactly what you expect and more.
And it already support Joomla! 3.0

 

Locked

Return to “Extensions for Joomla! 1.5”