Invalid token when voting

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 1.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Macrosill
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:54 pm

Invalid token when voting

Post by Macrosill » Thu Feb 21, 2008 3:06 am

I have a poll on my new 1.5 install. I get a intermittent error when casting a vote. Sometimes it works fine and the results are shown after voting. Other times I get a blank page with "Invalid Token" in the top left corner. I do not have any log ins, its all public. You can see it Here. I am not sure but I do not think it is due to the log in token issue as I am the only one who ever logs in and I have the reported issue from other users.

User avatar
nsministries
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 3:56 am
Location: TN
Contact:

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by nsministries » Thu Feb 21, 2008 5:12 am

I am also having the same issue. Anyone know how to fix. It only happens with IE not Firefox.

irul
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 7:24 am

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by irul » Thu Feb 21, 2008 8:15 am

i have same problem, so how i can must edit??
great tks

User avatar
nikko500
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 672
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Spain

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by nikko500 » Thu Feb 21, 2008 2:05 pm

You could try this:

http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=470&t=267226

It sorted my problems out

Macrosill
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:54 pm

Re: Invalid token when voting Update

Post by Macrosill » Sat Feb 23, 2008 6:49 pm

I have not logged into the back end of my install and the invalid token issue has not surfaced in a couple days.

User avatar
hajime
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:52 am

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by hajime » Tue Feb 26, 2008 11:06 am

nikko500 wrote:You could try this:

http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=470&t=267226

It sorted my problems out
Emm well I have tried to put in a menu, still shows "Invalid Token" when trying to vote.. so far it won't be a problem if a user login first to the front-end then vote although the poll was set as "public".

so anybody, any fix yet.

thanks.

User avatar
nikko500
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 672
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Spain

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by nikko500 » Tue Feb 26, 2008 2:13 pm

I added a menu item and pointed it to the Poll and it worked ok. but saying that, the latest version is supposed to fix that problem, have you got 1.5.1?

User avatar
nsministries
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 3:56 am
Location: TN
Contact:

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by nsministries » Tue Feb 26, 2008 5:24 pm

upgraded to 1.5.1 and still have the issue. Any ideas?

User avatar
nikko500
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 672
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Spain

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by nikko500 » Tue Feb 26, 2008 5:35 pm

Put your url up and I will have a look
OK Ive just seen it on your post!

User avatar
nikko500
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 672
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Spain

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by nikko500 » Tue Feb 26, 2008 5:37 pm

It works for me! Both Firefox and IE.

User avatar
hajime
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:52 am

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by hajime » Wed Feb 27, 2008 1:23 pm

nsministries wrote:upgraded to 1.5.1 and still have the issue. Any ideas?
Yep.. same here, upgraded to 1.5.1 still the same... like I said it won't happen if you are logged in to the front-end as a user... I put the poll to a menu still the problem occurs..

I have tried installing a clean 1.5.0 without populating the sample data.. then upgrade to 1.5.1 then create a poll.. then add new Poll module.. publish and test.. it works fine.. so I guess there must be something with the first install or with the sample data or something that not cleanly cleared or whatever..

???

gborislav
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 12:00 am

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by gborislav » Mon Mar 10, 2008 9:10 am

Hi,

I have the same problem. Can somebody help with this?

dbart31
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:08 pm

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by dbart31 » Wed Mar 26, 2008 12:55 am

I'm not an expert, but I was having the same exact problem on our new Joomla 1.5 site. I don't know how it's related, but the problem started after I activated the cache, and when I turned cache off the problem "Invalid Token" went away with it. Again, I am a newbie at this but seems there may be a relationship between cache and the poll and this error. Or it could be a red herring, thought I'd throw out there just in case.

herohat
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 1:44 pm
Location: Dominican Republic

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by herohat » Thu Apr 10, 2008 12:08 am

I had been the same problem with voting too.... I discovery the problem after of upgrade from Joomla 1.5.1 to 1.5.2 but I am not sure if the upgrade was the problem because after the upgrade I active the cache too.

As you adviced here what the problem can be the cache, I went to poll module and in the advanced parameters, I disable the cache for the poll module and the "Invalid token" messages is disappears by now.

amarketzone
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:23 am
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by amarketzone » Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:50 am

Same problem, cache off, solved!

mattepil
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 9:42 pm
Location: Visby Sweden
Contact:

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by mattepil » Sun Jun 08, 2008 10:01 am

Same problem in 1.5.3 Cache off in module poll and problem solved.

jandalfas
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 6:51 pm

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by jandalfas » Thu Jun 19, 2008 2:16 pm

I have Joomla 1.5.3, switch off cash in poll module, but this doesn't help. Any other solutions ?

When I logged in (from front page as user), with poll and voting everything is ok.

ecallica
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 3:15 am

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by ecallica » Wed Jun 25, 2008 3:38 am

Same problem in 1.5.3 Cache off in module poll and problem solved.
I have Joomla 1.5.3, switch off cash in poll module, but this doesn't help. Any other solutions ?
my joomla 1.5.3 mod_polls still doesnt work
anyone can help me please?

User avatar
rufuz
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 303
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 10:07 am
Location: Rome
Contact:

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by rufuz » Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:20 am

running j! 1.5.4 and non of these solutions works... the problem persists..

bye

ricc.

gary123321
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 3:53 pm

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by gary123321 » Fri Aug 01, 2008 5:37 pm

Started seeing this after turning on caching for the site.
I turned off the cache for just the poll and the Token error went away. Poll no longer updates when a vote comes in, even if I am logged in. (Poll is public),
Turned caching for the site and the poll still does not update. I am not entirely sure this is not complicated by Freehostia's "server maintenance" at the moment, but turning off caching seems to have stopped the token error at least.

User avatar
cacimar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by cacimar » Mon Aug 04, 2008 4:29 pm

I've entered a bug
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla ... m_id=12097

Feel free to add to the details
--
Rich Vázquez, CISA, CISSP
ImpactNews.com

User avatar
coolnewmedia
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 6:43 pm
Location: Victoria, BC
Contact:

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by coolnewmedia » Sat Aug 30, 2008 3:43 pm

I'm experiencing the same problem.

Joomla 1.5.6
Poll located on the site homepage in a module position (nothing fancy going on with it)
Poll set to Public
Cache enabled
SEF enabled

Here's a link to the live site (poll is on the right column, midway down the page -- homepage only)
http://www.greenmuze.com

Steps:
1. Go through the poll with you browser of choice. Go back and vote again
2. Choose a different browser (or clear cache) and go back through the poll.
--> INVALID TOKEN

IDEA: Can the issue be same IP, different browser? Or Cache/SEF? The issue seems to be related to browser cache/cookies and the poll. If you switch to another browser OR clear your browser's cache, the issue appears.

Clearing poll cache temporarily fixes the problem.

Diagnostic Info

Diagnostic Information
Joomla! Version: Joomla! 1.5.6 Production/Stable [ Vusani ] 12-August-2008 22:00 GMT
configuration.php: Not Writable (Mode: 444 ) | RG_EMULATION: N/A
Architecture/Platform: Linux 2.6.18-92.1.6.el5PAE ( i686) | Web Server: Apache/2.2.8 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.2.8 OpenSSL/0.9.8b mod_auth_passthrough/2.1 mod_bwlimited/1.4 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 ( http://www.greenmuze.com ) | PHP Version: 5.2.6
PHP Requirements: register_globals: Disabled | magic_quotes_gpc: Enabled | safe_mode: Disabled | MySQL Support: Yes | XML Support: Yes | zlib Support: Yes
mbstring Support (1.5): Yes | iconv Support (1.5): Yes | save.session_path: Writable | Max.Execution Time: 30 seconds | File Uploads: Enabled
MySQL Version: 5.0.51a-community-log ( Localhost via UNIX socket )

Extended Information:
SEF: Enabled (with ReWrite) | FTP Layer: Disabled | htaccess: Implemented
PHP/suExec: User and Web Server accounts are the same. (PHP/suExec probably installed)
PHP Environment: API: cgi | MySQLi: Yes | Max. Memory: 64M | Max. Upload Size: 32M | Max. Post Size: 8M | Max. Input Time: 60 | Zend Version: 2.2.0
Disabled Functions: dl,passthru,proc_open,proc_close,system,allow_url_fopen
MySQL Client: 5.0.51a ( latin1 )



Thanks,
Kevin
"Web freelancer specializing in XHTML/CSS and web design. Currently learning Joomla 1.5."
http://www.coolnewmedia.com

eyashwant
I've been banned!
Posts: 960
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 9:28 am
Contact:

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by eyashwant » Mon Feb 02, 2009 9:46 am

Yes I too got this error in 1.5.9 Joomla and in few minutes it went off and is working fine. Some times it appears and it goes off again. Any permanent solution to this. :-\

petern
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 6:09 am

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by petern » Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:32 am

This issue with the 'invalid token' and Joomla Poll is still a problem in 1.5.9

What I have discovered:

1. It only happens in a template override.
2. It is triggered when Joomla detects more than 1 person from the same IP address casting a vote.
3. If the cache is on, the error could be cached instead of the results page, so everybody sees "invalid token" when voting, for the duration of the cache.

So the logic for sessions/invalid tokens is obviously treated differently when a template override is present.

Turning off the cache will only stop the error being shown for the full cache duration, so while it minimises the issue, it is not a fix, and of course impacts the site performance.

Hope that helps
Pete

YvesDeLa
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 4:28 pm

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by YvesDeLa » Mon May 17, 2010 4:31 pm

Same problem. Disabled cache and that solved it.

darko74
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 9:45 am

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by darko74 » Thu May 20, 2010 7:20 pm

definitely the problem disappears when you turn off the cache in the advanced parameters of the poll module. I had the same problem and after disabling it the voting worked correctly and no "invalid token" message appeared again.

Of course as some of you said this shouldn't be the fix, but at least my users will not feel annoyed for the moment.

User avatar
paulwerner
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 4:40 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by paulwerner » Tue Jun 29, 2010 4:45 pm

Yep it seems it’s the cache conflicting, simple turn it off and you’re sorted! :)

User avatar
guysmiley
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 497
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 7:22 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by guysmiley » Wed Oct 27, 2010 11:35 pm

This issue persists even with 1.5.21. In the Poll Module, turn the Caching off and all's well.

daverb
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 1:07 pm

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by daverb » Sun Nov 14, 2010 3:51 pm

Am using Apoll, but was using the Joomla core module Polls - any way the fix is the same and far easier than I thought - turning off caching of the poll works for both. The trick is, this is not done in the poll's configuration, it is doe in the poll's module configuration under the Advanced Tab on the right.

That will do it!
--Dave--

User avatar
sog2012
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 457
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 1:47 am

Re: Invalid token when voting

Post by sog2012 » Sun Mar 13, 2011 1:51 am

I am getting this problem too. "Invalid Token" on top left.

But thanks to people who suggested to turn off cache and I think that fixed it. Will keep testing it.
Best wishes and God bless.


Locked

Return to “Administration 1.5”