Horizontal submenu

Discuss the development and implementation of Joomla! 1.0.x templates here.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Locked
adeeshah
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 5:10 am

Horizontal submenu

Post by adeeshah » Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:18 am

I need a component or a module of joomla that can show the menu and submenu horizontally. I need to display the submenu horizontally its very important.................i searched all over the web and found no such module.....all modules displays the submenu vertically..........is there any module that can dipaly the submenu horizaontally????

User avatar
dam-man
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 7961
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 2:13 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Horizontal submenu

Post by dam-man » Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:36 am

Mod Note:
Topic Moved from: Joomla! 1.0 - Development Board to Joomla! 1.0 - Templates & CSS
This could also be a topic inside Extentions, please let me know if you need a component or wants to make it your self. Thank You!
Robert Dam - Joomla Forum Moderator
Dutch Boards | Joomla Coding Boards | English Support Boards

sukanya.paul
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 3:34 am

Re: Horizontal submenu

Post by sukanya.paul » Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:52 am

there is..you can use JScookmenu.. there are other methods of achieving a horizontal submenu also without using a component.
for that make different menus for each submenu and then link them to the main menu in the modules.
Example: say ur main menu consists of
Home | Links | Department (top menu)
Links--> link1,link2
Department-->dept1,dept2.

go to menu->new-> and make 2 new menu Links and Department which consist of the submenus.

after that go to modules->click on Link->on the right hand side menu item links->select link1,;ink2 and Links

Thats how it worked for me.

Good Luck!!

adeeshah
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 5:10 am

Re: Horizontal submenu

Post by adeeshah » Thu Apr 24, 2008 10:24 am

Any other solution, other than JSCookMenu...................Please help me!!!!!!!!!!

sukanya.paul
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 3:34 am

Re: Horizontal submenu

Post by sukanya.paul » Fri Apr 25, 2008 12:54 am

as far as component goes itd JSCookMenu else try the 2nd method..that what i used.

jkwok
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 11:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Horizontal submenu

Post by jkwok » Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:46 pm

Hi,

I am having the same problem. I want a horizontal submenu but my template comes default with a vertical one.

here is my work in progress site: http://www.jeanettekwok.com/wagan3/

I have tried installing the MG menu (horizontal menu plugin for Joomla 1.5) and publishing it to the toolbar position but the horizontal menu still shows.

Has anyone used this module or can recommend another solution to having a horizontal submenu?

Thanks,

Jeanette
Convert your website to Joomla! the best CMS there is out there!
http://www.jeanettekwok.com

nkadakia
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 1:19 pm

Re: Horizontal submenu

Post by nkadakia » Tue Mar 16, 2010 1:21 pm

hi jkwok,

I liked your layout.. Can you tell me which extension you are using and how can I implement in my website.

Thanks


Locked

Return to “Templates & CSS - 1.0.x”