Horizontal menu in joomla 1.6

This board for support questions on Joomla 1.6 RC (= Release Candidate - which should NOT be used on a production server) is NO longer active because Joomla 1.6.0 has been released.

>> For Joomla! 1.6 Support Questions, please use http://forum.joomla.org/viewforum.php?f=614 instead <<
Forum rules
Please use the Forum Post Assistant to give your server setting details which are necessary to determine the problem.
Locked
rscott7706
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 6:52 am

Horizontal menu in joomla 1.6

Post by rscott7706 » Sat Aug 28, 2010 7:10 pm

What happened to "Menu Style" from version 1.5. I want my links to appear horizontally and can't find a way to do it.

Am I going have to do a 3rd party menu and place it in a module position?

Ron 8)

User avatar
Bjorg
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1557
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:45 am

Re: Horizontal menu in joomla 1.6

Post by Bjorg » Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm

Try the template positioning chart for Joomla!:

http://www.artisteer.com/?p=help_joomla#joomla4

Hope this helps!

rscott7706
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 6:52 am

Re: Horizontal menu in joomla 1.6

Post by rscott7706 » Sun Aug 29, 2010 8:09 pm

Bjorg wrote:Try the template positioning chart for Joomla!:

http://www.artisteer.com/?p=help_joomla#joomla4

Hope this helps!
Is there a function in1.6 in like 1.5?

It seems that many core functions of 1.5 are not included in 1.6 or even addressed as how to handle. Modules do not function at all like 1.5 - I am in fear that all of my websites will be a nightmare to upgrade.

I tried to use a CSS menu I now have in 1.5 (as a wrapper module) and it will not work at all in 1.6 - a horizontal menu wants to become a vertical menu although the CSS call for a horizontal menu. I got it working with Firefox, but IE messes it all up. The 1.5 wrapper looks great in all browsers.

Don't get me wrong, I fully appreciate the work put in to this wonderful and free software, but it is alarming that I may be spending huge dollars on the other end trying to make my existing 1.5 sites 16. compliant.

And I want 1.6 so badly due to it's better handling of groups and article authorizations.

Is there a list of old functions and what function now replaces them if they have been abandoned?

Ron 8)

User avatar
Bjorg
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1557
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:45 am

Re: Horizontal menu in joomla 1.6

Post by Bjorg » Mon Aug 30, 2010 2:18 am

As per the before mentioned template positioning chart for Joomla!, the “User3” position
is generally selected for a menu, and is more or less the top navigational bar, or “top_nav”.
The template will also affect actual positioning of “User3”
(IE: Could be above, or below the header, above or below breadcrumbs, ect…)

Unsure if there is a public documentation relative to any, and all changes made to Joomla! 1.6, from 1.5
unless stated within the change log regarding the actual updated Joomla! version.

If the choice to install “Sample Data”, which includes creation of menu positions
were not selected during installation of Joomla!, then a new menu needs to be created:

http://docs.joomla.org/Menu_Manager_Screenshots

http://docs.joomla.org/Adding_a_new_menu

Following new menu creation, simply select position of “User3”, and it should show within the “top_nav”
of the template. (Note: If the menu is set to not show, if empty, a “menu item”
as well as, a link to article content may be necessary for the newly created menu to show!).

Hope this helps!

mbabker
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2176
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 8:26 pm

Re: Horizontal menu in joomla 1.6

Post by mbabker » Mon Aug 30, 2010 6:32 pm

Also to note, the sample data includes that top navigation menu filled in as a horizontal menu.
So long and thanks for all the fish.

Manually updating Joomla? See https://gist.github.com/mbabker/d7bfb4e ... 3607f89281

rscott7706
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 6:52 am

Re: Horizontal menu in joomla 1.6

Post by rscott7706 » Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:22 pm

Thanks all, I did load without sample data and last night did another install with sample data. Was too late to work on it by the time I got it installed.

I will go at it again tonight!!

Thanks again, I appreciate your timely responses!!

Ron 8)

User avatar
Bjorg
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1557
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:45 am

Re: Horizontal menu in joomla 1.6

Post by Bjorg » Mon Aug 30, 2010 10:07 pm

Good luck!

rhys8582
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 9:16 pm

Re: Horizontal menu in joomla 1.6

Post by rhys8582 » Sun Mar 06, 2011 4:09 am

While I do appreciate that it is possible to create a horizontal menu using the user_3 position, it has still not been explained why the "menu styles" disappeared. It seems to me that this was a fundamental feature of 1.5, and it's absence in 1.6 perplexes me. I have a horizontal menu in position user_3, however I also want to add a menu to position "footer" that will display horizontally. I thought 1.6 was supposed to be an improvement, however I have found a number of things that were INFINITELY easier in 1.5. I would like to know please why this functionality was removed?

harry1110
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 4:16 pm

Re: Horizontal menu in joomla 1.6

Post by harry1110 » Mon Apr 04, 2011 8:29 am

I found this on thread http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?p ... ----------

ul.menu
{
list-style-type: none;
}
ul.menu li
{
float: left;
}

Worked for me, just add the bold one above to your current template css file.

User avatar
Bjorg
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1557
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:45 am

Re: Horizontal menu in joomla 1.6

Post by Bjorg » Sat Apr 23, 2011 1:01 am

rhys8582 wrote:While I do appreciate that it is possible to create a horizontal menu using the user_3 position, it has still not been explained why the "menu styles" disappeared. It seems to me that this was a fundamental feature of 1.5, and it's absence in 1.6 perplexes me. I have a horizontal menu in position user_3, however I also want to add a menu to position "footer" that will display horizontally. I thought 1.6 was supposed to be an improvement, however I have found a number of things that were INFINITELY easier in 1.5. I would like to know please why this functionality was removed?
Perhaps place a request to the support team?
http://developer.joomla.org/

Hope this helps!


Locked

Return to “Joomla! 1.6 RC Support [closed]”