default list limit

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 2.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
alxttr
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 9:07 am

default list limit

Post by alxttr » Sun Jan 01, 2012 5:18 am

Hi,

I would like to set the default list limit in joomla global configuration -> site settings to All but the highest option is 100. (I want to have displayed all the articles, all the categories, all the modules, etc. and switching each time can be annoying after a while).

What file needs to be modified in order to get my desired result?

Kind regards,
Alex

janaf
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 411
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 6:30 pm
Location: Stockholm
Contact:

Re: default list limit

Post by janaf » Sun Jan 01, 2012 2:12 pm

In administrator/components/com_config/models/forms/application.xml

you have

Code: Select all

		<field
			name="list_limit"
			type="list"
			default="20"
			label="COM_CONFIG_FIELD_DEFAULT_LIST_LIMIT_LABEL"
			description="COM_CONFIG_FIELD_DEFAULT_LIST_LIMIT_DESC"
			filter="integer">
			<option
				value="5">J5</option>
			<option
				value="10">J10</option>
			<option
				value="15">J15</option>
			<option
				value="20">J20</option>
			<option
				value="25">J25</option>
			<option
				value="30">J30</option>
			<option
				value="50">J50</option>
			<option
				value="100">J100</option>
		</field>
You could add a new option with a value like 10000......
You want replies? Search the forum. Most questions have been anserd many times. If not; what have you done, what do you want to do, what have you tried? Be clear and explicit!
----
ToolGeeks, handicrafts and tools community: http://www.toolgeeks.net

alxttr
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 9:07 am

Re: default list limit

Post by alxttr » Sun Jan 01, 2012 5:35 pm

Thanks for help.
Got it.

Kind regards,
Alex

imageconcepts
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 9:44 pm

Re: default list limit

Post by imageconcepts » Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:22 pm

mmm, i could do with some help with this, i added an extra line


<option
value="1000">J1000</option>
</field>

and also added a line in the administrator/ languages / en-GB / en-GB.ini

J1000="1000"

and nothing changes in the backend to be able to select a 1000

i am using Joomla! 2.5.9

any help appreciated, as i have to sort out 7500 car listings and not practical to change them 100 at a time? but all just times out

sander_v_bergen
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 529
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:04 pm

Re: default list limit

Post by sander_v_bergen » Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:31 pm

Did you remove the </field> that is already in there?
You should have:

Code: Select all

         <option
            value="50">J50</option>
         <option
            value="100">J100</option>
         <option
            value="1000">J1000</option>
      </field>
and not

Code: Select all

         <option
            value="50">J50</option>
         <option
            value="100">J100</option>
      </field>
         <option
            value="1000">J1000</option>
      </field>

imageconcepts
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 9:44 pm

Re: default list limit

Post by imageconcepts » Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:34 pm

hello

yes i have it as this

Code: Select all

<field
			name="list_limit"
			type="list"
			default="20"
			label="COM_CONFIG_FIELD_DEFAULT_LIST_LIMIT_LABEL"
			description="COM_CONFIG_FIELD_DEFAULT_LIST_LIMIT_DESC"
			filter="integer">
			<option
				value="5">J5</option>
			<option
				value="10">J10</option>
			<option
				value="15">J15</option>
			<option
				value="20">J20</option>
			<option
				value="25">J25</option>
			<option
				value="30">J30</option>
			<option
				value="50">J50</option>
			<option
				value="100">J100</option>
			<option
				value="1000">J1000</option>
		</field>

Scott Gregory
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 12:06 am

Re: default list limit

Post by Scott Gregory » Sun Sep 15, 2013 3:12 am

As to hacking the core files to enable an "All" list-length option, it's as simple as adding an option to the (Joomla 3.x) Admin com_config/models/forms/application.xml file.

REMEMBER TO BACK UP ANY FILE YOU MODIFY SO THAT YOU CAN (hopefully) UNDO ANY CHANGES THAT LEAD TO A CATASTROPHE

AT about line 675, change:

Code: Select all

		<field
			name="list_limit"
			type="list"
			default="20"
			label="COM_CONFIG_FIELD_DEFAULT_LIST_LIMIT_LABEL"
			description="COM_CONFIG_FIELD_DEFAULT_LIST_LIMIT_DESC"
			filter="integer">
			<option
				value="5">J5</option>
			<option
				value="10">J10</option>
			<option
				value="15">J15</option>
			<option
				value="20">J20</option>
			<option
				value="25">J25</option>
			<option
				value="30">J30</option>
			<option
				value="50">J50</option>
			<option
				value="100">J100</option>
		</field>
To:

Code: Select all

		<field
			name="list_limit"
			type="list"
			default="20"
			label="COM_CONFIG_FIELD_DEFAULT_LIST_LIMIT_LABEL"
			description="COM_CONFIG_FIELD_DEFAULT_LIST_LIMIT_DESC"
			filter="integer">
			<option
				value="5">J5</option>
			<option
				value="10">J10</option>
			<option
				value="15">J15</option>
			<option
				value="20">J20</option>
			<option
				value="25">J25</option>
			<option
				value="30">J30</option>
			<option
				value="50">J50</option>
			<option
				value="100">J100</option>
			<option
				value="100">JALL</option>
		</field>
The "J" values are to be found in the administrator/languages/[your preferred language]/language-LANGUAGE.ini (i.e.: en-GB.ini). I haven't tried, and don't recommend, adding custom values to this file --- the value for JALL already exists.

After this, simply navigate to Global Configuration in the Admin Control Panel, choose "All" for your list length, save and close. The option is saved to configuration.php in the root folder and you're gold, at least until a core update wipes out your changes...
Firebug: the FREE Firefox Add-on for Joomla! Web Site Builders.

krishunt
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 8:37 pm

Re: default list limit

Post by krishunt » Tue Oct 01, 2013 6:24 pm

<option value="100">JALL</option>
Is this correct? Are you sure you don't mean

Code: Select all

<option value="All">JALL</option>
?

Scott Gregory
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 12:06 am

Re: default list limit

Post by Scott Gregory » Wed Oct 02, 2013 12:08 am

I'm a boob! You are correct. I was cutting and pasting stuff so fast I didn't have time to make the proper changes. The second of your code snippets is what actually made it into my own file...
Firebug: the FREE Firefox Add-on for Joomla! Web Site Builders.

d--
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 2:42 am

Re: default list limit

Post by d-- » Wed Oct 08, 2014 12:26 am

This doesn't appear to work for me in Joomla 2.5.27

twarfield
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 9:32 pm
Contact:

Re: default list limit

Post by twarfield » Fri Aug 03, 2018 4:30 pm

Still works in Joomla v3.8.10 ... but the file is now here:
administrator/components/com_config/model/form/application.xml
(not ...models/forms/...)


Locked

Return to “Administration Joomla! 2.5”