Language filter problem

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 2.5.

Moderators: infograf768, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
User avatar
mibn
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 5:39 am
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Language filter problem

Post by mibn » Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:02 pm

Hi Joomlas.

I am in need of some help here. I am in the process of building af new 2.5 site for my live website which is still running 1.5.

I believe that I am having some problems with the Language filter plugin??

First of all I cannot load the frontpage at all. http://www.test.singletrack.dk It sends an: Internal Server Error or this error: Fatal error: Using $this when not in object context in root/libraries/joomla/plugin/plugin.php on line 105

If language filter is turned on I cannot load any pages on the site. But if I turn off Language filter plugin I can load http://www.test.singletrack.dk/network for instance but still not the frontpage??

Any suggestions?

Best regards Mike

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 27190
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: Language filter problem

Post by imanickam » Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:15 am

Are you building a multilingual site? If not, this plug-in should not be enabled.

As for as the error on the home page, I believe that the issue could be in the file .htaccess

Try to add a new menu item and make it as the default menu item. See what happens.
Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam | இளஞாயிறு மாணிக்கம்
Joomla! - Global Moderators Team | Translations Coordination Team | Tamil (தமிழ்) Translation Team

Eegan - Support the poor and underprivileged

User avatar
mibn
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 5:39 am
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Language filter problem

Post by mibn » Fri Nov 09, 2012 7:52 pm

Hi Imanickam.

Thanks for your kind reply.

what do you men by multilingual site? I have two languages installed for front end. The default english and my native language. Is this what you mean by multilingual??

I have just check with the .htaccess file. Uploaded a new htaccess.txt file and renamed it so the old .htaccess file is overwritten but did not help.

Made a new menu item similar to the old one and made the default page. Did not work. But strangely enough. If I made some of the other menu item the default ones it worked.

At the moment the default frontpage is set to the search component and it is working as you can see: www.test.singletrack.dk

Best regards Mike

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 27190
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: Language filter problem

Post by imanickam » Sat Nov 10, 2012 2:07 am

mibn wrote:what do you men by multilingual site? I have two languages installed for front end. The default english and my native language. Is this what you mean by multilingual??
Can anyone see your site in English if need be (without using Google translation or similar software)? If the answer is Yes then it is a multilingual site.

If your site is all Danish and no one can see it in English (witout using Goolge translation or similar software) then it is a mono-lingual site. For these sites, the Language Filter plug-in should not be enabled.

When you say frontpage, do you mean the "Featured Articles Layout" page? If not, what was the menu item type?

Try to create a menu item of the type "Category Blog Layout" and see what happens.
Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam | இளஞாயிறு மாணிக்கம்
Joomla! - Global Moderators Team | Translations Coordination Team | Tamil (தமிழ்) Translation Team

Eegan - Support the poor and underprivileged

User avatar
mibn
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 5:39 am
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Language filter problem

Post by mibn » Sun Nov 11, 2012 6:57 pm

It helped simply by changing the front page to Category blog layout. Before it was set to feature articles.

Can I ask you to visit http://test.singletrack.dk/network and tell me if you see the page in english. Your are on a non danish IP adress so it should show up in english since I have both english and danish language installed for the Jomsocial component.

Best regards Mike

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 25872
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Language filter problem

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sun Nov 11, 2012 9:22 pm

Enable the Language Status Administrator module. It will tell you what is missing in the language setup.

You have to have a category, menu, Default menu item for each language.

http://docs.joomla.org/Language_Switche ... Joomla_1.6

User avatar
mibn
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 5:39 am
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Language filter problem

Post by mibn » Mon Nov 12, 2012 6:39 pm

Hi Per.

Thanks for the tip. I will have a look at it.

Best regards Mike.

mrateb
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 10:47 am

Re: Language filter problem

Post by mrateb » Wed Apr 16, 2014 1:18 pm

I've had the same problem. When the plugin is enabled and I try to login on the front end everything crashes. When I turn it off everything works normally though.
Does anybody know why is this plugin that important anyways?

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 25872
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Language filter problem

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Wed Apr 16, 2014 1:54 pm

The Plugin is important for Multi-Language Sites. For Single Language Sites it must be off.

viviva_Wilawan
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 11:27 am
Contact:

Re: Language filter problem

Post by viviva_Wilawan » Mon Apr 28, 2014 11:34 am

oh thanks for a tip same problem with me.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18852
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Language filter problem

Post by infograf768 » Sat May 17, 2014 6:11 am

This topic is an older one which has been solved at the time and its title is vague.
Please create a new topic with details of your issue.

Locking this one.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group


Locked

Return to “Language - Joomla! 2.5”