Blank homepage on my Joomla

Discussion regarding Joomla! 1.5 Performance issues.
Locked
User avatar
Azmandius
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 3:25 pm
Location: Moldova, Chisinau
Contact:

Blank homepage on my Joomla

Post by Azmandius » Thu May 30, 2013 12:00 pm

Hello,
Did not do any changes or updates to my Joomla, and recently i noticed that my homepage is blank! Trying to access http://vitmaster.net76.net brings me to a blank page, with not a single line of code.

In control panel trying to access the Global Configuration section also gives a blank page.

configuration.php is fine
index.php is fine
mysql databases is fine

- Tried to turn on Joomla debug mode manually, no errors, just absolutely empty page.
- No any eror_log file in public_html
- Typical files like index.html are being rendered properly.
- After enabling php errors display, i get the:
Restricted access
message. Just that line on an empty white page.

Everything worked normally up to this point, and i haven't done changes, so i am a bit desperate, because as you could see i run out of ideas what could happen.

Could some more experienced user assist me to help identify the source of my problem?

Some System Information
PHP Built on: Linux srv14.[url banned].com 2.6.18-238.12.1.el5 #1 SMP Tue May 31 13:22:04 EDT 2011 x86_64
Database Version: 5.1.57
Database Collation: utf8_general_ci
PHP Version: 5.2.17
Web Server: Apache
Web Server to PHP interface: apache2handler
Joomla! Version: Joomla! 1.5.9 Production/Stable [ Vatani ] 9-January-2009 23:00 GMT

Thank you in advance.

Thank you!
AzBlog.me | Content & links worth checking.

snowfox2k
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 4:39 pm

Re: Blank homepage on my Joomla

Post by snowfox2k » Thu May 30, 2013 1:58 pm

have you activiated the display for showing php errors? if u dont have acess to that then make a local copy or use the php commands to do that (may be u cant overrule that cause of server settings)

User avatar
Azmandius
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 3:25 pm
Location: Moldova, Chisinau
Contact:

Re: Blank homepage on my Joomla

Post by Azmandius » Thu May 30, 2013 2:37 pm

Do you mean to include this lines into htaccess.
php_value display_errors 1
php_value display_startup_errors 1

Or this line into index.php
error_reporting(E_ALL);
ini_set("display_errors", 1);

By the way, there is a line
defined( '_JEXEC' ) or die( 'Restricted access' );
in the index.php of my template, probably that's why I'm getting the
Restricted access
error on homepage. Is that any helpful?

Thanks.
AzBlog.me | Content & links worth checking.

snowfox2k
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 4:39 pm

Re: Blank homepage on my Joomla

Post by snowfox2k » Thu May 30, 2013 2:51 pm

ah! yes thats helpful. looks like the constant _JEXEC is not defined. may be your index.php file (not the template index.php, i mean the main index.php) is corrupt. normaly the first lines of the index.php in joomla 3 looks like that:

/**
* @package Joomla.Site
*
* @copyright Copyright (C) 2005 - 2013 Open Source Matters, Inc. All rights reserved.
* @license GNU General Public License version 2 or later; see LICENSE.txt
*/

if (version_compare(PHP_VERSION, '5.3.1', '<'))
{
die('Your host needs to use PHP 5.3.1 or higher to run this version of Joomla!');
}

/**
* Constant that is checked in included files to prevent direct access.
* define() is used in the installation folder rather than "const" to not error for PHP 5.2 and lower
*/
define('_JEXEC', 1);


as you can see in the line where "define('_JEXEC', 1);" appears the constant will be defined. pls check this in your "main" index.php file

User avatar
Azmandius
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 3:25 pm
Location: Moldova, Chisinau
Contact:

Re: Blank homepage on my Joomla

Post by Azmandius » Thu May 30, 2013 4:03 pm

This is the code of main (not template) index.php:

Code: Select all

<?php
error_reporting(E_ALL);
ini_set("display_errors", 1)
/**
* @version		$Id: index.php 11407 2009-01-09 17:23:42Z willebil $
* @package		Joomla
* @copyright	Copyright (C) 2005 - 2009 Open Source Matters. All rights reserved.
* @license		GNU/GPL, see LICENSE.php
* Joomla! is free software. This version may have been modified pursuant
* to the GNU General Public License, and as distributed it includes or
* is derivative of works licensed under the GNU General Public License or
* other free or open source software licenses.
* See COPYRIGHT.php for copyright notices and details.
*/

// Set flag that this is a parent file
define( '_JEXEC', 1 );

define('JPATH_BASE', dirname(__FILE__) );

define( 'DS', DIRECTORY_SEPARATOR );

require_once ( JPATH_BASE .DS.'includes'.DS.'defines.php' );
require_once ( JPATH_BASE .DS.'includes'.DS.'framework.php' );

JDEBUG ? $_PROFILER->mark( 'afterLoad' ) : null;

/**
 * CREATE THE APPLICATION
 *
 * NOTE :
 */
$mainframe =& JFactory::getApplication('site');

/**
 * INITIALISE THE APPLICATION
 *
 * NOTE :
 */
// set the language
$mainframe->initialise();

JPluginHelper::importPlugin('system');

// trigger the onAfterInitialise events
JDEBUG ? $_PROFILER->mark('afterInitialise') : null;
$mainframe->triggerEvent('onAfterInitialise');

/**
 * ROUTE THE APPLICATION
 *
 * NOTE :
 */
$mainframe->route();

// authorization
$Itemid = JRequest::getInt( 'Itemid');
$mainframe->authorize($Itemid);

// trigger the onAfterRoute events
JDEBUG ? $_PROFILER->mark('afterRoute') : null;
$mainframe->triggerEvent('onAfterRoute');

/**
 * DISPATCH THE APPLICATION
 *
 * NOTE :
 */
$option = JRequest::getCmd('option');
$mainframe->dispatch($option);

// trigger the onAfterDispatch events
JDEBUG ? $_PROFILER->mark('afterDispatch') : null;
$mainframe->triggerEvent('onAfterDispatch');

/**
 * RENDER  THE APPLICATION
 *
 * NOTE :
 */
$mainframe->render();

// trigger the onAfterRender events
JDEBUG ? $_PROFILER->mark('afterRender') : null;
$mainframe->triggerEvent('onAfterRender');

/**
 * RETURN THE RESPONSE
 */
echo JResponse::toString($mainframe->getCfg('gzip'));
If that's helpful.

Looks like i finally could get some php error displayed:
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_STRING in /.../.../public_html/index.php on line 17
Does that say something?
Thank you.
AzBlog.me | Content & links worth checking.

snowfox2k
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 4:39 pm

Re: Blank homepage on my Joomla

Post by snowfox2k » Thu May 30, 2013 11:25 pm

you get the error because u ve forgot the semicolon in the line

"ini_set("display_errors", 1)"


try to change the template to isolate the problem. if that dont change anything then try a local copy. why? because sometimes u cant overrule the server settings even u wrote the php commands.

guanioramon
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Blank homepage on my Joomla

Post by guanioramon » Fri May 31, 2013 4:16 am

Sometime it happen due to php version as well.
first put semicolon then put the site like this
http://vitmaster.net76.net/index.php?tmpl=component
if the page will work then its your template problem

User avatar
Azmandius
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 3:25 pm
Location: Moldova, Chisinau
Contact:

Re: Blank homepage on my Joomla

Post by Azmandius » Fri May 31, 2013 8:24 am

Thank you for replies.
I added the semicolon and now no error, the clean white page is back.
Don't think its about template problem. I have tried a default template and it's the same.

By the way i have two Joomla 1.5 sites on the same hosting account, and both sites have this issue, so i am thinking this is about some server limitation that has been set recently, just can't understand which exactly. I run out of ideas trying to identify it.
AzBlog.me | Content & links worth checking.

guanioramon
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Blank homepage on my Joomla

Post by guanioramon » Fri May 31, 2013 5:24 pm

in this case you need to check your plugins,
disable unnecessary plugins

User avatar
Azmandius
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 3:25 pm
Location: Moldova, Chisinau
Contact:

Re: Blank homepage on my Joomla

Post by Azmandius » Fri May 31, 2013 7:12 pm

Well, my Joomla comes with default set of plugins, other than that i did not install anything.
AzBlog.me | Content & links worth checking.

guanioramon
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Blank homepage on my Joomla

Post by guanioramon » Sat Jun 01, 2013 4:46 pm

@Azmandius,
site is working now.
what kind of miracle is that one?
Dont expect to much dont expect to less

User avatar
Azmandius
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 3:25 pm
Location: Moldova, Chisinau
Contact:

Re: Blank homepage on my Joomla

Post by Azmandius » Sun Jun 02, 2013 5:55 am

It's rather a luck, i succeeded in getting my hands on a backup of site files, replaced all and here we go. Yet i lost lots of site updates that now need to be redone.
:)

Thanks a lot everyone for trying to help me.
AzBlog.me | Content & links worth checking.

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 27543
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Romerike, Norway

Re: Blank homepage on my Joomla

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sun Jun 02, 2013 11:38 am

Why have you not updated to 1.5.26? Do so ASAP.

User avatar
Azmandius
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 3:25 pm
Location: Moldova, Chisinau
Contact:

Re: Blank homepage on my Joomla

Post by Azmandius » Sun Jun 02, 2013 3:38 pm

I will, thanks.
AzBlog.me | Content & links worth checking.


Locked

Return to “Performance - Joomla! 1.5”