New menu item appends "Links/Categories" to url and gets 404

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 2.5.

Moderators: infograf768, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
dana9marie
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 9:10 am

New menu item appends "Links/Categories" to url and gets 404

Post by dana9marie » Wed Aug 14, 2013 6:44 am

Hi there,

I have a site set up in two languages thanks to the multi language function in 2.5.

I am running 2.5.6.

Everything is working great except that I noticed that if I try to add a new menu item to either the english or spanish menu, when I click on it, instead of going to ex: index.php/contact

it adds "/Links/Categories/" to the url so it looks like this:

index.php/Links/Categories/contact

and consequently shows 404 - Category Not Found

Anyone know what I've done wrong? I have tried this with several different types of menu items such as single article, category/blog, contact link, etc, it all does the same thing. I can not add a new link.

Help? Thanks.

Dana-Marie

dana9marie
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 9:10 am

Re: New menu item appends "Links/Categories" to url and gets

Post by dana9marie » Thu Aug 29, 2013 7:57 pm

Can't anyone help?

dana9marie
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 9:10 am

Re: New menu item appends "Links/Categories" to url and gets

Post by dana9marie » Mon Sep 16, 2013 2:24 am

Okay, I was just going though the Plugin Manager and I noticed that the "System - SEF" had that little lock next to it. I clicked it to "Check in". A few minutes later I was testing my test links and suddenly all the links were working! WTF, I've been stuck with this problem for over a month and NOW it's suddenly working?

I am not crazy. But I think this Plugin being in the "checked out" state may be what was wrong. If that is the case, this needs to be documented somehow. If you've found this post because you had the same problem and then you subsequently solve that problem with this same fix mentioned here, please reply so that I can forever know that I was not crazy. And then perhaps the moderators and these lovely Joomla coder folks can look into it. Thanks.

Dana-Marie

dana9marie
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 9:10 am

Re: New menu item appends "Links/Categories" to url and gets

Post by dana9marie » Mon Sep 16, 2013 5:36 am

I've just done some fiddling around and determined what it was that ACTUALLY fixed my menu item. Somehow trashing and restoring the menu item is what fixed it.

To test this, I just created a new menu item, which naturally didn't work and was broken in the same way as before (ie had "Links/Categoies" in the url and went to a 404 page). Then I restored it, and it suddenly had the url it was supposed to have (without the "/Links/Categories/").

I'll add that when I tried to restore it from the trash from the list of menu items, it said "Cannot change the published state when the parent menu item is of a lesser state." so instead I opened the menu item and then I was able to change the state to Published and save it. When I refreshed my page, the menu item appeared first on the menu (it had moved to the top of the menu) and it worked perfectly. I then reordered it and was good to go.

I suppose for now I can just trash every new menu item I create and go in and republish it, but really, there should be a proper fix for this problem. Anyway, thought I'd share in case it can help some other poor soul in the future.

Dana-Marie

User avatar
linkedla
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 3:05 am
Location: Miami, USA
Contact:

Re: New menu item appends "Links/Categories" to url and gets

Post by linkedla » Tue May 06, 2014 3:30 am

I had the same problem, i had to go by PHPMyAdmin and manually remove the Categories/ part form the menu and it work, the problem is if some one else create a new menu this will not work.
My site is a J! 2.5.20 upgraded form 1.5.26 with JUpgrade.
Any help in the way t fix this will be appreciated very much.
Many thanks.
Jose
Jose Antonio Suarez.
Graphic Designer

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 25878
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: New menu item appends "Links/Categories" to url and gets

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Tue May 06, 2014 5:18 am

1. Update to 2.5.20

2. There is a Rebuild button in Menu Manager.

User avatar
linkedla
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 3:05 am
Location: Miami, USA
Contact:

Re: New menu item appends "Links/Categories" to url and gets

Post by linkedla » Tue May 06, 2014 5:28 am

Per Yngve Berg wrote:1. Update to 2.5.20

2. There is a Rebuild button in Menu Manager.
I did try this, did not work :(
Jose Antonio Suarez.
Graphic Designer


Locked

Return to “Language - Joomla! 2.5”