3.5 upgrade error

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 3.x?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Locked
libby
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 1:01 pm

3.5 upgrade error

Post by libby » Tue Mar 22, 2016 2:54 pm

Hi
I get the following error when updating from 3.48 to 3.5
Warning: ini_set(): A session is active. You cannot change the session module's ini settings at this time in /usr/www/users/XXX/libraries/joomla/session/handler/joomla.php on line 45 Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /usr/www/users/XXX/libraries/joomla/session/handler/joomla.php:45) in /usr/www/users/XXX/libraries/joomla/session/handler/joomla.php on line 105 Error displaying the error page: Application Instantiation Error: Failed to start the session because headers have already been sent by "/usr/www/users/XXX/libraries/joomla/session/handler/joomla.php" at line 45.

Error is now on both back and front ends.

Any advice?

 
dave600
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:02 pm

Re: 3.5 upgrade error

Post by dave600 » Tue Mar 22, 2016 3:07 pm

I've had a similar problem before, involving sessions. A repair of the database in phpmyadmin did the trick.

libby
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 1:01 pm

Re: 3.5 upgrade error

Post by libby » Tue Mar 22, 2016 3:24 pm

Hi Dave,
Thanks for your response.
What did you do? I selected all the tables and selected 'repair table' but this made no difference.

dave600
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:02 pm

Re: 3.5 upgrade error

Post by dave600 » Tue Mar 22, 2016 3:38 pm

That was it, I'm afraid. You could also try deleting all the entries in the xxxx_session table. Take a backup of the database first, obviously, I'm no Joomla expert.

libby
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 1:01 pm

Re: 3.5 upgrade error

Post by libby » Wed Mar 23, 2016 1:02 pm

I am having the same issue on another site.

Warning: ini_set(): A session is active. You cannot change the session module's ini settings at this time in ... - headers already sent by (output started at /usr/www/users/XXX/libraries/joomla/session/handler/joomla.php:45) in /usr/www/users/XXX/libraries/joomla/session/handler/joomla.php on line 105 Error displaying the error page: Application Instantiation Error: Failed to start the session because headers have already been sent by "/usr/www/users/XXX/libraries/joomla/session/handler/joomla.php" at line 45.

coliberek
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 12:12 am

Re: 3.5 upgrade error

Post by coliberek » Sun Mar 27, 2016 1:26 pm

Hi guys,

I have exactly the same error. Did you solve it somehow?
It is my 3rd approach to update my website but all the time I am getting errors.
Now I updated manually by the ftp but anyway I am getting error in frontend and in backend:

Warning: ini_set(): A session is active. You cannot change the session module's ini settings at this time in /var/www/vhosts/40/146876/webspace/httpdocs/oceannnew/libraries/joomla/session/handler/joomla.php on line 45

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /var/www/vhosts/40/146876/webspace/httpdocs/oceannnew/libraries/joomla/session/handler/joomla.php:45) in /var/www/vhosts/40/146876/webspace/httpdocs/oceannnew/libraries/joomla/session/handler/joomla.php on line 105

Error displaying the error page: Application Instantiation Error: Failed to start the session because headers have already been sent by "/var/www/vhosts/40/146876/webspace/httpdocs/oceannnew/libraries/joomla/session/handler/joomla.php" at line 45.

nzampella
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:55 am

Re: 3.5 upgrade error

Post by nzampella » Mon Apr 04, 2016 11:22 am

The fix is easy:

1. Enter your Joomla site's backend
2. Select from the admin menu: Extensions -> Manage -> Database
3. Click on the FIX button. You may find that some other updates need to be done to bring the database up to 3.5.
4. Head to Global Configuration, and turn the site 'off' before this next step to discourage any users for a while.
5. Then, as mentioned above, head to phpMyAdmin and delete all the entries in the xxxxx_sessions table.
6. Head to the backend and turn the site back on.

opus2016
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 3:45 pm

Re: 3.5 upgrade error

Post by opus2016 » Tue Apr 26, 2016 3:49 pm

Same problem here which we traced to after upgrade to 3.5.0. Tried to repair database, deleted all sessions, verified session auto start was off, problem remains. Upgrade to 3.5.1 made no difference. Fixed the problem by commenting out the line that caused the warning, line 45 of /libraries/joomla/session/handler/joomla.php:

ini_set('session.use_trans_sid','0');

User avatar
glen_sflm
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 6:33 pm
Location: Woodstock, CT
Contact:

Re: 3.5 upgrade error

Post by glen_sflm » Thu Aug 04, 2016 3:25 am

I commented that line out and it didn't come back. Did I do something wrong here?
/* ini_set('session.use_trans_sid', '0'); */
Glen Peladeau
Eccentric Musician Company
1 Norwood Ct Suite 6
N. Oxford, MA 01537

User avatar
Josh Lewis
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 528
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:12 pm
Location: Lynnwood,WA
Contact:

Re: 3.5 upgrade error

Post by Josh Lewis » Fri Sep 02, 2016 10:04 pm

I received a similar error:

Warning: array_key_exists() expects parameter 2 to be array, null given in /home/xxxxxx/public_html/libraries/cms.php on line 59
Error displaying the error page: Application Instantiation Error: Failed to start the session because headers have already been sent by "/home/xxxxxx/public_html/libraries/cms.php" at line 59.

The issue I mention appears to be related to PHP 7.0.10. The issue vanished when I swapped to PHP 5.6.25. The problem for me is that I want to use PHP7. Can anyone else confirm this? Fixing DB tables as well as Joomla's DB fix tool did nothing for the problem.

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9560
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: 3.5 upgrade error

Post by sozzled » Fri Sep 02, 2016 10:20 pm

FWIW, what does line 59 of ../libraries/cms.php say? There's probably a function call in that line, for which the second parameter is expected to be an array and, in your case, null was used instead.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

User avatar
Josh Lewis
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 528
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:12 pm
Location: Lynnwood,WA
Contact:

Re: 3.5 upgrade error

Post by Josh Lewis » Fri Sep 02, 2016 11:10 pm

According to Michael Babker the server isn't setting up the $_SERVER variable correctly. Not sure if it's something on my end or SiteGround's. Will have to investigate this.

User avatar
uaintgotthisid
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 361
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 6:05 pm
Location: Essex, England, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: 3.5 upgrade error

Post by uaintgotthisid » Wed Jul 19, 2017 11:49 am

I have the same issue. Repair/Optimise the table didn't work and I can't login to the back end.
Joomla lover, web designer, marketeer
https://www.squareballoon.co.uk
JOIN US at Joomla! User Group London
https://www.joomlalondon.co.uk

User avatar
uaintgotthisid
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 361
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 6:05 pm
Location: Essex, England, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: 3.5 upgrade error

Post by uaintgotthisid » Tue Aug 08, 2017 3:47 pm

It's happened again. I was just using my administration and I didn't to particularly much and now I have this error. I haven't installed anything, I'm struggling to think what I could have done to cause this.
Joomla lover, web designer, marketeer
https://www.squareballoon.co.uk
JOIN US at Joomla! User Group London
https://www.joomlalondon.co.uk

User avatar
uaintgotthisid
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 361
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 6:05 pm
Location: Essex, England, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: 3.5 upgrade error

Post by uaintgotthisid » Tue Aug 08, 2017 3:50 pm

Removing .htaccess fixed it for me! Must have just saved a new one via admin tools. I think it's because I added the rule:

Code: Select all

AddHandler application/x-httpd-php71 .php
Putting a # before it seems to have resolved the issue.

Siteground adds this

Code: Select all

AddHandler application/x-httpd-php71 .php .php5 .php4 .php3
If I use their PHP version manager. But adding this to the bottom of the .htaccess file via Admin Tools causes an issue still.
Joomla lover, web designer, marketeer
https://www.squareballoon.co.uk
JOIN US at Joomla! User Group London
https://www.joomlalondon.co.uk

User avatar
Josh Lewis
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 528
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:12 pm
Location: Lynnwood,WA
Contact:

Re: 3.5 upgrade error

Post by Josh Lewis » Tue Aug 08, 2017 4:25 pm

uaintgotthisid wrote:Removing .htaccess fixed it for me! Must have just saved a new one via admin tools. I think it's because I added the rule:

Code: Select all

AddHandler application/x-httpd-php71 .php
But we want PHP7. Double the speed for page load is very important for many of us.

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 20221
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: 3.5 upgrade error

Post by leolam » Wed Aug 09, 2017 4:45 am

Josh, Do not add the handler by yourself. Follow this https://www.siteground.com/blog/php-7-1-available (bottom part)

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Services Provider:
#Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
#Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
#Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

User avatar
uaintgotthisid
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 361
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 6:05 pm
Location: Essex, England, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: 3.5 upgrade error

Post by uaintgotthisid » Wed Aug 09, 2017 9:38 am

Josh Lewis wrote:
uaintgotthisid wrote:Removing .htaccess fixed it for me! Must have just saved a new one via admin tools. I think it's because I added the rule:

Code: Select all

AddHandler application/x-httpd-php71 .php
But we want PHP7. Double the speed for page load is very important for many of us.
I agree. I found the issue was specifically with php7.1 for me (Siteground). I downgraded to 7.0.14 and it worked.

Here's the rule I used

Code: Select all

AddHandler application/x-httpd-php70 .php .php5 .php4 .php3
I added it to Admin Tools .htaccess maker in the part that is "Custom .htaccess rules at the bottom of the file".

Hope that helps.
Joomla lover, web designer, marketeer
https://www.squareballoon.co.uk
JOIN US at Joomla! User Group London
https://www.joomlalondon.co.uk

 

Locked

Return to “Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 3.x”