Looking for my database port

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.
Locked
Doc Sheldon
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 1:49 am

Looking for my database port

Post by Doc Sheldon » Sat Sep 17, 2016 2:00 am

Hello- I purchased a site which is running Joomla 1.5.25, and I'm in the process of trying to migrate it to WordPress, using the FG Joomla to WordPress plugin. I've hit a pothole, trying to identify the database port. The default is normally 3306, but that isn't what it's set to. I checked the configuration.php file and it provides everything BUT the port.
I have super-admin access to the backend... Can someone tell me if there's someplace I can find the assigned port number?

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 27593
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: Looking for my database port

Post by imanickam » Sat Sep 17, 2016 1:25 pm

Joomla does not control the ports used for the web server, database, and so forth. It uses whatever has been already defined/specified in the operating system.

Generally, the ports are defined/specified in the file named services and its locations are as mentioned below.

Linux and UNIX operating systems
/etc/services

Windows operating systems
%SystemRoot%\system32\drivers\etc\services


Similarly the host names are defined in the file named hosts.

Hope this helps.
Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam | இளஞாயிறு மாணிக்கம்
Joomla! - Global Moderators Team | Translations Coordination Team | Tamil (தமிழ்) Translation Team

Eegan - Support the poor and underprivileged

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 27536
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Romerike, Norway

Re: Looking for my database port

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sat Sep 17, 2016 1:31 pm

You can look in configuration.php for the connection details.

Doc Sheldon
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 1:49 am

Re: Looking for my database port

Post by Doc Sheldon » Sat Sep 17, 2016 7:01 pm

Thanks for the reply, Ynvge-

I looked in the configuration.php file. It tells me the mysql db filename, prefix, username and password, but not the port number. Perhaps that's because it's an old version - 1.5.25


Locked

Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 1.5”