Multilanguage joomla problem

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 3.x.

Moderators: infograf768, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Post Reply
calypso_man
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 1:27 pm

Multilanguage joomla problem

Post by calypso_man » Thu Apr 11, 2019 1:38 pm

Hi,
I create a several website using multilanguage system in joomla.
All website work fine, except one website.

I'll explain what I did, and what is the problem:

I install language: German, Italian and English is installed.
I create 4 menu: Main menu - that is defoult for all language - marked with yellow star
German menu - with defoult item - marked with greman flag
English menu - with defoult item - marked with english flag
Italian menu - with defoult item - marked with italian flag

All menus have created template and all templates was assigned to correct menu.
Everything works fine. But problem is showing in google result.

Google show 4 hompages:
www.mysite.com
www.mysite.com/en/
www.mysite.com/de/
www.mysite.com/it/

If I click on the "www.mysite.com" then system immediately redirect on "www.mysite.com/en/". English language is set for defoult site language.

My question is; whay google see this link: www.mysite.com, How to fix that. Is that a problem?
On my other multilingual websites I dont have this problem.
Whay is 4 hompage in joomla, if I have only 3. Whay google see this link. www.mysite.com - that is menu basic in joomla marked with yellow star on multilanguage site.

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 26021
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Multilanguage joomla problem

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Thu Apr 11, 2019 2:24 pm

Mod. Note: Relocated the topic to the Language Forum.

In the options of Language Filter Plugin, you can set the default language to not show the language code.


Post Reply

Return to “Language - Joomla! 3.x”