Turn Module Into Iframe Topic is solved

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! 3.x.

Moderators: pe7er, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Post Reply
jhf3488
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 8:04 pm

Turn Module Into Iframe

Post by jhf3488 » Thu Feb 06, 2020 11:23 pm

I need to display a module from one Joomla site onto several other Joomla sites.

I hoped to do this by getting the module onto a page without any other template or menu. I know that I can acheieve this by including ?tmpl=component in the URL, but as you navigate to the next folder in the frame, the ?tmpl=component string goes away and the full page loads.

Is there a way to apply ?tmpl=component to the end of the URL for a menu item? or is there another way to make this work?

 
User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 38459
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Turn Module Into Iframe

Post by Webdongle » Fri Feb 07, 2020 1:15 am

Menu item type System links >>> url ... just put the relative path.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

jhf3488
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 8:04 pm

Re: Turn Module Into Iframe

Post by jhf3488 » Fri Feb 07, 2020 3:13 am

Webdongle wrote:
Fri Feb 07, 2020 1:15 am
Menu item type System links >>> url ... just put the relative path.
I'm not sure if I understand this.

I want to isolate the module by itself on site A to turn it into an iframe to put on site B. It is dozens of document folders and thousands of individual documents. I can get the root folder to show up correctly here: https://lambertvillenj.org/mcarchives?tmpl=component

but when you open one of the sub folders, it loads the entire page. I need it to load just the module even when the folders are opened.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 38459
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Turn Module Into Iframe

Post by Webdongle » Fri Feb 07, 2020 9:39 am

You asked
jhf3488 wrote:
Thu Feb 06, 2020 11:23 pm
...
Is there a way to apply ?tmpl=component to the end of the URL for a menu item?...
The answer is Menu item type System links >>> url ... just put the relative path.

The link you gave has hyperlink on images. The easiest way is ti create a Template that just has a Component area and no module Positions.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 20042
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Turn Module Into Iframe

Post by leolam » Fri Feb 07, 2020 10:01 am

An iframe is always a link that loads a page and not an individual module. In Joomla default you cannot load a single module from Site "A" into Site "B"

So you might use this https://extensions.joomla.org/extension ... component/ perhaps and load that link in the iframe (use Modules Anywhere from Regularlabs to add the module)

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Services Provider:
-> Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
-> Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
-> Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

jhf3488
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 8:04 pm

Re: Turn Module Into Iframe

Post by jhf3488 » Fri Feb 07, 2020 4:32 pm

Webdongle wrote:
Fri Feb 07, 2020 9:39 am
You asked
jhf3488 wrote:
Thu Feb 06, 2020 11:23 pm
...
Is there a way to apply ?tmpl=component to the end of the URL for a menu item?...
The answer is Menu item type System links >>> url ... just put the relative path.

The link you gave has hyperlink on images. The easiest way is ti create a Template that just has a Component area and no module Positions.
That worked perfectly. Assigning the module to a COMPLETELY blank template.

 

Post Reply

Return to “Extensions for Joomla! 3.x”