The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out! Topic is solved

Discuss the development and implementation of Joomla! modules here.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
dudaah
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 8:23 pm

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by dudaah » Fri Mar 31, 2006 3:39 pm

Haribo85-> so you mean the spacing between the text and the |? If so it's still a padding thing. That's the only thing I can think about? Ok you have a padding setting in the module edit view as wellinside admin. You also havethis in the js file:

Code: Select all

TransMenu.menuPadding = 0;
TransMenu.itemPadding = 3; 


I'm not completely sure what does what though as I haven't really played with it. And I'm still not sure what exactly you are trying to do so I'll go and have a nap now and let the creators answer you instead as they are probably helping you better than a confused Swede. ;)

MikeRz
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 2:55 pm

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by MikeRz » Fri Mar 31, 2006 3:41 pm

Well I see that this template must be designed to work with Joomla and not Mambo.  I installed Joomla and I don't get any errors.  Guess I'll be using Joomla!

Mike

dudaah
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 8:23 pm

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by dudaah » Fri Mar 31, 2006 3:43 pm

MikeRz-> There you go. I didn't get why you posted a Mambo question in a Joomla forum anyway? ;) Mambo is the old and Joomla is the future!?!

Haribo85
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 306
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by Haribo85 » Fri Mar 31, 2006 5:47 pm

I have edited my image to try and show you better!!!!  :-[
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Please visit our site for any Joomla! related hosting/design needs you may have. Also other IT Support including Web 2.0, Technology Reports, Email Hosting, Forum Hosting.

http://www.bitservices.co.uk

dudaah
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 8:23 pm

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by dudaah » Fri Mar 31, 2006 6:38 pm

Haribo85-> Man ok... It depends a bit on how you place your menu in the template? If it's in a div tag, align it left or lower the left: Xpx; if you have absolute placement. If it's a table align it left. It's really hard to answer you without seeing the code behind it???

Duelmonster.org
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 4:57 am

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by Duelmonster.org » Fri Mar 31, 2006 10:54 pm

m23 wrote: Yes, that is working. I thought you had one on the top menu.

And they are two shades of orange. So apparently it's working out now?
No, in IE its only white.

sirsonic
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 9:33 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Contact:

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by sirsonic » Wed Apr 12, 2006 9:35 pm

I have used this menu for other sites; however, I would like to know if there is a way to use images on the mainlevel instead of text.  I have read that there are ways to use placeholders or something. 

Basically I would like to have my menu look like http://www.waterandstone.com.&nbsp; Anyone have any ideas?
www.sonictech.ca - Joomla! CMS dotProject SugarCRM and osCommerce Development Vancouver BC Canada

jfernand
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 7:01 pm

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by jfernand » Wed Apr 19, 2006 7:34 pm

I am building a XHTML (Transitional) and CSS valid template using ja_transmenu.

There are some minor problems easy to solve like the lack of quotes in some tables properties or the final "/" in some elements. However, the problem i'm worried about is that transmenu include the link to its CSS file in the body of my template; this is not allowed by the XHTML Transitional DOCTYPE.

My question is: can I comment that line in order to include the link to the CSS file in the head section of the template? This will solve my problem; however, I will have problems if someone decide to change the menu presentation from vertical to horizontal and that person is not aware about to change the link in the template. Is it possible to include the link from the php transmenu code in the head of the template, may be creating a javascript code?

TIA,
Juan Pablo

mtk
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 856
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 10:55 pm
Location: Israel
Contact:

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by mtk » Wed Apr 19, 2006 7:37 pm

Joining your request for a valid code of this module...
"In a world without walls and fences,
who needs Windows & Gates?"

http://www.smartmtk.com | http://www.lighthost.co.il/webhosting-for-joomla

jfernand
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 7:01 pm

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by jfernand » Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:31 am

sunsetonline wrote: I posted this on the joomlart.com page for TM 2.0, but thought I'd post it here as well in case anyone can benefit from it. 

Here are a couple of tweaks I made in order to get more valid XHTML in transmenu.php:

Line 18: add self-closing / to the tag

Lines 30,42: add quotes to table parameters (e.g., cellpadding="0")

I'd love to see the developer implement these minor changes in the next version.
Following the same  idea I changed in transmenu.php:

Lines 19, 53:  add attribute type to the script element:  type="text/javascript"

and in jamenu.php:

Line 104: The problem with this line is that the h1 tag is a block-element while its container the a tag is an inline-element. The solution was invert the order of the elements, the final result:

Code: Select all

<h1><a href="http://www.joomlart.com">Transmenu powered by JoomlArt.com - Mambo Joomla Professional Templates Club</a></h1>
This code does not affect the presentation because it is inside a hidden div.

mreine
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 5:28 am

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by mreine » Tue May 09, 2006 12:02 am

download for transmenu 2.0 seems to be broken.  Any one got an alternate place to download it?

http://www.joomlart.com/downloads/cat/m ... smenu.html

gives error when trying to download.

Thanks everyone.

someone can email it to:  merle.reine at gmail.com

sunsetonline
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 5:14 pm

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by sunsetonline » Tue May 09, 2006 2:11 pm

Zip file is attached to this post.  As far as I know, it's the most up-to-date version joomlart has released, but it's been a while since I checked.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

mreine
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 5:28 am

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by mreine » Tue May 09, 2006 4:50 pm

Thank you.  It is very much appreciated.

Care to volunteer to help me get it working  ???

bwphoto
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 4:05 am

Re: safari + Transmenu 2.0

Post by bwphoto » Wed May 24, 2006 4:36 am

Hi I'm a noob to the site (and also Joomla)  :-*

Looking for an update on Transmenu (actually JA Altair) and Safari problem reported here.
Though I had everything working fine till my mac users reported problems: with Safari the grandchild menu items do not display; in addition clicking on content items instructed the user to log on even though the item is set to PUBLIC access.
With IE on mac - menus are completely transparant (and with white type - unreadable)
major showstopper!!!  :( so in the meantime I've had to switch back to solarflare.
btw this is pretty much a vanilla installation.

brent w
rainerk wrote:
nielsg wrote: hi there all

The singel submenu drop down works fine in Safari (ydwy.org), but the first site, gowanifamily doesn't work as it should. The second submenu that should pop up doesn't show, the fist one does...

Anywayzz, i have some problems getting the dropdown menu to work myself.
if i look in my source code i get this result...
I've got the same problem. I don't get an error, but in my IE there are no Submenus (I use the vertical mode). I found this hint, but don't know what to do:
TRANSMENU HORIZONTAL NOT EXPANDING IN INTERNET EXPLORER (IE) BUT IN FIREFOX IT DOES:

SOlution: I had to play around for a couple of hours but then I found the reason why TRANSMENU was not expanding in Internet Explorer.

I put out every ""ALIGN"" HTML Command of my table-data, behind the "

mstachow
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 7:46 pm

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by mstachow » Wed May 31, 2006 7:48 pm

The issue I have is the submenus are hidden behind the header image only in IE.  In Firefox the submenus appear in front of the header image as it should.

Any ideas on making this work in IE?  Also,  i'm using the Water and Stone template.

User avatar
g3p0
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX
Contact:

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by g3p0 » Wed Jun 07, 2006 2:21 pm

Looks great, can't wait to work on it!

But that Arcturus Trans template is a pretty poor rip on the old PixelPusher design.

**edit**
Is there a version of this that acts like the mooFX accordion? That is really what I am after...

Plus, Safari renders the slide quite poorly. The submenu box appears and then the text slides into it instead of the whole menu sliding in.
Last edited by g3p0 on Wed Jun 07, 2006 2:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tao2r
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 7:16 pm

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by tao2r » Thu Jun 22, 2006 7:18 pm

Greetings!

Transmenu has unlimited Menu Levels - that's great.

BUT

tao2r
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 7:16 pm

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by tao2r » Thu Jun 22, 2006 7:19 pm

Greetings!

Transmenu has unlimited Menu Levels - that's great.

BUT how do I limit the dropdowns to only one level.

Does anyone know? 

herb200mph
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3211
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Salisbury, NC/USA (N. of Charlotte)
Contact:

HOW ABOUT AN ENHANCEMENT????

Post by herb200mph » Thu Jul 06, 2006 4:05 pm

Can someone develop an "enhancement" to the menu to do this...

Using an image background for the button...and
there is a word on the button location indicating the navigation location...and
when the current view button is visible (a.mainlevel_active-trans:hover)...and
when the user does a mouse-over on the current view button...then
blank or make invisible the default text for the mouse-over state only...
Which would allow a graphic background saying: CURRENT LOCATION to display.

Not sure where or how to implement the coding for this feature.

I'd be interested in implementing the code on a website under development.

HERB
http://www.200mphMedia.net
Author: Joomla! 3: Boot Camp book @ Amazon.com

TMarie
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 8:36 pm

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by TMarie » Mon Jul 10, 2006 4:00 pm

Call it a crazy monday, but everything I edit in the CSS fails to edit the color scheme for the main menu.. it only changes the submenu... where can there be edited..

here is my site:
http://www.glidersanonymous.com/joomla

i am toying with the sub menu in a different position.. but have had no luck with where the colors for the first level are specified in the css

herb200mph
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3211
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Salisbury, NC/USA (N. of Charlotte)
Contact:

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by herb200mph » Mon Jul 10, 2006 4:05 pm

HI.  Thanks for responding.  I solved the problem.

First, I created a button image with the "Current Location >" text as part of the graphic.

Then, I CSS'd the button to use that image during 'mouseover' actions.

Then....here's the tricky part, I shifted the default button text to a -100px position.

That pushed it clean off the menu and the location graphic comes up just fine.

The 'up' position still displays the button name/text.  Then 'mouseover' shifts the text out of view and the below graphic shows thru!!!

I'm pleased with the result.

HERB
http://www.200mphMedia.net
Author: Joomla! 3: Boot Camp book @ Amazon.com

turalo
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 5:27 pm

Help with the transe menu

Post by turalo » Sat Jul 22, 2006 9:43 am

I have installed the transe menu and it works but!
1: the submenues are not dropping down where they should be, like when I'm at the button than it has to drop down somwhere under the button right? well on my site they appear at the end of the transe menu the right side.
2: The submenus are not completly in site, so for example I have 2 submenus, but I see only 1 the other one is falling under the background of main body. 
3: the menu itself is not positioned good, its to high on the place. it has to be lover maybe 5 px.\

can sombody help me solving this problem please.

Haribo85
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 306
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by Haribo85 » Wed Jul 26, 2006 2:13 pm

I am also having problems. In firefox the menu works fine.

In IE i am hovered over about us in my attatched jpeg, but the menu appears under the next item, even though it is set to down and bottom left.

Please can someone help.

Thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Please visit our site for any Joomla! related hosting/design needs you may have. Also other IT Support including Web 2.0, Technology Reports, Email Hosting, Forum Hosting.

http://www.bitservices.co.uk

turalo
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 5:27 pm

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by turalo » Wed Jul 26, 2006 2:51 pm

Very crazy , this trance menu tooke more than 3 days now I'v got it beter working, but still not what I need, even people from joomlart.com cant help me still, I had to buy membership but still nothing, very stupid. I think this person who made it wase drunk when he made it :D cause why make something what is not working correct in most of times.

User avatar
Jenny
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 6238
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 2:25 pm
Contact:

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by Jenny » Wed Jul 26, 2006 2:57 pm

Moving this thread to Modules.
Co-author of the Official Joomla! Book http://officialjoomlabook.com
Marpo Multimedia http://marpomultimedia.com

Haribo85
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 306
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by Haribo85 » Wed Jul 26, 2006 3:06 pm

Ok, update.

I found why it was shifting for me!


Something very simple. I was missing the tag at the start of my template pages!

Easy as that!
Please visit our site for any Joomla! related hosting/design needs you may have. Also other IT Support including Web 2.0, Technology Reports, Email Hosting, Forum Hosting.

http://www.bitservices.co.uk

turalo
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 5:27 pm

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by turalo » Wed Jul 26, 2006 3:19 pm

Well I just tried to do that because in my code is the html tag also missing, but when I did that, then the site lost its css. so everytthing was in standart arial font or somethink like that and the menu still didnot work.
but on my site there is one strange thing, the menu work ok in firefox, but in ie there is no sub menues :)

joomjoom
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 4:10 am

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by joomjoom » Mon Aug 07, 2006 6:58 pm

I've already wasted 3 days on it, and got it to a point where the horizontal menu is working ok but still not the way I want it. Can someone help me with the following:

1. I can't seem to adjust the width of the child items, tried to add the width tag with specific px but no impact on the width showed. Could someone please tell me where to tweak this in the transmenuh.css file?  or is there any other place to adjust this at? (note that I tried to adjust the height of this child item which worked fine though).

2. The text placement is adjusted to "center" in the CSS file but still shows 'left' aligned, howe do we change that to center.

3. The link to the home page and "Links" on the Top Menu (which i am using in horizontal layout by Transmenu, having the actual top menu unpublished), doesn't get the roll-over graphic stayed there to represent that tab/page is current. However the other links on the menu does it just fine. I wonder how to correct this?

4. I am using/testing this only in the IE browser and just can't get rid of this nasty white flicker/flash while image roll-over occurs. It still does the job but that white flash simply kills the charm of it, very bothering to the eye. Is there a way to correct that not to happen and we have a smooth image-rollover effect on the Parent menu tabs?


Thanks for your help.

m23
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 5:48 pm
Contact:

transmenu files posted

Post by m23 » Fri Aug 11, 2006 2:50 pm

joomjoom,

Did you get my reply to your PM on my forums? I hope the files I posted help.

If not, let me know. It's been a while since I looked at the transmenu issues I fixed for the Macphoria template in Joomla.
Last edited by m23 on Fri Aug 11, 2006 2:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://dhtmldev.com - help me help you

joomjoom
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 4:10 am

Re: The hot Transmenu 2.0 for Joomla is out!

Post by joomjoom » Fri Aug 11, 2006 7:13 pm

Thanks Mitch, Yeah I got your message and responded. Again thanks...


Locked

Return to “Modules”