Advertisement

Any options if developer is not updating template to J4 Topic is solved

Everything to do with Joomla! 4.x templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
AGABBY
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Any options if developer is not updating template to J4

Post by AGABBY » Mon Sep 18, 2023 5:23 am

Do I have any options migrating a J3 template to J4 if the template developer is not providing a J4 update? :'(
Will my site be at risk? Thx
a

Advertisement
AMurray
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Any options if developer is not updating template to J4

Post by AMurray » Mon Sep 18, 2023 9:46 am

The risk is simply the template won't work with Joomla 4 (speaking of which you haven't said what template you're actually using).

The option would be to switch to a template that does work in J4 but you can always test the migration to J4 - on a copy of your site.

You would need to be an experienced coder I think in order to convert the template from J3 to J4.
Regards - A Murray
General Support Moderator

AGABBY
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Post by AGABBY » Tue Sep 19, 2023 5:20 am

Hello A Murray,

Not sure how to share the template I am using without stating who the developer is? Thought it would be seen as advertising, which I thought was against forum rules.

Yes, I have some Joomla 4 templates, but I have put a lot of work into this J3 template and I thought about testing the migration to J4 as well.