Unrecoverable error "PCLZIP_ERR_BAD_FORMAT (-10)"

General questions relating to Joomla! There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Jin597
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Unrecoverable error "PCLZIP_ERR_BAD_FORMAT (-10)"

Post by Jin597 » Wed Oct 11, 2006 2:14 am

Good day,

I've been looking at a few of the posts where others got this error, and I haven't found a solution as of yet.

I currently run two servers:

Server 1:
Mac OS X 10.3.9
PHP4.3.11
MySQL4.0
joomla installs:  1.0.10(Japanese) and 1.0.11(English)

Server 2:
Mac OS X 10.4.8
PHP5.1.6
MySQL5.0
joomla installs:  1.0.11(english)

I am currently migrating and building new sites on Server 2 (primarily due to MySQL 5.0 and UTF8).  Anyway, on Server 2, whenever I try to install a module/component/template, I am getting  Unrecoverable error "PCLZIP_ERR_BAD_FORMAT (-10)"

I test the exact same module/component/template on a dev joomla install on Server 1 and it installs without issue. 

I also try to unzip the files on server 2 manually, and that works with no problem.

I did a phpinfo for both systems to compare the zip properties of php.ini thinking this might be cause:

Server 1: