Joomla 1.0.12 bug? Modules - Pages/Items

General questions relating to Joomla! There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
wodfer
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 8:14 am

Joomla 1.0.12 bug? Modules - Pages/Items

Post by wodfer » Mon Dec 25, 2006 12:13 pm

I just update two sites to the latest 1.0.12 (my sites were 1.0.11).

On both sites I have a frontpage with a user1 on top welcoming everyone to the site and below there are news items listed. See here: http://www.stoff.tv/

When you click "Les mer" (means read more) the user1 module is suppose to go away. It is set to only be displayed in the frontpage, but it shows up on all the other pages.

This is something that happened after my upgrade. I uploaded change files only.

Any ideas why this happens?

Cheers,
Andreas

User avatar
ot2sen
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 10419
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Hillerød - Denmark
Contact:

Re: Joomla 1.0.12 bug? Modules - Pages/Items

Post by ot2sen » Mon Dec 25, 2006 1:19 pm

Hi wodfer,

There´s some changes in 1.0.12 related to Itemid which affects the way the Newsflash module works. Read more about this here:
http://dev.joomla.org/component/option, ... ,33/p,240/
Ole Bang Ottosen
Dansk frivillig Joomla! support websted - joomla.dk
OpenTranslators Core Team opentranslators.org

User avatar
ot2sen
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 10419
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Hillerød - Denmark
Contact:

Re: Joomla 1.0.12 bug? Modules - Pages/Items

Post by ot2sen » Mon Dec 25, 2006 2:01 pm

Hi again wodfer,

Had a similar issue and installed a 3rd Party Module instead. Might be a solution for your issue too:
http://www.joomlaos.de/option,com_remos ... ,2590.html
Ole Bang Ottosen
Dansk frivillig Joomla! support websted - joomla.dk
OpenTranslators Core Team opentranslators.org

wodfer
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 8:14 am

Re: Joomla 1.0.12 bug? Modules - Pages/Items

Post by wodfer » Mon Dec 25, 2006 8:34 pm

Thanks for your input OT2SEN.  :)

The way I see it is that when you from the module SPECIFY a module to ONLY display on a certain page and when it infact displays on MORE pages there's something wrong.

I don't understand how this Page/Items list would work if I can't say that a module is only supposed to be displayed Ie. on the mainmenu | frontpage. Guess there's something I just don't understand. Can someone please explain how I can make this work again?

I hope I don't have to install new components to do something about this. I mean there must be quite a lot of people who needs some more or less static text (from Ie "user1") to be displayed above the ever changing dynamic blog list?  ???

Cheers,
Andreas

arunvallappan
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 4:10 am

Re: Joomla 1.0.12 bug? Modules - Pages/Items

Post by arunvallappan » Fri Apr 11, 2008 8:42 am

hi,
i am new to joomla (using 1.0.12)

i want to display a module only in front page.
i selected only mainmenu|Home in Pages / Items( in the module page )
but the module appears in some more pages too.

i tried re-publishing it, but does nt work.
is there another way to do this ?

thanks..
arun


Locked

Return to “General Questions - 1.0.x”