Installing Joomla! on Sourceforge Project

Joomla version 1.0 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderators: General Support Moderators, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
thednx
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Installing Joomla! on Sourceforge Project

Post by thednx » Mon Oct 17, 2005 6:37 pm

howdy,

i guess a not-so-standard question: i am setting up joomla on Sourceforge.net (helping out on an open source project), but nomatter what i do, i get an unwritable configuration.php and basically my whole system permissions are absolutely no-no writable.
the site works, but hey, a non-configurable content management system is safe but unflexible...

since i`m not THE unix/linux freak, i tried out the chmod g+w / chmod 777 options on files and directories, but to no avail.
i use winscp to upload the files; cant set anything there (it wont have any effect.)
i use putty to shell onto the server, and try to chmod there, but nothing.

when starting the shell, i get this message: (excerpt):

As per the previous announcement in the sitewide newsletter sent on
2005-02-28, the project home directories on the project web servers
have been remounted as read-only on 2005-08-15 at 9:00 AM. We highly
recommend moving to a database storage mechanism (the MySQL server we
provide) or the new directory tree provided for all data writing needs
from the project web servers.
This operation is described at:
https://sourceforge.net/docs/E07#permissions/.

there it says that i need to move everything that needs writing to the tmp directory. is that possible with joomla? what would i need in htdocs, what would i move to tmp?

d2o
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Re: Installing Joomla! on Sourceforge Project