Ok so how do I add the podcasting ability to this thing?

Discuss the development and implementation of Joomla! bots/Plugins here.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
wellis
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Ok so how do I add the podcasting ability to this thing?

Post by wellis » Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:59 am

I am new to podcasting and I want to add podcasting to our church online sermons page.

http://redeemingriver.org/index.php?opt ... &Itemid=40

I am using the Allvideos plugin so in the content page wherever you have {mp3}mysermonhere{/mp3} the flash player is shown and streamlines the sermon.  This is awesome, but how do I make that podcast?

I do not understand podcast and I have an Ipod.  I can go on Itunes and subscribe to a podcast and sync it to my ipod with no problem, but  I truly do not understand how to implement this into our church sermon page.  I have read all kinds of explanations, but none of them make sense.  Please someone help me understand how to make this happen.

Thanks

fotisevangelou
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Re: Ok so how do I add the podcasting ability to this thing?

Post by fotisevangelou » Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:35 am

Podcast is actually an Apple marketing term and a big bloat in my opinion.

It's actually recording something and posting it in your websites for users to download it (did we need a name for that??) to their computer and then transfer to iPod or iSuck. With AllVideos, you can embed your recordings on your webpage and provide people instant access to them, without download hassles.

If you want to be "podcast" certified, besides embedding your recording with AllVideos, you should also provide a download link to the mp3 file...

Damn Apple...  :D
Fotis Evangelou / JoomlaWorks

marlar
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero