Bug? 'Edit' link not working in IE, but OK in Firefox (Linux)

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! site? Pop your questions in here.
Locked
househead
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 1:58 pm

Bug? 'Edit' link not working in IE, but OK in Firefox (Linux)

Post by househead » Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:45 pm

Hi there all,

I have searched the net, and these forums for a week and thus far have not encountered an answer to my problem.

I am using Joomla-1.0.1, and the 'edit post' link doesn't work when using Internet Explorer on WindowsXP(SP2). It does however work when I am using Firefox on Linux. Everything else seems to be fine, however this is a major stumbling block for me as I need to launch the intranet I have created by the end of this week, and being that pretty much 99% of staff use IE on Windows, I will be forced to give any editors of any description, access to the admin interface, greatly increasing the time (and money) myself and the company will have to spend on training users (not that using Joomla is difficult at all, just protocol).

The exact error message is as follows:

Internet Explorer cannot find:
http://intranet/joomla/index.php?option ... Returnid=1
Operation Aborted


If it makes a difference, I am using SEF urls, and the ONLY components / modules / mambots I use are are DocMan and 404SEF, although from the look of the URL above, and the ones it used correctly in Firefox, this should make no difference as the 'edit post' link is not using SEF URL's.

Please note, I have seen this...

http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,336.0.html

And it is not the issue, the 'intranet' in the above URL is actually a'www.xxxxx.yyy' domainname, changed for security.

Any help appreciated, Thx in advance.
Last edited by househead on Wed Oct 19, 2005 3:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

househead
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 1:58 pm

Re: Bug? 'Edit' link not working in IE, but OK in Firefox (Linux)

Post by househead » Wed Oct 19, 2005 8:40 pm

After updating to 1.0.3, the behaviour is the same.

This is really important to me, obviously nobody has experienced this before. The site is running on a standard LAMP setup, surely this big community could help in some way.

User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Bug? 'Edit' link not working in IE, but OK in Firefox (Linux)

Post by DeanMarshall » Wed Oct 19, 2005 8:51 pm

Hi,

I can think of two possibles:

1. Antivirus, antispyware, pop-up blocking software or some other privacy software is blocking access to required files
Programs such as Norton Internet Security, McAffee, ZoneAlarm, etc have been reported as causing these problems.

2. One or more of the .js javascript files is not being 'served' or delivered by the server.
To investigate the issue further load up the page from which you cannot proceed - the page with the buttons that don't work.
Click to view the html source.
Now look in the block within the page.
Find all of the .js files listed.
Copy each one in turn and paste into the address bar of a new Internet Explorer window. You should see the text of the javascript code.
You will probably find that one or more of these files is inaccessible, either missing, permissions excluded or as happens occassionally some mime type problem on the server starts a download dialog rather than simply retrieving the .js file.


BTW: what happens when you type this address directly into IE?
http://intranet/joomla/index.php?option ... Returnid=1

If you use Firefox with the Live HTTP Headers add-on you can view the 'conversation' between the browser and the server.

BTW 2: Are you trying to use Search Engine Friendly URLs on IIS? If so - then this will not work.


I hope you find a hint in their somewhere.

Dean Marshall.
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-se ... pport.html

househead
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 1:58 pm

Re: Bug? 'Edit' link not working in IE, but OK in Firefox (Linux)

Post by househead » Thu Oct 20, 2005 8:25 am

Hi, Thanks for your reply.

We do use Mcafee virus scanner on our windows based workstations. There is no way this can be changed for the use of Joomla.

Regarding the .js files, I can certainly check this one out and report back. If any of these files were missing, inaccessible, or set with the wrong permissions, I can't envisage me having a prob with IE but not with FF. regardless, I shall give your suggestions a go.

The site is hosted on a typical LAMP setup...

Linux 2.6
Apache2
MySQL-4.1
PHP4

The SEF URLS work fine outside of the context of this problem.

WIll try your suggestions.

househead
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 1:58 pm

Re: Bug? 'Edit' link not working in IE, but OK in Firefox (Linux)

Post by househead » Thu Oct 20, 2005 9:54 am

OK, here's the deal...

If I up the security settings in IE to the maximum, the 'edit post' link works, except that it is plaintext/html, rather than my wysiwyg editor. It would seem this IS a js issue after all. I looked at the page source and there is only a single js file, which when I paste that URL into FF, the source comes up as expected. If I paste this URL into IE, I have the option of open / download. If I try and open, the page doesn't load. BTW these tests were done with IE6 on wine, from my Linux machine. I will conduct them on a true native windows machine later in the day, however this simple test would certainly rule out the McAFee suggestion.

This also rules out, IMO any issues pertaining to SEF/SEO etc.

User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Bug? 'Edit' link not working in IE, but OK in Firefox (Linux)

Post by DeanMarshall » Thu Oct 20, 2005 9:59 am

I agree it is NOT SEF and it is probably NOT McAfee.

But it is the MIME type handling either by your server or by the browser. Your browser when loading a page and requesting .js files isn't going to 'click' the download dialog for you. The file is therefor probably 'missing' as far as IE is concerned.

Dean Marshall.
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-se ... pport.html

User avatar
DeanMarshall
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2352
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:26 am
Location: Lancaster, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Bug? 'Edit' link not working in IE, but OK in Firefox (Linux)

Post by DeanMarshall » Thu Oct 20, 2005 10:13 am

Here is a thread with someone that had a similar issue - but it was .css files that were incorrectly served:

http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,11180.0.html
There is a one line explanation - for more details, perhaps you could contact the other person.

Good luck.

Dean.
Dean Marshall Consultancy - six Joomla experts - http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/

Joomla Experts - Joomla Support http://www.deanmarshall.co.uk/joomla-se ... pport.html

fval
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 7:21 pm

Re: Bug? 'Edit' link not working in IE, but OK in Firefox (Linux)

Post by fval » Thu Oct 20, 2005 7:31 pm

My site did work with  Mambo 4.5.2. I did upgrade to Joomla 1.0.3. The TinyMCE editor did stop to work with some JavaScript errors, since in Firefox 1.0.7 or MS Internet Explorer.

I did this steps:

1) moved /mambots/editor folder to /mambots/editor_joomla_bug
2) moved editor folder from /backup/mambo452/mambots to /mambots.

All works good.

Sorry my bad English.

This post is only to tell that TinyMCE editor from Mambo 4.5.2 is OK and work with Joomla 1.0.3.


Locked

Return to “Administration - 1.0.x”