Upgrade 1.5 -> 1.5

Joomla version 1.5 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
swiftly
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Upgrade 1.5 -> 1.5

Post by swiftly » Tue Jul 17, 2007 10:15 pm

Is it possible to keep articles, users and settings that are writen in 1.5 beta 2, when i upgrade to a nightly build?
And later from nightly to nightly, can i remain articles, users and settings?
Last edited by swiftly on Wed Jul 18, 2007 8:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Jack

http://www.tradingmate.com
It's running from 2004, i restarted it at july 15th 2007, and again restarted it at 30 august 2009

markuz
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Re: Upgrade 1.5 -> 1.5

Post by markuz » Tue Jul 17, 2007 10:22 pm

Shiftley,

Yes, it is possible to just overwrite the older files with a newer nighly build.

But beware:
Before the operation check CHANGELOG.php if a reinstall is required. This is not very likely to happen, since the database schema is finished/complete and wouldn't need to be changed anymore.

Cheers,
Mark

Addition: Joomla! 1.5 beta2 is still beta and not meant for live sites. I suppose you're using this 1.5 in a testing environment.
Last edited by markuz on Tue Jul 17, 2007 10:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

swiftly
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Post by swiftly » Tue Jul 17, 2007 10:43 pm

Hi Mark, yes and no, I use it for a live site, but it is all just still in beta,...both the sites cms as it's content. But it is nice to keep the content, so i not have to rewrite it when 1.5 is final. Also a few members already registerd at my site,...would be a waist to not keep them ...  :)