[FIXED] 1.5 RC won't install sample data

bawalker
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 3:29 pm

[FIXED] 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by bawalker » Sat Jul 21, 2007 6:42 pm

I just downloaded 1.5 RC and installed it in a test area and when I reach the point of entering my email address and password I do so.  Immediately beneath it I have the choice of installing sample data or using a migration script.  When I choose sample data and click the install button, I am prompted by the browser with the following message:

"Error: the XML response that was returned from the server is invalid."

If I press the "Next" button I then get a page error with the following:

Notice: Undefined index: DBtype in /home/admin/domains/dev.modemnet.net/public_html/installation/installer/models/model.php on line 696

Fatal error: Call to undefined method JException::getNullDate() in /home/admin/domains/dev.modemnet.net/public_html/installation/installer/helper.php on line 290

This worked fine in Beta2... but has not worked since then in nightly builds or this RC release.
Last edited by Jinx on Fri Aug 31, 2007 8:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MaxouDz
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 6:52 am
Location: Algeria

Re: 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by MaxouDz » Sun Jul 22, 2007 8:03 am

I have the same problem !

Image
Last edited by MaxouDz on Sun Jul 22, 2007 6:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dz©

mbitzl
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 1:49 pm

Re: 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by mbitzl » Sun Jul 22, 2007 3:17 pm

It's the same for me. Hitting the "install sample data"-button tells me "Error: The xml-response that was returned from the server is invalid".

Clicking on the "next"-button gives me only:
Notice: Undefined index: DBtype in /var/www/web4/web/installation/installer/models/model.php on line 696
Fatal error: Call to undefined method JException::getNullDate() in /var/www/web4/web/installation/installer/helper.php on line 290
Some information about my system:
  • Apache/2.2.3 (Debian)
  • PHP Version 5.2.0-8+etch7
  • MySQL 5.0.32
  • PHP Safemode ON
Maybe anyone can help?

Thanks in advance,

Marcus

leadict
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 809
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 12:13 am

Re: 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by leadict » Sun Jul 22, 2007 6:02 pm

Just a question:

Are you installing sample data by default (in English)? or a localised version?
"The skill of writing is to create a context in which other people can think" - Edwin Schlossberg.

MaxouDz
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 6:52 am
Location: Algeria

Re: 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by MaxouDz » Sun Jul 22, 2007 6:05 pm

leadict wrote: Just a question:

Are you installing sample data by default (in English)? or a localised version?
For me by default in English !
Dz©

leadict
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 809
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 12:13 am

Re: 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by leadict » Sun Jul 22, 2007 6:19 pm

Ok, i had experienced this problem but when trying to create a localised sample data file from the English version (a nightly build).

It was just to confirm that you were using the default file.

=> Please, Can a moderator move this thread to the Q&T board for more investigation? Thanks :)
"The skill of writing is to create a context in which other people can think" - Edwin Schlossberg.

User avatar
tjay
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 325
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 1:50 am
Location: New Orleans
Contact:

Re: 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by tjay » Sun Jul 22, 2007 6:21 pm

I had the same problem. If you have control panel access just run the sampledata sql file in the installation folder.
That is a work around until they figure out what is wrong with it.
This day it is my wish that I helped you to live

rgloor
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 12:25 pm

Problems with SampleData installation (XAMPP)

Post by rgloor » Sun Jul 22, 2007 6:29 pm

Hi

I have installed XAMPP 1.6.2 with:

    * MySQL 5.0.41
    * PHP 5.2.2
    * PHP 4.4.7
    * phpMyAdmin 2.10.1

on my Windows 2000 SP4 + updated with all patches (MS Update).

The DBs on MySQL have been generated for several sites.

During installation of Joomla 1.5RC1, when I select the button to install Sample Data (Beispieldaten installieren - since I use the German installation language; but I now also tried the installation in English -> same result/error), I got the following error message.

Error: the XML response that was returned from the server was invalid.

When I continue dispite the not installed sample data, everything else looks fine. The tables (34) are generated in the MySQL DB. I can start the installation part through the site name, etc.

Do modifications, etc.  But I can't install the sample data.

Who can help me?

Thanks in advance,

Rolf

User avatar
Robin
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 15753
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:41 am

Re: 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by Robin » Sun Jul 22, 2007 6:40 pm

Mod note; topics merged and moving to Q&T forum

mbitzl
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 1:49 pm

Re: 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by mbitzl » Sun Jul 22, 2007 6:55 pm

leadict wrote: Just a question:

Are you installing sample data by default (in English)? or a localised version?
I chose the German localisation.

User avatar
zigmat
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 9:36 pm
Location: Latvia, Riga
Contact:

Re: 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by zigmat » Sun Jul 22, 2007 7:21 pm

rgloor, i too use xampp 1.6.2, but no problem for me. It has been installed correctly.

rgloor
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 12:25 pm

Re: 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by rgloor » Sun Jul 22, 2007 7:37 pm

Hi everybody

SOLVED!!!      I have solved my problem with the installation of the sample data.

During my installation, I have altered the table prefix from  'jos_'  to 'jos_mxm_'.

I do this, just to make sure, that every site has their own data in the sql database, (however, most of time, I have anyhow a separate DB per site) and for having a better overview. (While having open several DBs, it is always clear, which site a table belongs.)


So to the Developement Team:

(At least for me:) The problem is, joomla 1.5RC can't handle modified table prefix (at least for the installation of the sample data).

User avatar
Jinx
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 6569
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 12:47 am
Contact:

Re: 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by Jinx » Mon Jul 23, 2007 2:57 pm

Problem verified and confirmed will apply a fix.
Johan Janssens - Joomla Co-Founder, Lead Developer of Joomla 1.5

http://www.joomlatools.com - Joomla extensions that just work

Woodhead
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 2:45 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by Woodhead » Tue Jul 24, 2007 5:58 pm

I have same problem since I already have a 1.0.12 running in the same database and therefore have prefixed all tables with 15.
When and where will this fix be available ? - IM a compleatly newbie so please bear over with me  ???
Last edited by Woodhead on Tue Jul 24, 2007 6:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jc.x
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 3:29 am

Re: 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by jc.x » Fri Jul 27, 2007 10:09 am

MaxouDz wrote: I have the same problem !

Image
Open the /installation/sql/mysqlsample_data.sql replace the "jos_" with "#__" can solve it.

Woodhead
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 2:45 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: [CONFIRMED] 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by Woodhead » Fri Jul 27, 2007 11:03 am

Wow thanks - just tried it and it works. ;D
Looks so good. Can't wait to try it all out.  8)

Ozisl
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 1:36 pm

Re: [CONFIRMED] 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by Ozisl » Tue Jul 31, 2007 7:03 pm

OK, this is so totally not working. I've tried numerous databases and names, end up with squat.

While wiating for an official fix, can someone post a working version?

User avatar
Robin
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 15753
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:41 am

Re: [CONFIRMED] 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by Robin » Tue Jul 31, 2007 7:42 pm

Hi,

I have fixed a small bug where the sample data had a hard coded table prefix "jos_" where it of course should be "#__".

Could everyone please try the latest (nightly) builds to see if this problem has been solved, or if it might be related to something else? Thanks.

Ozisl
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 1:36 pm

Re: [CONFIRMED] 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by Ozisl » Tue Jul 31, 2007 7:48 pm

RobInk wrote: I have fixed a small bug where the sample data had a hard coded table prefix "jos_" where it of course should be "#__".
I've tried that, with no luck... along with many other prefixes...

Second request, a working example file?  :D

SeanGee
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 10:30 pm

Re: [CONFIRMED] 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by SeanGee » Tue Jul 31, 2007 10:51 pm

I too am having this problem and none of these solutions are working for me.  I need to do a proof of concept for my company in a hurry so am reluctant to use a nightly build. Is there an easy fix or should I just install beta 2? (which is working pretty well for what I need)

thx

User avatar
Robin
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 15753
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:41 am

Re: [CONFIRMED] 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by Robin » Wed Aug 01, 2007 7:45 pm

Should be fixed now, closing the report

waffen
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 5:43 pm

Re: [FIXED] 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by waffen » Sun Aug 05, 2007 12:32 am

Sorry for the dumb question but how is this fixed exactly? I'm still experiencing the same issue, have tried everything mentioned above (renaming prefix). I've got the latest version of 1.5RC on localhost, system is xp sp2, mysql-5.0.41, apache 2.2.4, php 5.2.3, all english.

Ozisl
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 1:36 pm

Re: [FIXED] 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by Ozisl » Sun Aug 05, 2007 12:41 am

waffen wrote: Sorry for the dumb question but how is this fixed exactly? I'm still experiencing the same issue, have tried everything mentioned above (renaming prefix). I've got the latest version of 1.5RC on localhost, system is xp sp2, mysql-5.0.41, apache 2.2.4, php 5.2.3, all english.
Agree 100%. I assume that he means that it will be fixed in the next build (probably first in a nightly)...

Frankly, I don't see the problem with just putting up a valid SQL file...

waffen
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 5:43 pm

Re: [FIXED] 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by waffen » Sun Aug 05, 2007 2:33 am

It apparently doesn't occur on every machine, i got 1.5RC to work on my office machine, setup was seamless, while on my home PC it just fails to install sample data. I tried various workarounds, like adding it to a ravenswood environment where v1.0 runs fine but this XML error keeps popping up. At least now it is certain that the glitch is not in my mysql settings but in joomla itself.

Anyway i've put beta2 back on, that one works.

User avatar
Robin
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 15753
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:41 am

Re: [FIXED] 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by Robin » Sun Aug 05, 2007 9:39 am

@ All,

I received feedback from the developers that it was fixed. As I am also unable to replicate, I gotta go from there weird on this one.

If you still experience the problem, please provide as much info as you can, preferable the first part of Admin > Help > System info.

As an example, see mine below:
PHP Built on:  Windows NT D1K1JG1J 5.1 build 2600
Database Version: 5.0.24a-community-nt
Database Collation: utf8_general_ci
PHP Version: 5.1.6
Web Server: Apache/2.0.59 (Win32) PHP/5.1.6
Web Server to PHP interface: apache2handler
Joomla! Version: Joomla! 1.5.0 Production/Stable [ Mapya ] 21-July-2007 15:00 GMT
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.6) Gecko/20070725 Firefox/2.0.0.6

waffen
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 5:43 pm

Re: [FIXED] 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by waffen » Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:40 am

my system is:

PHP Built on: Windows NT DOG 5.1 build 2600
Database Version: 5.0.45-community-nt
Database Collation: utf8_general_ci
PHP Version: 5.2.3
Web Server: Apache/2.2.4 (Win32) PHP/5.2.3
Web Server to PHP interface: apache2handler
Joomla! Version: Joomla! 1.5.0 Production/Stable [ Mapya ] 21-July-2007 15:00 GMT
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.5) Gecko/20070713 Firefox/2.0.0.5

User avatar
Robin
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 15753
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:41 am

Re: [FIXED] 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by Robin » Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:55 am

Waffen,

Could you please check the full php info page on the System info menu. Check/search for ctype and let me know if this is enabled or not? Thanks.

waffen
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 5:43 pm

Re: [FIXED] 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by waffen » Sun Aug 05, 2007 2:05 pm

RobInk,
it is enabled.

I've 3 different installations of Joomla running on localhost: 1.0.1.3> working fine, 1.5 Beta > working fine, 1.5RC > still not working. The installation process was actually finished, i can log in to administration and click around but when it comes to launching the site this is what i see. There's apparently no db connection.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Robin
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 15753
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:41 am

Re: [FIXED] 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by Robin » Sun Aug 05, 2007 6:24 pm

Hi waffen,

Thanks for the extra info! I'll see if I can find something else, what might be the cause. Also setting up an IIS server and see if I can replicate the error that way.

wyli
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 8:45 am

Re: [FIXED] 1.5 RC won't install sample data

Post by wyli » Mon Aug 06, 2007 8:48 am

EDIT:

Terribly sorry!  my fault, didn't use the night build.
Last edited by wyli on Mon Aug 06, 2007 8:58 am, edited 1 time in total.


Locked

Return to “Q&T 1.5.x Resolved”