Joomla install by fantastico removed by Bluehost

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Timeline
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joomla install by fantastico removed by Bluehost

Post by Timeline » Sat Jul 28, 2007 4:46 pm

The fantastico install of Joomla has been removed by Bluehost.  I called Bluehost tech support and they reported the 1.5 installation version was broken and to contact Joomla.  They do not offer the 1x version via fantastico.  I have several websites on Bluehost that use the Joomla CMS.  Has anyone experienced this issue?  Should I try to manually install the 1.5 version?  The fantatico install makes everything so simple.  Any help or advice is much appreciated.

m4him
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Joomla install by fantastico removed by Bluehost

Post by m4him » Sat Jul 28, 2007 6:30 pm

I noticed the same.  I manually installed 1.5 on BlueHost and it runs fine, the install was not a problem.  Note that this was a fresh install.  I am new with Joomla so I can not tell you how to upgrade to 1.5 over a previous installation.

To install 1.5 the best way is to ask BlueHost support for telnet access.  There is a BIG caution though about their TAR file.  It does not follow the standard for untaring the file.  It dumps the untar into the directory that the tar file is in.  It does not create a new directory and put it in there.  So tar -zxvf

cd public_html
tar -zxvf Joomla-1.5RC.tar.gz
puts it into the public_html directory not
public_html/Joomla-1.5RC
as you would expect.
This is a really bummer if you have an index.php file in the public_html directory as it will be overwritten.  I did and it was.