Joomla vs xoops

Joomla version 1.5 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Wammes
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joomla vs xoops

Post by Wammes » Mon Aug 20, 2007 6:36 pm

Hello all,

since the beginning of xoops I use xoops for my website. I like it and it works fine, but I'm more and more doubting if I made the right choice.
I have a site with about 200 users, about 100 of them active.
I like to put my users in groups with different userrights. So I have a group of forum moderators, I have a special group which has administration rights on my news module. And I have a group that has admin rights on my calendar.

Is Joomla right for me? How good is joomla with usergroups compared to xoops (please be honest).

And -also important-, can I migrate my user accounts to joomla?

Thank you very much!

AmyStephen
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Re: Joomla vs xoops

Post by AmyStephen » Mon Aug 20, 2007 6:50 pm

Wammes -

Really, you can't expect to go into the support forums for a specific project and expect an unbiased, objective comparison. Most of us, myself included, have not used XOOPs. I've heard good things about it.

Here are some getting started ideas:
  • You could look at many open source CMS's.
  • You could review the documentation - there is a User's Guide "behind" the Help link, above. In it, you will find information on user groups and rights, etc.
  • You could download Joomla! and play with it.
  • You could Google and look at comparisons.
  • Community is most important in a CMS, IMO. Look at the forums and see if people are there and questions are answered and if it is friendly.