joomlafck2 - New working & safe FCKeditor for Joomla

Need help with a WYSIWYG-editor in Joomla! 1.0.x? This is the place to be.
milesmowbray
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 4:28 pm

joomlafck2 - New working & safe FCKeditor for Joomla

Post by milesmowbray » Thu Sep 27, 2007 2:56 pm

I am starting this as the support thread for this new component, I am the developer and will try and answer any queries here.

joomlafck2 is another Joomla implementation of the FCKeditor. This time version 2.5 Beta. This new implementation comes ready configured and working for Joomla, you should not need to edit any files by hand.

    * Allows easy creation of up to 3 editor templates in the mambot configuration page.
    * Create internal Joomla content item links using the new toolbar button and dialog which filters by section and/or category.
    * Simple image, flash and file linking using the browser functionality ready configured for Joomla.
    * FCK image, flash and file uploading functionality ready configured for Joomla.
    * Image Manager plugin which allows image browsing, editing (resize, crop etc) and uploading.

You can customize the following from the mambot configuration page:

    * Editor toolbar icons and skin
    * Editor styles
    * Editor language
    * Editor templates
    * Editor area CSS
    * Text direction
    * Browser and Uploader default paths
    * Enter key behaviour
    * Conversion of special characters

We have also removed all the unused files that the other implementation of this editor for Joomla include. This implementation also includes extra security code in the editor backend browser/uploader code that checks to make sure the user is logged into Joomla.

FCKeditor is compatible with most Internet browsers which include: IE 5.5+ (Windows), Firefox 1.0+, Mozilla 1.3+ and Netscape 7.1+. It runs under Windows, Mac and Linux operating systems. Now with beta support for Safari 3 and Opera 9.5.

Joomla Extensions Page for joomlafck2

joomlafck2 Homepage
Last edited by milesmowbray on Thu Oct 11, 2007 1:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

deoliveira
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 4:05 pm

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by deoliveira » Thu Sep 27, 2007 3:48 pm

Great job !
Do you have any plan to have a Joomla! 2.0 version ? Thank you.

pascal

milesmowbray
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 4:28 pm

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by milesmowbray » Thu Sep 27, 2007 3:56 pm

deoliveira wrote:
Do you have any plan to have a Joomla! 2.0 version ? Thank you.
Yep I do, will probably release it when the new Joomla goes gold.

I am also working on an category, section and content item browser to create links to other Joomla content from inside FCKeditor, still very alpha at the moment though.

deoliveira
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 4:05 pm

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by deoliveira » Thu Sep 27, 2007 4:21 pm

milesmowbray wrote: Yep I do, will probably release it when the new Joomla goes gold.
Great !
milesmowbray wrote: I am also working on an category, section and content item browser to create links to other Joomla content from inside FCKeditor, still very alpha at the moment though.
That would be very helpful. Thanks !

pascal

User avatar
charlynancy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 1:45 am
Location: France

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by charlynancy » Mon Oct 01, 2007 11:10 am

Hi,
as you say in your home page :
You may need to edit config.php in the /yousiteroot/mambots/editors/joomlafck2/editor/filemanager/connectors/php folder to get the file browser and upload features working, but hopefully they should just work. This will probably only apply if you have your site installed in a subdirectory.
I think you can prevent that like this :
edit config.php in the /yousiteroot/mambots/editors/joomlafck2/editor/filemanager/connectors/php

Code: Select all

//$Config['UserFilesPath'] = '/' ;//before
$Config['UserFilesPath'] = $mosConfig_live_site .'/' ;//after

Code: Select all

//$Config['UserFilesAbsolutePath'] = '' ;//before
$Config['UserFilesAbsolutePath'] = $mosConfig_absolute_path .'/' ;//after
Plus tu te fais mal en tombant plus tu rebondis haut...
The harder you fall the higher you bounce

rninio
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 8:06 am

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by rninio » Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:27 am

hi
this editor is much better the jce , and it work well
i installed it and i have problem with browse in the first  folder picture info ,
when i try to browse i get error "this connector is disabled please check the editor/filemanager/connectors/php/config.php file",
i changed 
$config['UserfilesAbsolotePath']=$mosConfig_absolute_path.'/';
$config['UserFilePath']=$mosConfig-live_site.'/'
and i still get the error massage


thank u

simon_w
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:00 am
Location: Taiwan

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by simon_w » Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:29 am

Hi Miles,

Thanks for this plugin - I'm finding it much easier to work with than the other FCK implementation, I have to say.

I have one suggestion, and one problem!

Firstly, although I like the idea of attaching as much config as possible in a php-generated js file, I had to set the Config['DefaultLanguage'] variable in the main joomlafck2.php file, so that I could make it Joom!Fish compatible, because I had a pig of a time trying to access the current language from the js-generating file (if anyone knows a neat way to do this, I would really like to hear it, 'cos I've tried to do it several times now in php-generated js, and ended up decidin to work-around instead).  I appreciate that not everyone will want the editor language to match the language of the content being edited (though to me it seems more likely than not), so my suggestion that it be made a back-end option (Autodectect Language: Off/Browser/Joom!Fish).


Secondly, I have a problem to report than I haven't been able to fix yet.  Whenever I load the editor, Firebug throws 2 instances of:

Code: Select all

String contains an invalid character" code: "5
(no further information provided).  So far, the only user problem this seems to cause is that the cancel button on the insert image dialogue window (upon clicking of which, the error is thrown again) doesn't work.

I can't find the offending code, and I was wondering if you might be able to help?

Thanks again,

Simon
:) :)
Last edited by simon_w on Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
charlynancy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 1:45 am
Location: France

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by charlynancy » Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:01 am

Minio,
$config['UserfilesAbsolotePath']=$mosConfig_absolute_path.'/';
try $config['UserfilesAbsolutePath']=$mosConfig_absolute_path.'/';
Last edited by charlynancy on Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
Plus tu te fais mal en tombant plus tu rebondis haut...
The harder you fall the higher you bounce

rninio
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 8:06 am

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by rninio » Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:06 am

thank u
but it still didnt work
i have the same error

thanks
ravit

simon_w
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:00 am
Location: Taiwan

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by simon_w » Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:39 am

Hi Ravit,

The error you're getting is not connected with the path, which may or may not be correct.

For some reason, your installation is failing at this section:

Code: Select all

// SECURITY: You must explicitelly enable this "connector". (Set it to "true").
// WARNING: don't just set "ConfigIsEnabled = true", you must be sure that only 
//		authenticated users can access this file or use some kind of session checking.

// Added for joomlafck2 - check we are logged into Joomla
require_once( '../../../../../../../configuration.php' );
session_name( md5( $mosConfig_live_site ) );
session_start();

if ($_SESSION["session_id"]) {
	$Config['Enabled'] = true ;
} else {
	$Config['Enabled'] = false ;
}
Double-check that you're properly logged-in etc.  To check this section is indeed the problem, try commenting all this out, and just replacing with

Code: Select all

$Config['Enabled'] = true ;
though as the comments state, this could mean non-authenticated user get access.

Hope that points you in the right direction.

Simon

rninio
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 8:06 am

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by rninio » Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:49 am

thank u
its work now! :)  ;D

milesmowbray
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 4:28 pm

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by milesmowbray » Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:09 am

Hi all,

Glad to see some people are using this now.

I have just updated to version 1.0.3, changelog:

Based on FCKeditor 2.5SVN from 1/10/07.
Added Joomla absolute path to the configuration so installation in sub folder will work without modification.
Added skins configuration to the backend.


If you have problems with the browser/uploader saying the connector is disabled then simon_w's post above contains a temporary fix.  I don't know why this is happening yet as it works on all my Joomla installations.

I will look at the Joomlafish request when I have more time.

Nick

simon_w
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:00 am
Location: Taiwan

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by simon_w » Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:14 am

Cool - glad to hear it.

However, I really should stress that if you've just bypassed the security check, you may be taking a risk:
// WARNING: don't just set "ConfigIsEnabled = true", you must be sure that only
// authenticated users can access this file or use some kind of session checking.
not to mention that it may indicate that you have other issues on your site.

If it was me, I'd want to get to the bottom of it....  :-\

[Edit:]
@miles:  have you had reports of this problem from others then?  If so, perhaps I shouldn't worry Ravit unnecessarily!
Is there any special reason why you're using

Code: Select all

if ($_SESSION["session_id"])
rather than

Code: Select all

if ($my->id)
??


Simon
Last edited by simon_w on Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

milesmowbray
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 4:28 pm

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by milesmowbray » Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:19 am

simon_w wrote:
@miles:  have you had reports of this problem from others then?  If so, perhaps I shouldn't worry Ravit unnecessarily!

Simon
I have had one other report of this, I am at a loss as to what is causing it.  It could be maybe Joomla version related.

@rninio: What version of Joomla are you on?

Can't use

Code: Select all

if ($my->id)
this code is not run inside Joomla, the FCKeditor PHP connector runs as a standalone script.

This was the only way I could think of to check the user was logged in.

All the other versions of FCK for Joomla just enable the connector regardless!


Nick
Last edited by milesmowbray on Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

rninio
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 8:06 am

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by rninio » Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:34 am

i am using 1.0.11 joomla version

is it possebale that i have some session problems in my server?

thank u
ravit

milesmowbray
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 4:28 pm

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by milesmowbray » Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:41 am

rninio wrote: i am using 1.0.11 joomla version

is it possebale that i have some session problems in my server?

thank u
ravit
I doubt it.

I have only tested the editor with 1.0.13, as all my installations are always on the latest.  Can't believe this should make any difference though.  If I get a minute I will install some older versions of Joomla and give it a try.

Nick

simon_w
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:00 am
Location: Taiwan

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by simon_w » Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:42 am

@Nick

Point taken...  :-[

I wonder how important this check is - only authenticated users will get 'edit' links, I assume, so perhaps bypassing the check if there's a problem isn't such a bad idea.  Don't know enough about Joomla! sessions at this stage to be able to help though, since I can't reproduce that problem on my own systems.

I'm still experimenting with the mambot at the moment, so if I can discover anything I'll let you know.

Simon

@Ravit

Don't worry too much - sorry if I sounded a premature alarm.  It doesn't seem like there's any great risk involved in bypassing that check, and the check itself uses an unusual method of testing if a user is logged in - it may very well be that it's just a very minor incompatibility with 1.0.11.

rninio
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 8:06 am

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by rninio » Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:44 am

thank u
:D

pesche
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 5:29 am

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by pesche » Wed Oct 03, 2007 5:47 am

hello all

i'm having this "disabled connector" problem too. running joomla 1.0.12 and joomlafck2 1.0.3

is there a way to get some debug output for you too look at?

cheers

peter

gigabrain
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 3:06 pm

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by gigabrain » Wed Oct 03, 2007 3:09 pm

Hello,

I have the "connector"-problem too.  I use Joomla 1.0.13 and joomlaFCk2 103.

Also tried the tip posted above, doesn't help.


Update:

Imagine, the connector-problem occurs only with IE7 , if I use Firefox everything works fine!  8) ???
Last edited by gigabrain on Wed Oct 03, 2007 4:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

aasbrenn
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 8:26 pm

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by aasbrenn » Wed Oct 03, 2007 7:53 pm

Hi,
In the new version, i can't get the BR/P options to work. I just get structure nomather what i select.
Would it be possible to have different heights on the Intro Text and Main text. The intro text tends to be shorter :-)

LK

milesmowbray
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 4:28 pm

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by milesmowbray » Fri Oct 05, 2007 9:56 am

aasbrenn wrote:
In the new version, i can't get the BR/P options to work. I just get structure nomather what i select.
Would it be possible to have different heights on the Intro Text and Main text. The intro text tends to be shorter :-)
I will see if I can implement the different heights in the next version (1.0.5).  Not sure about your other bug, perhaps a bug with FCKeditor, will investigate.  What browser?

milesmowbray
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 4:28 pm

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by milesmowbray » Fri Oct 05, 2007 9:58 am

Just released 1.0.4:

Still based on FCKeditor 2.5SVN from 1/10/07.
Changed the Joomla login check in the uploader/browser backend code to hopefully fix some problems reported.
Added FCKeditor Plugin and Toolbar Icon for Joomla Content Linking.

The Joomla content linking needs some real testing, would appreciate any feedback.

Also would like to know if this helps anyone who had problems with the connector disabled thing.

Nick

aasbrenn
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 8:26 pm

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by aasbrenn » Sat Oct 06, 2007 3:27 pm

Hi again,
The br/P now works, and this editor is really getting top notch!
I still have some a image issue. I have the pictures in a the folder /bildebase/ an not in /images/stories/. The images will not show in the editor, only if i give full path (http://www....). THe show up on the website, and i also manage to edit the filemanager connector to open right folder. Any ideas?

Where is the template button? The content template was a really great idea. Unfortunately i never understood how to make templates. I've always wanted a content templated with fixed size for images, just select from image base or upload and click... That would make it so much easier for non-pc-experts to write contect with text i joomla.

User avatar
kenmcd
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 5672
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 2:09 am
Location: California
Contact:

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by kenmcd » Sat Oct 06, 2007 5:15 pm

aasbrenn wrote: Where is the template button? The content template was a really great idea. Unfortunately i never understood how to make templates. I've always wanted a content templated with fixed size for images, just select from image base or upload and click... That would make it so much easier for non-pc-experts to write contect with text i joomla.
A Content Template Plug-in is at the top of my wish list!

FCKeditor content templates require editing an XML file.
Documentation is sparse:
- FCKeditor Templates Configuration
  http://wiki.fckeditor.net/Developer%27s ... /Templates
- Contour Content Templates (they also integrate FCKeditor)
  http://www.jamasoftware.net/doku.php/config/templates
██ LibreTraining

milesmowbray
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 4:28 pm

Re: New working & safe FCKeditor extenstion for Joomla - joomlafck2

Post by milesmowbray » Mon Oct 08, 2007 3:03 pm

kenmcd wrote:
aasbrenn wrote: Where is the template button? The content template was a really great idea. Unfortunately i never understood how to make templates. I've always wanted a content templated with fixed size for images, just select from image base or upload and click... That would make it so much easier for non-pc-experts to write contect with text i joomla.
A Content Template Plug-in is at the top of my wish list!

FCKeditor content templates require editing an XML file.
Documentation is sparse:
- FCKeditor Templates Configuration
  http://wiki.fckeditor.net/Developer%27s ... /Templates
- Contour Content Templates (they also integrate FCKeditor)
  http://www.jamasoftware.net/doku.php/config/templates

Your wish is my command!

Version 1.0.5 just uploaded:

Based on FCKeditor 2.5SVN from 7/10/07
Added the Template button back into the default and custom toolbars.
Added editor template configuration to the backend, you can define upto 3 templates.
Last edited by milesmowbray on Tue Oct 09, 2007 10:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

hank5720
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 7:21 am

Re: joomlafck2 - New working & safe FCKeditor for Joomla

Post by hank5720 » Mon Oct 08, 2007 5:28 pm

I've been using joomlafck v2.4.3, its a wonderful product.  I recently upgraded to joomlafck v2.4.4 then tried joomlafck2.  Both times uninstalling previous versions before adding the new one.  The content editor would not work on either verision.  I just did a simple install using joomla core program.  What am I doing wrong, I like the new features, custom templetes etc.
thanks pat

User avatar
kenmcd
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 5672
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 2:09 am
Location: California
Contact:

Re: joomlafck2 - New working & safe FCKeditor for Joomla

Post by kenmcd » Mon Oct 08, 2007 5:42 pm

1. Make sure you open the JoomlaFCK2 interface and click Save. This must be done for every install.

2. You may also have to reselect your Default editor in your User profile - select joomlaFCK2 and Save.
██ LibreTraining

hank5720
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 7:21 am

Re: joomlafck2 - New working & safe FCKeditor for Joomla

Post by hank5720 » Mon Oct 08, 2007 7:16 pm

kenmcd wrote:
1. Make sure you open the JoomlaFCK2 interface and click Save. This must be done for every install.

2. You may also have to reselect your Default editor in your User profile - select joomlaFCK2 and Save.

Yes, I did each time.  I'm using Firefox on a Mac.  Here's error messages using firebug;
uncaught exception: Permission denied to set property Window.FCK_STATUS_NOTLOADED
[Break on this error] undefined
uncaught exception: Permission denied to set property Window.FCK_STATUS_NOTLOADED
[Break on this error] undefined
FCKBrowserInfo has no properties
[Break on this error] if ( FCKBrowserInfo.IsGecko )
fckeditor.html (line 183)
FCKLang is not defined
[Break on this error] window.document.dir = FCKLang.Dir ;
fckeditor.html (line 117)
uncaught exception: Permission denied to get property Window.FCKeditorAPI
[Break on this error] undefined
uncaught exception: Permission denied to get property Window.FCKeditorAPI
[Break on this error] undefined
FCK has no properties
[Break on this error] FCK.ContextMenu={};FCK.ContextMenu.Listeners=[];FCK.ContextMenu.RegisterListener...
fckeditorcode_gec... (line 106)
FCKConfig has no properties
[Break on this error] var FCKConfig=FCK.Config={};if (document.location.protocol=='file:'){FCKConfig.B...
fckeditorcode_gec... (line 33)
FCKBrowserInfo has no properties
[Break on this error] if ( FCKBrowserInfo.IsIE )
fckeditor.html (line 58)
FCKConfig has no properties
[Break on this error] FCKConfig.CustomConfigurationsPath = '' ;
fckconfig.js (line 27)
FCKBrowserInfo has no properties
[Break on this error] if ( FCKBrowserInfo.IsGecko )
fckeditor.html (line 183)
FCKLang is not defined
[Break on this error] window.document.dir = FCKLang.Dir ;
fckeditor.html (line 117)
FCK has no properties
[Break on this error] FCK.ContextMenu={};FCK.ContextMenu.Listeners=[];FCK.ContextMenu.RegisterListener...
fckeditorcode_gec... (line 106)
FCKConfig has no properties
[Break on this error] var FCKConfig=FCK.Config={};if (document.location.protocol=='file:'){FCKConfig.B...
fckeditorcode_gec... (line 33)
FCKBrowserInfo has no properties
[Break on this error] if ( FCKBrowserInfo.IsIE )
fckeditor.html (line 58)
FCKConfig has no properties
[Break on this error]

thanks

User avatar
kenmcd
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 5672
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 2:09 am
Location: California
Contact:

Re: joomlafck2 - New working & safe FCKeditor for Joomla

Post by kenmcd » Mon Oct 08, 2007 10:18 pm

The other bot(s) use the FCKeditor stable version 2.4.3.
This version uses the latest SVN version which will become FCKeditor v2.5 when released.
This could possibly be an issue with the FCKeditor itself and your set-up.
Please test your set-up on the latest nightly build of FCKeditor here:
http://www.fckeditor.net/nightly/fckedi ... fault.html

Could also be a conflict with other bots you have installed.
Try disabling other bots to see if that fixes the issue.
██ LibreTraining


Locked

Return to “WYSIWYG Editors - 1.0.x”