HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Discuss the universal connector for forums and other applications. (including vBridge )
leonsio
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 355
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:20 am
Contact:

HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by leonsio » Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:34 pm

hi this is a small tutorial how to switch from vbridge to com_connector

vbridge needs many core file changes, and it alter a user table database to use vbulletin hashes as password, so that you can not so easy uninstall vbridge, because no one of users can login more

this is a little solution for this problem

1. MAKE BACKUP!!!!!!!!!

2. go to vbridge and synchronise all users with vbulletin

3. download and replace all joomla files from http://www.joomla.org ( so that you have "clean" installation )

4. go to phpmyadmin or other tool to manager databases

delte ALL users from jos_users except your administrator

DELETE FROM jos_users WHERE username != 'YOURADMINUSERNAME'

and set new password for your joomla administrator

update jos_users set password=MD5('MYNEWPASSWORD') where username='YOURADMINUSERNAME';

5. login as administrator in joomla and install com_connector

6. set up new forum

7. done, uninstall vbridge and vbulletin vbridge.plugins

how does it works

by the first login of a users, com_connector looks by vbulletin if a user is exists
if yes, it will be automaticaly created in joomla as joomla user

so that you dont need to synchronise the users any more, it will be maked by com_connector on first login

at the and of this procedure you have "normaly" jos_users table and if you want you can uninstall com_connectors and joomla will works fine without it ;)

P.S. in a next version i have planed to use vbulletin as comment system for joomla content

sysop
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 11:05 pm

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by sysop » Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:57 pm

leonsio i have a short question, i need very much a good application to work fine to my vbulletin, and predator seems to be worked hard on that but i dont know when he release a stable version for joomla 1.0.4 (and joomla.php core too naturally).
well i have this question, your application work on the same db for register user? when anybody register on my portal or forum, it be able one single login or have to make 2 account, one for joomla and one for vbulletin forum?
You seems have asked for it, now, i have vbridge installed and 511 registered user on my forum, , need a details for not clean installation of vb board
Last edited by sysop on Tue Nov 29, 2005 9:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
VOTE FOR JOOMLA!, UK LINUX AWARDS: http://snipurl.com/xhga
Vote for Joomla! NOW http://www.packtpub.com/article/final_five_joomla

leonsio
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 355
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by leonsio » Tue Nov 29, 2005 9:05 pm

sysop wrote: leonsio i have a short question, i need very much a good application to work fine to my vbulletin, and predator seems to be worked hard on that but i dont know when he release a stable version for joomla 1.0.4 (and joomla.php core too naturally).
well i have this question, your application work on the same db for register user? when anybody register on my portal or forum, it be able one single login or have to make 2 account, one for joomla and one for vbulletin forum?

1. my connector dont needs any access to vbulletin database
you can run vbulletin in other database, on other server, (or domain -> experemental )

2. you users can be registred on vbulletin or on joomla
it will be synchronized by first login

the login script checks 2 things:
a. if the user dont exists in joomla, but on vbulletin, it will be created in joomla
b. if the user exists in joomla, but not in vbulletin, it will be created in vbulletin

so that register script is unchanged

and 3. you can connect joomla with more that one forum at once ;) ( at the moment is onle a vbulletin module exists, i will make phpbb module, so if it done, you can synchronise joomla+vbulletin+phpbb )

leonsio
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 355
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by leonsio » Tue Nov 29, 2005 9:07 pm

sysop wrote: You seems have asked for it, now, i have vbridge installed and 511 registered user on my forum, , need a details for not clean installation of vb board
my component dont needs any changes on vbulletin ( at the moment )
you must only install VB_SOAP extension

sysop
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 11:05 pm

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by sysop » Tue Nov 29, 2005 9:08 pm

Ok man, that's very nice :)
Thanks very much
VOTE FOR JOOMLA!, UK LINUX AWARDS: http://snipurl.com/xhga
Vote for Joomla! NOW http://www.packtpub.com/article/final_five_joomla

sysop
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 11:05 pm

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by sysop » Tue Nov 29, 2005 9:10 pm

I hope that the uninstall vbridge doesn't create me many problems :/
VOTE FOR JOOMLA!, UK LINUX AWARDS: http://snipurl.com/xhga
Vote for Joomla! NOW http://www.packtpub.com/article/final_five_joomla

leonsio
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 355
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by leonsio » Tue Nov 29, 2005 9:12 pm

sysop wrote: I hope that the uninstall vbridge doesn't create me many problems :/
PLEASE MAKE BACKUPS!!!!!

from joomla AND vbulletin

database AND php files


if anything dont works, you can recover your files

sysop
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 11:05 pm

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by sysop » Tue Nov 29, 2005 9:14 pm

Yes man thanks, dont worry, Backup is a magic word hehe :)
VOTE FOR JOOMLA!, UK LINUX AWARDS: http://snipurl.com/xhga
Vote for Joomla! NOW http://www.packtpub.com/article/final_five_joomla

sysop
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 11:05 pm

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by sysop » Tue Nov 29, 2005 9:16 pm

Have you a site to download all in package?
VOTE FOR JOOMLA!, UK LINUX AWARDS: http://snipurl.com/xhga
Vote for Joomla! NOW http://www.packtpub.com/article/final_five_joomla

leonsio
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 355
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by leonsio » Tue Nov 29, 2005 9:20 pm

com_connector:

http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,21066.0.html


VB_SOAP:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=100559

you needs php5 and soap extension be installed !!

User avatar
Waseem Sadiq
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1441
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 7:41 pm
Location: Glasgow - Scotland
Contact:

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by Waseem Sadiq » Tue Nov 29, 2005 9:21 pm

Dude have just  thought of something really exciting for this component!

Can it in theory be used to connect to ANY third party user databse?

If so, it could be what I've been looking for for around 18/24 months now. I have a third party commercial software running with joomla using hacked files in both joomla and the third party software. All I need to do is share the user db.

If the component can do this, how would I go about making the changes to see if it'll work with my thirdparty software's db? any pointers would be most welcome :)

If it works with another software perhaps a way to develop it would be to add some sort of options in the backend, I'd be more than happy to help if I can
http://www.bulletprooftemplates.com/ - Joomla Templates and Consultancy

sysop
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 11:05 pm

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by sysop » Tue Nov 29, 2005 9:25 pm

Damn, my hosting is php 4.4.1 :(
VOTE FOR JOOMLA!, UK LINUX AWARDS: http://snipurl.com/xhga
Vote for Joomla! NOW http://www.packtpub.com/article/final_five_joomla

leonsio
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 355
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by leonsio » Tue Nov 29, 2005 9:30 pm

haaris wrote: Dude have just  thought of something really exciting for this component!

Can it in theory be used to connect to ANY third party user databse?

If so, it could be what I've been looking for for around 18/24 months now. I have a third party commercial software running with joomla using hacked files in both joomla and the third party software. All I need to do is share the user db.

If the component can do this, how would I go about making the changes to see if it'll work with my thirdparty software's db? any pointers would be most welcome :)

If it works with another software perhaps a way to develop it would be to add some sort of options in the backend, I'd be more than happy to help if I can
no only with add some options in the backend it dont works ;)

for any application that you want connect you must create own module
this module must have functions ( login/userget/userset ... look at vbulletin module in /components/com_connector/modules/vbulletin.class.php)

how do you want to connect your application is your choice
you can fill the login function with database connects code, or with XMLRPC connects or other code
but you must write a module for you application

the connector looks at the login and try to connect to your module to authentificate a user
if user exists/not exists it will be created ( in your application or in joomla )

and you must give a cookie (as array) which your application this needs to the connector

at the end of the login connector set all cookies from all applications to the user

leonsio
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 355
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by leonsio » Tue Nov 29, 2005 9:37 pm

sysop wrote: Damn, my hosting is php 4.4.1 :(
many hosters has php4 und php5 running togehter ( your files must have .php5 ending for example )
it is important that the server is running on php5
the clients can be a php4 ( with little hack it runs with php4 too )

you must ask your hoster ;)

side
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 5:26 pm

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by side » Thu Dec 01, 2005 12:03 am

leonsio wrote:
sysop wrote: Damn, my hosting is php 4.4.1 :(
many hosters has php4 und php5 running togehter ( your files must have .php5 ending for example )
it is important that the server is running on php5
the clients can be a php4 ( with little hack it runs with php4 too )

you must ask your hoster ;)
If you can make it work for PHP4 or release a version for PHP4 you'll be the king ;) cause just SO MANY have still php4 yet. much more than PHP5 in fact.

Also, do you have a 5 last post module or something for joomla to work with it ?

leonsio
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 355
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by leonsio » Thu Dec 01, 2005 7:05 am

side wrote:
leonsio wrote:
sysop wrote: Damn, my hosting is php 4.4.1 :(
many hosters has php4 und php5 running togehter ( your files must have .php5 ending for example )
it is important that the server is running on php5
the clients can be a php4 ( with little hack it runs with php4 too )

you must ask your hoster ;)
If you can make it work for PHP4 or release a version for PHP4 you'll be the king ;) cause just SO MANY have still php4 yet. much more than PHP5 in fact.

Also, do you have a 5 last post module or something for joomla to work with it ?

look at the release post i have created vbulletin_sql module which is based on php4
and works like vbridge ( but without alter joomla tables )
but this module is experemental at the moment and works only if joomla and vbulletin are on same domain

sysop
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 11:05 pm

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by sysop » Thu Dec 01, 2005 8:18 am

Oh.that's a nice notice! i asked my hosting if it using soap extension b4 it dont is php5 ext :(, only phtml, php3 and php
VOTE FOR JOOMLA!, UK LINUX AWARDS: http://snipurl.com/xhga
Vote for Joomla! NOW http://www.packtpub.com/article/final_five_joomla

side
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 5:26 pm

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by side » Sat Dec 03, 2005 11:34 pm

look at the release post i have created vbulletin_sql module which is based on php4
and works like vbridge ( but without alter joomla tables )
but this module is experemental at the moment and works only if joomla and vbulletin are on same domain
Ok i'll give it a try, is the same roadmap for removing vbridge the same for your one ?

Anyone here have tested this yet ?

sysop
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 11:05 pm

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by sysop » Wed Dec 07, 2005 10:16 am

I am very sorry for not using connector by leonsio, my sh1t hosting dont have php5 ext. and SOAP :( damnit....
Predator is sick and is not known when/if he releases a new stable and working version of vbridge ....
VOTE FOR JOOMLA!, UK LINUX AWARDS: http://snipurl.com/xhga
Vote for Joomla! NOW http://www.packtpub.com/article/final_five_joomla

leonsio
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 355
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by leonsio » Wed Dec 07, 2005 10:23 am

sysop wrote: I am very sorry for not using connector by leonsio, my sh1t hosting dont have php5 ext. and SOAP :( damnit....
Predator is sick and is not known when/if he releases a new stable and working version of vbridge ....
if you want you can use vbulletin_sql module which is written in php4
and works linke vbridge with sql connets to vbulletin

but this module is not secure, so that you can for example delete administrators, with soap module you can not do this, if you have added the user id to undeletebleusers in the config.php of vbulletin

sysop
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 11:05 pm

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by sysop » Wed Dec 07, 2005 10:26 am

It is not possible to make some change to make it similar how SOAP module?
VOTE FOR JOOMLA!, UK LINUX AWARDS: http://snipurl.com/xhga
Vote for Joomla! NOW http://www.packtpub.com/article/final_five_joomla

leonsio
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 355
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by leonsio » Wed Dec 07, 2005 10:36 am

sysop wrote: It is not possible to make some change to make it similar how SOAP module?
the vbulletin_sql ( and phpbb ) is not my preferred module ;)
yes it is posible ( only if vbulletin and joomla are on same server and you have access to vbulletin files )

but at the time i dont have enouth time to develop it ( and desire too )

i hope that predator will change his vbridge plugin to work with com_connector
because at the time we are making the same things, so that i hope he will develop the vbulletin_sql module for the connector ( its the same vbridge but with some changes ) and i will develop com_connector himself and vbulletin (soap) module

so that i can release stable version of the connector faster

and i hope i will find someone who can make whe phpbb and other modules

sysop
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 11:05 pm

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by sysop » Mon Dec 19, 2005 11:42 pm

I need a solution for this night :( have to reinstall all and work for tomorrow, and vbridge dont is my case..
VOTE FOR JOOMLA!, UK LINUX AWARDS: http://snipurl.com/xhga
Vote for Joomla! NOW http://www.packtpub.com/article/final_five_joomla

User avatar
Predator
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1827
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:12 pm
Location: Germany-Bad Abbach
Contact:

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by Predator » Mon Dec 19, 2005 11:50 pm

sysop wrote: I need a solution for this night :( have to reinstall all and work for tomorrow, and vbridge dont is my case..
Check this Version of the connector:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=101761
The "Humor, Fun and Games" forum has  more than 2500 Posts, so why not build a "Humor, Fun and Games Working" Group?
.....
Malicious tongues say we have this WG right from the start, they call it core team :D

sysop
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 11:05 pm

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by sysop » Mon Dec 19, 2005 11:56 pm

Thx, but i think it is based on SOAP ext and my host dont use it, I appreciate very much your job and I am very sorry because it dont work how want
VOTE FOR JOOMLA!, UK LINUX AWARDS: http://snipurl.com/xhga
Vote for Joomla! NOW http://www.packtpub.com/article/final_five_joomla

User avatar
Predator
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1827
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:12 pm
Location: Germany-Bad Abbach
Contact:

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by Predator » Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:07 am

sysop wrote: Thx, but i think it is based on SOAP ext and my host dont use it, I appreciate very much your job and I am very sorry because it dont work how want
Not this Version it works for PHP4 this is not the SOAP Version.

Well i'm also sorry what it doesn't work for you, it is really strange for some it works for some not weird.
The "Humor, Fun and Games" forum has  more than 2500 Posts, so why not build a "Humor, Fun and Games Working" Group?
.....
Malicious tongues say we have this WG right from the start, they call it core team :D

sysop
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 11:05 pm

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by sysop » Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:08 am

Thanks Marko, you are a good Men
VOTE FOR JOOMLA!, UK LINUX AWARDS: http://snipurl.com/xhga
Vote for Joomla! NOW http://www.packtpub.com/article/final_five_joomla

User avatar
Predator
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1827
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:12 pm
Location: Germany-Bad Abbach
Contact:

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by Predator » Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:10 am

sysop wrote: Thanks Marko, you are a good Men
And you are a patienced User ;)
The "Humor, Fun and Games" forum has  more than 2500 Posts, so why not build a "Humor, Fun and Games Working" Group?
.....
Malicious tongues say we have this WG right from the start, they call it core team :D

sysop
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 11:05 pm

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by sysop » Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:43 am

where I put exactly vbulletin_sql.class.php?
VOTE FOR JOOMLA!, UK LINUX AWARDS: http://snipurl.com/xhga
Vote for Joomla! NOW http://www.packtpub.com/article/final_five_joomla

User avatar
Predator
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1827
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:12 pm
Location: Germany-Bad Abbach
Contact:

Re: HowTo: move from vbridge to com_connector

Post by Predator » Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:48 am

sysop wrote: where I put exactly vbulletin_sql.class.php?
inside components/com_connector/modules
The "Humor, Fun and Games" forum has  more than 2500 Posts, so why not build a "Humor, Fun and Games Working" Group?
.....
Malicious tongues say we have this WG right from the start, they call it core team :D


Locked

Return to “com_connector - Multi Joomla Bridge”